ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2004, 05:47 AM   #1
gorgopodaros OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gorgopodaros's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: on the pegs
Oddometer: 285
KTM 640 adventure Tripmaster LCD

Anyone that has fixed the tripmaster on the 640 Adv ?

It seems like it needs a new LCD panel, any ideas ?
I know it's a varitonix display,

don't want to send it to touratech though ...


All input is welcome
gorgopodaros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 06:44 AM   #2
Tim
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,347
I thought that Ineeded a new screen when stripes of text wouldn't show on the screen. With the contrast turned all the way up it should be a black screen but this is what I saw.

TT told me to send to it them for repair. As the problem only started after a long ride through constant pouring rain I took the cover off and placed some small packets of Silica Gell in the housing and put the cover back on. This dried it out and I have had no further problems.

Hope that you can fix yours as easily!

__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.

Tim screwed with this post 10-04-2004 at 06:53 AM
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 03:43 AM   #3
gorgopodaros OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
gorgopodaros's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: on the pegs
Oddometer: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTiM
I took the cover off and placed some small packets of Silica Gell in the housing and put the cover back on. This dried it out and I have had no further problems.

what exactly do yo mean by small packets of Silica Gell ?
It would be nice if I could fix it by simply dry it
gorgopodaros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 08:36 PM   #4
ChrisC
Molon Labe
 
ChrisC's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Prescott, Arizona USA Earth
Oddometer: 6,302
Silica gel....the little packets that you find packed with electronics, cameras, binoculars, etc..

That's what sucked the water out of this IMO and brought it back to life.....

CC
__________________
Chris
'03 KTM Adventure 640
'43 BSA M20WD
ChrisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 03:58 AM   #5
Tim
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,347
Yep, that's what I used, MrsKTiM had some packed in a new new pair of shoes (should have a ready supply in that case )
__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:49 PM   #6
yağmur
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 16
Hi guys.. I have the same problem with the screen. When I cleaned the contacts with alcohol and dried out with hairdrier and 2 days, there is no image in the screen.. :(

There is a question:

When i connect 12v to the TT in my repair desk, it open's but i have no image. Can it be caused by the "contrast pot" which i left it on the bike..?

And how can i alighn the contact between the circuit card and lcd ?
yağmur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014