ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2014, 08:32 AM   #2746
pdxthmper
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdxthmper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 353
THanks for the details. Of course it didn't do it on the way home last night, maybe it just doesn't like going to work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loui€ View Post
most probably it is TPS.
hook on tuneecu, and adjust it to .60 V warm engine.

if it is less - e.g. less than .56V warm you get that behavior, for sure.

I had .46 warm, and 4500 - 5000 RPM idle, veeery nice in town...

removing air box:
if you have original airbox and torx screw to fix TPS - well well...
read earlier posts about that;
I have hexagon screw and ITG foam filter (I warmly recommend it, it is just fantastic!); so plenty of room to adjust TPS.

btw, basic EU 2008 Akramap (O2 on, SAI off, EPC off) for this setup:
2*Leo Vinces with baffles + ITG foam filter.
Perfect driving experience, power from 2500 RPM, torques 6 gear in 3000 RPM cruisin', MPG 47 best, 44 aver. !!! I'm happy to have this great beast to carry me to horizon!
__________________
KTM 990 ADV MAKING GROWN MEN ACT LIKE HOOLIGANS
XR 650"L"
pdxthmper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:50 AM   #2747
bluesurf
en dos ruedas
 
bluesurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Taxville
Oddometer: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustavo.Ramos View Post
Load back the previous map and crosscheck if that idel issue remains. If it does, could be related to TPS... "could be"
Yep, that's now today's plan. Thanks
__________________
Ride Travel Explore Live
bluesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:51 AM   #2748
bluesurf
en dos ruedas
 
bluesurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Taxville
Oddometer: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loui€ View Post
most probably it is TPS.
hook on tuneecu, and adjust it to .60 V warm engine.

if it is less - e.g. less than .56V warm you get that behavior, for sure.

I had .46 warm, and 4500 - 5000 RPM idle, veeery nice in town...

removing air box:
if you have original airbox and torx screw to fix TPS - well well...
read earlier posts about that;
I have hexagon screw and ITG foam filter (I warmly recommend it, it is just fantastic!); so plenty of room to adjust TPS.

btw, basic EU 2008 Akramap (O2 on, SAI off, EPC off) for this setup:
2*Leo Vinces with baffles + ITG foam filter.
Perfect driving experience, power from 2500 RPM, torques 6 gear in 3000 RPM cruisin', MPG 47 best, 44 aver. !!! I'm happy to have this great beast to carry me to horizon!
Thanks for these details
__________________
Ride Travel Explore Live
bluesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 12:29 PM   #2749
bluesurf
en dos ruedas
 
bluesurf's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Taxville
Oddometer: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesurf View Post
Yep, that's now today's plan. Thanks
I took a ride to run some errands and ensure that the bike was warmed up prior to reloading the previous map. At only one out of the dozen or so stops did the bike idle at ~1900RPM; the rest of the time was ~1400RPM.

I'll review some of the obviously very helpful information regarding TPS issues, but right now am just going to leave things as they are.
__________________
Ride Travel Explore Live
bluesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 09:18 AM   #2750
AJ990R
motorcycle guy
 
AJ990R's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: MKE,WI
Oddometer: 183
02 sensors shut-off with CPR map

new with the tune ecu thing & taking a big trip this weekend...

Shut the sensors off, is this ok? others doing it? even worth it?

trying to make her run as smooth as possible...
maybe even a little cooler
I know twins are thirsty bitches!

thanks guys
AJ
__________________
"saddle up or shut up"
KaTooM North
AJ990R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 01:02 PM   #2751
Loui€
Rides With Reindeer
 
Loui€'s Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: PoroWaara
Oddometer: 43
O2 off? why? really, I see no advantage in that?
my experience: with Akramap, O2 off takes 7-8 L /100kms, O2 on 5,4 L /100kms.
__________________
2008 KTM 990 ADV
Loui€ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 01:57 PM   #2752
AJ990R
motorcycle guy
 
AJ990R's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: MKE,WI
Oddometer: 183
like i said before.
smoother running at lower rpms(around the city)

local superduke guys swears his runs better with them off.

common practice on ducati twins.

been running it with them off, it is smooth.
Gonna start monitoring fuel mileage.
__________________
"saddle up or shut up"
KaTooM North

AJ990R screwed with this post 05-06-2014 at 02:04 PM
AJ990R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 04:51 PM   #2753
Dusty
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Oddometer: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ990R View Post
like i said before.
smoother running at lower rpms(around the city)

local superduke guys swears his runs better with them off.

common practice on ducati twins.

been running it with them off, it is smooth.
Gonna start monitoring fuel mileage.
That right there is why people turn them off. If its muddy or your plonkin around shit in 1st and 2nd it has much better throttle control. It even gets better without the secondary flies.
edit;the second flies produce alot of engine braking also which i dont care for off road.
Good on ya for givin it a go, make your own conclusions.
__________________
Originally Posted by d0gWateR
Vagrant, vagabond, transient, hobo, bum. But park a motorcycle next to him and PRESTO! He's an advrider!

