ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 01:22 PM   #16
FarmerRick
Beastly Adventurer
 
FarmerRick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Kirkland, TN
Oddometer: 1,307
(B)itch (M)oan (W)hine....

Looks like you fit right in!!!






















Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
I picked up the bike yesterday, and only have 120 miles on her BUT my initial impression is that the OBC and tire pressure monitor are not accurate based I what I would expect based on what BMW charged for these items.

I topped off my tank last night and the OBC showed that I was getting 70-80mpg but I only had a range of 169 miles.

BMW should state what the torrerances for accuracy for these guages are suppose to be, +/- 10-20% is just not acceptable to me.

Can the dealer re-calibrate these guages?

the salesman during his explaination of how things worked last evening showed me the air pressure. He then rolled the bike back into the service area and asked the mechanics to adjust the pressure. The mechanic said that they put three air pressure guages on the tires and that the tire pressure guage on the bike was way off.

Sure is fun owning one of the Legendary Bikes from BMW.
__________________
_______________________________
PAX on III
FarmerRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 01:49 PM   #17
WarLlama
belligerent cameloid
 
WarLlama's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: twixt & tween
Oddometer: 16,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
I picked up the bike yesterday, and only have 120 miles on her BUT my initial impression is that the OBC and tire pressure monitor are not accurate based I what I would expect based on what BMW charged for these items.

I topped off my tank last night and the OBC showed that I was getting 70-80mpg but I only had a range of 169 miles.

BMW should state what the torrerances for accuracy for these guages are suppose to be, +/- 10-20% is just not acceptable to me.

Can the dealer re-calibrate these guages?

the salesman during his explaination of how things worked last evening showed me the air pressure. He then rolled the bike back into the service area and asked the mechanics to adjust the pressure. The mechanic said that they put three air pressure guages on the tires and that the tire pressure guage on the bike was way off.

Sure is fun owning one of the Legendary Bikes from BMW.
The fuel calculations are something that improves as the computer learns, at least thats what I was told, so you have to run a few tanks of gas through it before it gets super accurate.
__________________
2014 trip to Newfoundland
WarLlama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 04:00 PM   #18
Nemesis
just ride the damn thing
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: a van down by the river
Oddometer: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
the salesman during his explaination of how things worked last evening showed me the air pressure. He then rolled the bike back into the service area and asked the mechanics to adjust the pressure. The mechanic said that they put three air pressure guages on the tires and that the tire pressure guage on the bike was way off.

Sure is fun owning one of the Legendary Bikes from BMW.
The tire pressure monitor does NOT display unless the bike is being ridden. Were you riding bitch, looking over his shoulder?? How did the salesman show you??

__________________
"I can tell you with no ego, this is my finest sword. If on your journey, you should encounter God, God will be cut." - Hattori Hanzo

"Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit upon his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats " - H. L. Mencken
Nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 04:18 PM   #19
Dave92029
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Escondido, CA
Oddometer: 502
Laugh Ahh The Rider's Manual has the secret

Quote:
Originally Posted by WarLlama
The fuel calculations are something that improves as the computer learns, at least thats what I was told, so you have to run a few tanks of gas through it before it gets super accurate.
I decided the read the Rider's Manual, guess what...it has the answer to my questions. Each of the read outs can be reset by simply holding the "info" button. I have cleared out the registers and will start fresh and see how the OBC performs.

The Tire presure can be reset as well but only registers after reaching 20mph.

The 154 page Rider's Manual has lots of interesting information. I highly recommend reading it, I learned a few new things, and this is my 15th new BMW bike.

Thanks for your assistance.
__________________
Dave
Escondido, CA
IBA # 43
Dave92029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 09:32 PM   #20
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
I topped off my tank last night and the OBC showed that I was getting 70-80mpg but I only had a range of 169 miles.
If you look closely I think you will probably see a ">" sign in front of the 169 miles....

Like: >169 this means the computer does not know how many miles you can REALLY go, but that it is "GREATER THAN" 169....

Due to the design of the gas tank (lots of volume in the top few vertical inches) the computer can't get a solid number until you burn off some fuel...

I can't comment on the tire pressure monitor, I wanted it but didn't want to wait an extra 3 months... to get a bike that had it..........

FWIW I wanted it as it would alert me to a sudden loss of pressure while riding ... which I thought was a good safety feature ... you've got that at least for only $250 ... less than the cost of one ambulance ride?

Jim
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 06:14 AM   #21
Dave92029
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Escondido, CA
Oddometer: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden
Snipe....

I can't comment on the tire pressure monitor, I wanted it but didn't want to wait an extra 3 months... to get a bike that had it..........

FWIW I wanted it as it would alert me to a sudden loss of pressure while riding ... which I thought was a good safety feature ... you've got that at least for only $250 ... less than the cost of one ambulance ride?

Jim
My local dealer spec. all his bikes with approx $1,900+ of Factory installed options which included the TPC. I have been riding M/C for a while and have accumulated a little over 1 million miles on bikes, mostly BMW, and have never needed or wanted a TPC. IMHO it is just one more thing that can break. I regularly check the tires with a hand held guage and replace the tires when the wear bars indicated. I feel that this was $250 that could have been better spent on engine guards, etc.

