ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 09:50 AM   #16
75monza
Gnarly Adventurer
 
75monza's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: The Palouse
Oddometer: 321
+1

This is exactly what I did. You can strip all the plastics and the tank from the bike and not have to undo any wiring at all.

I am weird. I use my glove box for storing little things like my parking pass and holding onto my phone or what not if I need to charge it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mOtO_man View Post
I put in on the right of the bike. Had to cut out some plastic on the inside of the right fairing for it to fit. The benefit of it being here is that it can easily be accessed and viewed. It did not go in the glove compartment because all the wires would have had to be removed to remove the glovebox....a pain for doing maintenance.


__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure - Go Everywhere Bike
1993 Suzuki GSX1100G - Street Touring Shafty
2000 Suzuki DR200 - A Little Smaller
75monza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:00 PM   #17
EZ300
Studly Adventurer
 
EZ300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: ARIDZONA
Oddometer: 914
Wiring up my fuzeblock and don't know which wire to tap into for switched power.

Anybody got a pic or can you point me in the right direction?




.... Is Acc 2 only hot when key is on?

EZ
__________________
EZ
AMRA
2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2010 KTM 530 XC-W Six Days
www.rockstarsmc.com

EZ300 screwed with this post 01-26-2013 at 01:13 PM
EZ300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:53 PM   #18
batovif
Adventurer
 
batovif's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: quebec,canada
Oddometer: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by EZ300 View Post
Wiring up my fuzeblock and don't know which wire to tap into for switched power.

Anybody got a pic or can you point me in the right direction?




.... Is Acc 2 only hot when key is on?

EZ
ACC2 is switched and ACC1 is always on.
batovif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:11 AM   #19
Sporting Wood
I <3 Energizer Bunny
 
Sporting Wood's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Horneytown, NC
Oddometer: 861
With 2 accessory circuits already built into the bike, I'm sorta wondering why there's a need for a fuse block?

Is this just a BMW thing?

Can a mod move this to GSpot?
Sporting Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:05 AM   #20
MotoTex
Miles of Smiles
 
MotoTex's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Tool Shed
Oddometer: 1,555
When I bought the bike the Fuzeblock was in the glove box. As has been mentioned this can be a pain when disassembling if you don't have connectors on everything.

I moved it to nestle on top of the airbox, between the H2W pre-filter and the frame on the right. It has been there for tens of thousands of miles with no problems. It is such a good fit I haven't used anything to attach it.

When I need to get to it, this location is easier for me to get to than it would be if mounted on the headlight/fairing bracket, though that was my second choice.
__________________

This is The Internet. Confirm for yourself anything you may see while visiting this strange and uncertain land.

MotoTex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:41 AM   #21
EZ300
Studly Adventurer
 
EZ300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: ARIDZONA
Oddometer: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporting Wood View Post
With 2 accessory circuits already built into the bike, I'm sorta wondering why there's a need for a fuse block?

Is this just a BMW thing?

Can a mod move this to GSpot?
It simplifies the wiring process when running multiple accessories.
Gps, additional lights, heated grips, heated clothing,...

BMW thing?,...
__________________
EZ
AMRA
2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2010 KTM 530 XC-W Six Days
www.rockstarsmc.com
EZ300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:18 AM   #22
Dan Diego
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 655
In mounting the FZ-1, am I good in using the available aux 2 (switched) wire to trigger the relay?

I plan to splice into it (vs running a wire back to the brake light) unless one of you electrical gurus has a better idea.

Thanks!
__________________
Triumph Rocket III Touring, KTM 990 ADV

When I finished high school, I wanted to take all my graduation money and buy myself a motorcycle. But my mom said no. See, she had a brother who died in a horrible motorcycle accident when he was 18. And I could just have his motorcycle.
Dan Diego is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 02:12 AM   #23
Roeligan
Belgium power!!!
 
Roeligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 503
mounting

work in progress, but this is what I'm doing:



used the aux switched too to switch the power.
Mainline directly from pos plug right side of the bike (still needs a single connector attached).
Running the ground to the frame.
Connects:
  • heated grips
  • aux lights
  • gps
  • tripy (electronic roadbook)
  • hazard light blinkers controller
  • 1 spare atm
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure (Stealth one ; 2008-), now S-d & Beta 350 RR 2013 to play with
Suzuki DL-1000 V-Strom (2004-2008) and Suzuki GSF 600 Bandit (2002-2006)
www.roeligan.net
Roeligan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:33 AM   #24
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,088
I put mine in the glovebox. That has worked out fine. The only concern that I had was working around the wires in a "field" repair. But even that has worked out. Here I am stripping the bike in Colorado to fix the carbs. I just used a strap to hold up the glovebox as I worked on the carbs. No real problem at all.

__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Loud tires save lives." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 07:56 AM   #25
75monza
Gnarly Adventurer
 
75monza's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: The Palouse
Oddometer: 321
Those are the wires that I connected to for switched power. Never caused me any problems. I ran a wire to the battery for the direct power for the unit.

Been working this way for about 2 years now with no issues. I'm still happy with my FZ1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Diego View Post
In mounting the FZ-1, am I good in using the available aux 2 (switched) wire to trigger the relay?

I plan to splice into it (vs running a wire back to the brake light) unless one of you electrical gurus has a better idea.

Thanks!
__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure - Go Everywhere Bike
1993 Suzuki GSX1100G - Street Touring Shafty
2000 Suzuki DR200 - A Little Smaller
75monza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 08:01 AM   #26
Dan Diego
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 655
Thanks to 3 ADVers who'd installed the FZ-1, I found a pretty easy way of mounting my FuzeBlock behind the headlight. Easy peasy.

Thanks for the help, guys!

Dan

Quote:
Originally Posted by 75monza View Post
Those are the wires that I connected to for switched power. Never caused me any problems. I ran a wire to the battery for the direct power for the unit.

Been working this way for about 2 years now with no issues. I'm still happy with my FZ1.
__________________
Triumph Rocket III Touring, KTM 990 ADV

When I finished high school, I wanted to take all my graduation money and buy myself a motorcycle. But my mom said no. See, she had a brother who died in a horrible motorcycle accident when he was 18. And I could just have his motorcycle.
Dan Diego is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014