Nolan N43 "Trilogy" review

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by antonv, Aug 25, 2010.

1. antonv

antonv Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    After 4 years, I finally pulled the trigger on a new shell. I am certainly no helmet expert, so take this review with a grain of salt.

I'm rather new to motorcycles, only 4 years, and have only ridden one(mine) motorcycle. I have also only used one helmet, so I only have one helmet to compare the N43 Trilogy to.

My previous helmet is a Vega Summit II modular helmet. Never having to wear a full face helmet kinda spoiled me. I love being able to flip up the chin-guard to drink, have a cigarette, or to speak to someone with ease. This was definitely a criteria for me in my new helmet purchase. I know there is a lot of talk about modulars, and their safety, compared to a full face, but i'll just take my chances on this one. I really loved the review from webbikeworld about the N43 "AIR" (European version). The whole helmet seemed like everything I was looking for.

Lets start with some info on my Vega Summit II. I got it for probably $150 a few years back. This was a very reasonably priced modular, with a pretty good review from webbikeworld as well. I never tried it on before purchasing, and relied on webbikeworlds helmet sizing charts. I'm a medium guy all around when it comes to purchasing things to wear....shirts, pants, gloves, hats, jackets, shoes....etc....not too many surprises for me.