I wish I could sell you mine
__________________
Dave
Escondido, CA
IBA # 43
Dave92029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 04:16 AM   #22
FarmerRick
Beastly Adventurer
 
FarmerRick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Kirkland, TN
Oddometer: 1,307
Dave,

I believe it was your decision, at the time you purchased your particular bike, to either buy it with the TPC and other options, order what you specifically wanted or go to another dealer. It was your decision and you chose to buy it the way it was "loaded"! Live with it, dude. Just think, you would have spent that 250.00 on some other meaningless farkle anyway!! Enjoy the bike and if you want to flame your dealer for your purchase decision, start a new thread somewhere else!

Rick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
My local dealer spec. all his bikes with approx $1,900+ of Factory installed options which included the TPC. I have been riding M/C for a while and have accumulated a little over 1 million miles on bikes, mostly BMW, and have never needed or wanted a TPC. IMHO it is just one more thing that can break. I regularly check the tires with a hand held guage and replace the tires when the wear bars indicated. I feel that this was $250 that could have been better spent on engine guards, etc.

I wish I could sell you mine
__________________
_______________________________
PAX on III
FarmerRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:59 PM   #23
Dave92029
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Escondido, CA
Oddometer: 502
Talking My Dealer is a great guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCExaminer
Dave,

I believe it was your decision, at the time you purchased your particular bike, to either buy it with the TPC and other options, order what you specifically wanted or go to another dealer. It was your decision and you chose to buy it the way it was "loaded"! Live with it, dude. Just think, you would have spent that 250.00 on some other meaningless farkle anyway!! Enjoy the bike and if you want to flame your dealer for your purchase decision, start a new thread somewhere else!

Rick
If Garmin sold a GPS that was +/- 10% accurate would that be OK? Why accept less from BMW?

Are the TPC and OBC accurate? NO!

I am very happy with my dealer, and I willingly accepted buying the bike the way the dealer ordered it. The POINT is if BMW sells a FACTORY installed option then it should work accurately. Accurately to me would <2% +/- The two factory options that I paid extra for do not appear to be working accurately. They appear > +/- 10% .

Since I paid extra of these options I beleive that I should be able to obtain accurate information, if not the guage provides no useful purpose and i did not get what I paid for.

I hope there is a software fix available to make these guages accurate.
__________________
Dave
Escondido, CA
IBA # 43
Dave92029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 04:55 AM   #24
FarmerRick
Beastly Adventurer
 
FarmerRick's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Kirkland, TN
Oddometer: 1,307
You might as well throw in Speedo accuracy while you're at it!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
If Garmin sold a GPS that was +/- 10% accurate would that be OK? Why accept less from BMW?

Are the TPC and OBC accurate? NO!

I am very happy with my dealer, and I willingly accepted buying the bike the way the dealer ordered it. The POINT is if BMW sells a FACTORY installed option then it should work accurately. Accurately to me would <2% +/- The two factory options that I paid extra for do not appear to be working accurately. They appear > +/- 10% .

Since I paid extra of these options I beleive that I should be able to obtain accurate information, if not the guage provides no useful purpose and i did not get what I paid for.

I hope there is a software fix available to make these guages accurate.
__________________
_______________________________
PAX on III
FarmerRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:17 AM   #25
Daytona_Rider
You should be racing
 
Daytona_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave92029
I decided the read the Rider's Manual, guess what...it has the answer to my questions. Each of the read outs can be reset by simply holding the "info" button. I have cleared out the registers and will start fresh and see how the OBC performs.

The Tire presure can be reset as well but only registers after reaching 20mph.

The 154 page Rider's Manual has lots of interesting information. I highly recommend reading it, I learned a few new things, and this is my 15th new BMW bike.

Thanks for your assistance.
I didn't find it too cool that the "techs" didn't realize this as well... especially since the TPM on all the BMW's works in a similar manner (I mean needs to be moving to be acurate).

Even so, the TPM isn't 100 percent accurate at all times... My GSADV seems to read about 3-4 pounds low.

I just like it to have peace of mind that there's no rapid decompression going on.

Cheers
DR
__________________
CORIOLIS RACING
CORIOLIS RACING BLOG
AFM #993 Come out and support the sport of motorcyling; attend an AFM Race Weekend!

Death Valley Ride(s) Rock

Dennis Carner Memorial Ride

Death Valley Video

1991 Honda NC30 (Racing sweetness) #993
2007 R1200GS Adventure: King of the World IMHO
Daytona_Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:27 AM   #26
Dave92029
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Escondido, CA
Oddometer: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytona_Rider
snipe...
Even so, the TPM isn't 100 percent accurate at all times... My GSADV seems to read about 3-4 pounds low.

...snipe

Cheers
DR
3-4 pounds = 10 to 12% ERROR...looks like your guage is also not accurate
__________________
Dave
Escondido, CA
IBA # 43
Dave92029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 09:23 AM   #27
berkly OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Oddometer: 64
You guys realize the title of this thread reads f800gs? The 800 doesn't have a tire pressure monitor. I'm still satisfied with the accuracy of the obc
berkly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 05:05 AM   #28
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,076
My OBC runs low on the MPG side. On the GS, GT and the ST I never let it get down past 30 miles left, hold over from the old days, don't like dragging things up from the bottom of the tank.

As for fuel economy, the last time I filled up after flogging her on the twisties for 170 miles (BRP, 130, 501 and VA 56 - steep twisty stuff), topping it off at 3.1 gallons at 171 miles - 55 MPG - the OBC was saying it was at 50.

Interesting datapoint, my wife was with me on the ST, she got over 60 mpg at that fill up. She doesn't keep it wound out like I do and she is lighter but I also have hit 70 mpg on the ST, which I attribute to the drive train.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014