Which Vespa- Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by Lola Rides, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Lola Rides

Lola Rides Avid Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello everyone,

I am planning a long trip in South America on a Vespa scooter. I am a Videographer and filmmaker and I want this to be my first big project, both as a trip and as a film. I have come to the conclusion that Marilyn, my LX150, is too small and slow for the trip, so I am looking to get a bigger one, either a 200L or a 250 GT. I know that the 250 GT is faster, more modern, and you can find them for about the same price, but I was told by a couple of people who have traveled down there that it is better to get the 200L because the engine is more common and with a carburetor it will be easier to get serviced in small towns if something goes wrong instead of having to find someone with a computer thingee to attach to the brain of the 250 GT.
    Does anyone have any suggestions? It will be about 8000 miles over three and a half months, and I don't want to spend it in a shop waiting for parts.

Lola
  2. Brooktown Geezer

Brooktown Geezer scooter guy

Oddometer:
    Actually Lola, if I were committed to riding a scooter to and in South America, I don't think I'd take either a GTS250 or a GT200, though I have owned both and both are fantastic scooters. I have 15,000 trouble free miles on my GT200 and rode it up to Canada and back from San Diego.

Having said that, if I were going to ride in SA, I'd get a '70's Vespa P200, rebuild the motor, suspension and wiring, get a BBQ rack, and head off into the sunset. It carries a spare tire under the cowl ready to go, so you don't have to carry an extra wheel with a tire on a rack. Parts are available just about world wide, and I'll bet there are more P series Vespas in South America than any other model. Not only that, if you do break down somewhere and need an engine rebuild, it can be done in a matter of hours on the side of the road, if necessary.