Advice on best way to clean my XT660R properly...

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by Alexander B, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Alexander B

Alexander B Long timer

Oddometer:
    Not sure if this is the right section...

After 25+ years of owning cars and bikes, I am no novice to detailing or bikes but my Yamaha XT660R has me slightly puzzled. For sure, it has been a long riding season with not much TLC but the dirt really seem to stick to this bike. Bought it new and have bern riding it since April, almost 100% paved roads. 3500 km so far.
    I have washed with my usual car wash, mild detergent, sponge and still the grime is in every spot unless I have REALLY scrubbed there. Stainless exhaust and cans look like concrete, engine block is all smudge (wording?) - even rims and frame were hard to get clean.
    My to other recent bikes (both bought new) Honda VT750C2 and Yamaha XJ6 were much easier to get clean.

Is it an effect of cheaper paint and surface on the XT or is it the way the dirt spray up from the road on a dual sport? Something else?
  2. Vermillionx

Vermillionx Adventurer

Oddometer:
    For really hard grime, I will spray on some Simple Green and let it sit for a few minutes. After that I can take a brush to non painted surfaces to help the cleaner. Then once you get it all brushed you can hose it off. I would re-lube the chain after you do this, but it should be clean.
  3. GI_JO_NATHAN

GI_JO_NATHAN Long timer

Oddometer:
    On behalf of everyone in the USA, screw you OP. :ken
  4. Alexander B

Alexander B Long timer

Oddometer:
    Now I get that warm, fuzzy feeling again... :raabia

I should probably pass that greeting on to Vermillionx for recommending a product not sold in Sweden. :D

US - Sweden: 1-1 so far.
    My bike is still dirty, though. :hmmmmm
  5. tkent02

tkent02 Long timer

Oddometer:
    Like this!

[​IMG]

Note, not actually an XT660R.
  6. GI_JO_NATHAN

GI_JO_NATHAN Long timer

Oddometer: