How crazy would I be to try this? Fly and ride, 2-up.

Discussion in 'Canada' started by 3Putt, May 6, 2014.

1. 3Putt

3Putt Long timer

Oddometer:
    I'm all hot to buy this bike in the FM (link)

I'm looking at a fly and ride from Anchorage to Chicago in July, the hitch being I'd be doing it 2-up with my wife. After getting over how expensive the journey would be I started reading about road conditions, my lack of skill/experience on anything but pavement is putting me off. We are looking for adventure but I don't want to get us killed. We'd stick to the best "major" roads available between points A and B but from what I've read even those can be hard packed dirt and just a nightmare in the rain.

I've got no off road experience except the occasional unexpected gravel or dirt road or long construction zone. We have probably 30,000 miles of 2-up experience crisscrossing the US in ALL weather conditions.

I've read conflicting reports on the road conditions. What say you? No problem go for it or suicide mission?

Here's the rough route I threw together yesterday. Link to Google Map of route

Thanks!

[​IMG]
  2. devo2002

devo2002 Long timer

Oddometer:
    Unless you can stick to pavement, you answered your own question. Doesn't look like an area to test your 2-up dirt experience, especially on a new to you bike. You are asking for trouble...
  3. 3Putt

3Putt Long timer

Oddometer:
    I was told by someone who hasn't been there in several years that most of this route is indeed paved. I guess that's really what I'm trying to ask here.
  4. rob1313

rob1313 Still learning

Oddometer:
    Could you fudge things a bit, maybe have your wife fly in and meet you at a point where there isn't so much fir you to worry about regarding the roads? DoG hates a coward you know....

Sorry I haven't been up that way in a long time is I can't offer any route advice
  5. Maggot12

Maggot12 U'mmmm yeaah!!

Oddometer: