ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2014, 03:25 PM   #991
Steigs
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Sin City
Oddometer: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post



LOVE the isolators!

Can't wait til this thing is ready to go.
Steigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:12 PM   #992
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
I worked out PWM adjusters for each output channel.

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:21 PM   #993
satur9
angry black guy
 
satur9's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: hfil
Oddometer: 467
awesomeness
__________________
seriously?.... is that what you ride?
Well, it took a lot of work to be the ass that I am
And I'm real damn sure that anyone can, equally easily f*ck you over ...(modest mouse).
satur9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:43 PM   #994
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by satur9 View Post
awesomeness
It works nicely too. Video below.

craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 03:11 PM   #995
dwoodward
Beastly Adventurer
 
dwoodward's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific NorthWet, Napa Valley North
Oddometer: 4,890
I presume there's some sort of security on the app & unit, so random inmates can't screw up your bike at a rally?

Not that anyone would do that. maybe. If everyone liked you.
dwoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 03:20 PM   #996
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwoodward View Post
I presume there's some sort of security on the app & unit, so random inmates can't screw up your bike at a rally?

Not that anyone would do that. maybe. If everyone liked you.
Security has architected in but remains untested. You will set the password and then have to use it from then on. I expect it to be easy to setup.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 03:28 PM   #997
lmychajluk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Meadowlands, NJ (just east of the USA)
Oddometer: 1,583
Wouldn't the bluetooth security cover that? On that note... How would one activate the pairing process from the device?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
__________________
-Lee
2013 Triumph Tiger 800
2008 Suzuki SV650n (Sold... I miss that bike...)
lmychajluk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 04:39 PM   #998
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmychajluk View Post
Wouldn't the bluetooth security cover that? On that note... How would one activate the pairing process from the device?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
The normal way for your device (check your owner manual :P). The security I plan to implement is a password based form of standard BT security. You will get to select your own password though rather than the standard system where I select the password for you or make it the same for all devices.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 05:01 PM   #999
Buster452
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Buster452's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Oddometer: 218
How would you handle multiple devices in an rv or boat situation? Separate disconnect and pairing sessions or connect to multiple named devices with and active device selector on your screen? Maybe slide left/right to access different devices?
__________________
---
"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there." Cheshire Cat

The rides I've done and want to do.
Buster452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 08:10 PM   #1000
DRjoe
Beastly Adventurer
 
DRjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Sunshine coast qld
Oddometer: 4,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buster452 View Post
How would you handle multiple devices in an rv or boat situation? Separate disconnect and pairing sessions or connect to multiple named devices with and active device selector on your screen? Maybe slide left/right to access different devices?
Would like to know also.


When doing fit outs multiple units will be used so an easy way of programming multiple units easily and quickly would be nice would be especially great if when two or more are used together any inputs could be used to switch any output and not be just limited banks of 8.
DRjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:34 PM   #1001
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRjoe View Post
Would like to know also.


When doing fit outs multiple units will be used so an easy way of programming multiple units easily and quickly would be nice would be especially great if when two or more are used together any inputs could be used to switch any output and not be just limited banks of 8.
You just pick the unit you want to look at from the drop down in the upper left of the screen. No big deal.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 08:33 AM   #1002
dwoodward
Beastly Adventurer
 
dwoodward's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific NorthWet, Napa Valley North
Oddometer: 4,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
You just pick the unit you want to look at from the drop down in the upper left of the screen. No big deal.
Yeah, for the software, but he also wants to be able to use an input on one unit to switch circuits on other units. For example, Input #1.1 (board.input) turns on circuit 1.1, 1.2, 2.3, and all of board 3.

Extra programming aside, I do not see that as a desirable feature; it's going to make things more complicated than tying together inputs from three boards, for what I suspect will be a relative minority of installations.
dwoodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 08:52 AM   #1003
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwoodward View Post
Yeah, for the software, but he also wants to be able to use an input on one unit to switch circuits on other units. For example, Input #1.1 (board.input) turns on circuit 1.1, 1.2, 2.3, and all of board 3.

Extra programming aside, I do not see that as a desirable feature; it's going to make things more complicated than tying together inputs from three boards, for what I suspect will be a relative minority of installations.
We are not doing that. The input wires carry no current. They have 1MΩ input impedance. You can run a piece of telephone wire if you like so moving signal around is just too easy to introduce the complexity and unreliability of radio to the system.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 07:14 PM   #1004
bpeterson
I just tweeted it
 
bpeterson's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 1,034
I'm digging this concept a lot and look forward to your pricing & launch. good luck, you've done a ton of work!
__________________
Brian
'14 KTM 350 EXC-F
'04 GS Adv
'02 DR-Z 400S - for sale soon
'06 TE 610 - sold
bpeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 06:36 PM   #1005
craftycoder OP
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,215
Production samples of Motobrain boards from a fabricator in Asia are shipping in the next few hours. I've already received PCBs samples of the heavy duty power boards from a couple of suppliers in Asia as well and they are getting close. Some are great but too expensive, some are the "right" price but are missing on the quality side of things. I am still working those details out but suffice to say, things are progressing nicely. I'll post a report on how the boards turned out when they arrive at the lab.

PDUMCU26OP+PCB[1]
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014