Dusty screwed with this post 05-06-2014 at 04:58 PM
Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:53 PM   #2754
Junglerot
Hodor!
 
Junglerot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 3,410
Sorry if this has been answered, but Ive been searching and I can't seem to find an answer. I am unable to disable any of the "Devices" in TuneECU, including the SAI. Am I missing something? I have even downloaded other maps from the TuneECU site and haven't been able to uncheck the boxes

edit: apparently I figured it out. I had to click it precisely 3 times to uncheck the box....
__________________
What's the worst that could happen?

Junglerot screwed with this post 05-06-2014 at 08:01 PM
Junglerot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 11:17 AM   #2755
Gustavo.Ramos
Studly Adventurer
 
Gustavo.Ramos's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Accross the pond
Oddometer: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junglerot View Post
Sorry if this has been answered, but Ive been searching and I can't seem to find an answer. I am unable to disable any of the "Devices" in TuneECU, including the SAI. Am I missing something? I have even downloaded other maps from the TuneECU site and haven't been able to uncheck the boxes

edit: apparently I figured it out. I had to click it precisely 3 times to uncheck the box....
Had the same issue, not 3 clicks, but 1 to select the item, and double click to activate/deactivate!
__________________
Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional!

Raid de L'Amitié 2011 RR (link)
690R
Gustavo.Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:17 PM   #2756
The Gobbler
Gnarly Adventurer
 
The Gobbler's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Conifer, CO
Oddometer: 179
High Altitude

Question for all you folks.

I had to remove my O2 sensor (it burned a hole in my tank and don't want that to happen again). Now the question, I live and ride above 8000 feet, do I need to create a custom map for altitude?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
You don't even want to know what the Gobbler is...

Current bike:
2007 KTM 990 Adventure

Past bikes:
2 97 VFR's,
2001 ZX9R,
2004 ZX10 and 3 (yes 3) 2006 ZX10's
2005 Vee
The Gobbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:58 PM   #2757
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gobbler View Post
I had to remove my O2 sensor (it burned a hole in my tank and don't want that to happen again). Now the question, I live and ride above 8000 feet, do I need to create a custom map for altitude?
Never heard of that before. Running with O2 sensors off (if that is what you're doing) does not mean that A/F ratio is not altitude sensitive. It means that loopback mode of ECU operation (when applicable) will not be possible.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 06:28 PM   #2758
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,112
I'm no expert. A lot of guys seem to be running without O2 sensors as a performance modification in conjunction with mapping changes. I haven't tried it but most seem to say that it hurts mileage. The system has ambient air temp and MAP sensors--1 in each intake manifold and 1 in the atmosphere under the headlight. So I would guess that the ECU would be getting the info indicative of your altitude and temps. I don't know if not having the AFR/Lambda info from the O2 sensors eliminates the ECU making the adjustments. Try it and see, I guess.

FWIW
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:54 PM   #2759
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,084
Loop back operation (with Kehin ECU's) occurs primarily in low throttle/cruise situations. Having O2 sensors on would tend to have a noticeable effect on mileage if there is a preponderance of that kind of throttle use during a ride. Less otherwise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by renogeorge View Post
I'm no expert. A lot of guys seem to be running without O2 sensors as a performance modification in conjunction with mapping changes. I haven't tried it but most seem to say that it hurts mileage. The system has ambient air temp and MAP sensors--1 in each intake manifold and 1 in the atmosphere under the headlight. So I would guess that the ECU would be getting the info indicative of your altitude and temps. I don't know if not having the AFR/Lambda info from the O2 sensors eliminates the ECU making the adjustments. Try it and see, I guess.

FWIW
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 11:14 PM   #2760
1coolbanana
Beastly Adventurer
 
1coolbanana's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: NW Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 1,373
Hey guys

Ive got a 2012 990 R in Australia, I believe its the same ECU and mapping as EU version.
My setup is:
Stock air box,
Akra slip ons
Unifilter Pre Filter
SAS removed
Secondary flies removed
Im using the Akra map, O2 on, EPC on, SAI off, 2nd Throttle off

Would the Power Tripp map be compatible and worth a try or is it only suitable for US models?

Cheers
__________________
Cowabunga dudes................Wuuuuka Wuka

2012 990 R
2004 950 A..........sadly missed
1coolbanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014