Front & Rear Sprockets Torque Values?

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Mtl_Biker, Aug 15, 2014.

1. Mtl_Biker

Mtl_Biker Long timer

Oddometer:
    Can anyone help me out with the torque values for the front and rear sprockets on a '13 F800GS?

I've just returned from a 6,500 km trip around the TLH, then to Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and finally New York back to my home in Montreal.

And my chain is toast! The sand and grit along the Trans-Lab really did a number on my chain and I'd been lubing it every 500 km. Luckily I have a new chain and sprockets waiting for me to install them.

But I've never done this before. Any tips/tricks you might be able to share?

I would particularly like to know the torque values of all the bolts, if you could share them with me.

Thanks very much!

Eldor
  2. Reaver

Reaver Hasta luego

Oddometer:
    The front sprocket is 50 NM. Use lots of anti-seize on the shaft and loc tite on the bolt.

The rear bolts "technically" need to be replaced as they are a torque plus 90 degrees. Most re-use these bolts and just make them tight. I use 40 NM as a guess.
  3. Mtl_Biker

Mtl_Biker Long timer

Oddometer:
    Thanks very much!

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "...they are a torque plus 90 degrees." Could you please clarify that for me?

Gonna do this Sunday morning (I work today).

4. FredRydr

FredRydr Danger: Keep Back 300 Ft.

Oddometer:
    Once you reach the torque value, continue a 1/4 turn (90 degrees).

If Reaver offers to lend you his bike with the re-used bolts, politely decline.

Fred
  5. Reaver

Reaver Hasta luego

Oddometer:
    I see you've got the "Woody Worry" disease. IIRC, I was right behind you at all times and nuthin' fell off my bike. We might head out that way on the 650's. My '08 hasn't had the chain recall done yet and may just break. :eek1