iPhone GPS nav for use in organized rides

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by IntrepidRunner, Apr 18, 2012.

1. IntrepidRunner

IntrepidRunner Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I'm thinking of using a new iPhone for navigating DS rides when a GPS download is needed.

Which app should I get?

What interface cable should I get?

How quickly will the iPhone discharge when tracking GPS signals?

Moose Racing now has an iPhone saddle mount. Can having the GPS receiver located between my thighs possible work?

I'm a iPhone GPS noob, school me!
  2. SnoPro753

SnoPro753 Adventurer

Oddometer:
  3. abhibeckert

abhibeckert Long timer

Oddometer:
    I've taken mine on every DS ride recently.

MotionX GPS.

Interface cable for doing what exactly? If you're wondering how to import the track into the phone... best is to get them to email the track to you, or post it on a website, so you can download from there into MotionX. There are other ways, but that's usually the easiest.

Somewhere between 2 and 10 hours based on my testing, depending on how you use it. I usually have mine plugged into power, you'll want to do that if you can.

Seems like it'd work perfectly well to me. Not very visible there... but also protected from roost so it's probably a good location.
  4. Countdown

Countdown Long timer

Oddometer:
    Why would a promoter ever post his tracks on the Internet? Perhaps he is going out of business.

Why would a promoter ever e-mail tracks before the customer has signed a release in front of him? He wants to get his insurance canceled.

In the past, it was plug your Garmin into the cable and they download tracks using MapSource.

With new generation units with Data Cards some promoters can use Explorer to copy .gpx file with tracks using card reader.
  5. IntrepidRunner

IntrepidRunner Been here awhile

Oddometer: