An educative journey to Spain and Portugal, partly offroad

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by FlameDance, Jan 22, 2012.

1. FlameDance

FlameDance Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    It's been a while since I wanted to write this on AdvRider, some of you may remember having read this in the german lc8.info travel report section.

I'm an IT freelancer ... hard, intense work, often troubleshooting where others messed up. The Upside: I get to see a lot of different companies and projects, work is rarely boring. And I can decide on my own how much holidays I want.The downside: Always the first to be layed off, as it's hard to fire long term employees in germany. For taking this risk I get payed well ... so I'm alternating between good income and no income at all. Sometimes it appears to be random, upper management decisions not related to performance: Just kick out everyone that costs a ton. Also, often I'm the buffer to call in or send packing when my clients wait for contracts to come in. So, back in 2007, I was fired from a one year contract with two weeks notice ahead, but being told that there is a chance to come back within two months.

What to do? Cringe? Look for a new job? I decided to make the best of it and go on a five weeks holiday: Three weeks of studying spanish at the best place possible, at the University of Salamanca, Spain. A week before and after riding my new KTM 990 Adventure through the Pyrennees and Portugal and whatever lies in between. Then see if the customer wants me back.

Preview: Me, learning spanish:
    [​IMG]