New to Adv!! Gear advice...

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by mario94901, Mar 14, 2013.

1. mario94901

mario94901 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hey guys,

Thanks for reading my post. I've been riding for about 3 years now, and finally grabbed my dream bike. Triumph 800 xc. Been doing a lot of research on gear...and wanted some rider input. From what I've found, Klime and Icon seem to make decent gear. Along with Kilimanjaro.... but not sure what kind of results people have had? Also, really like the BMW Mottorad gear...but its pricey!
    Looking for something with good quality, but won't break the bank. Maybe 500 and below in price for the jacket.

Also, helmets? Arai and Shoei both make decent dual sport helmets...just wanted to know what people thought. Also, please make any other recommendations about other gear as well... gloves, bike accessories, etc.

I've got the bug :)
  2. pingvin

pingvin Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Guess most important for helmets is that it fits so preferrably try it on. And don't buy to big, many do. It's your head so don't try to save money here.

What kind of riding will you do, any off road or only tarmac? Guess with that bike it's no way around the LWR/adventure style anyway :D

If you're on a budget, buy a good helmet, gloves, back protector and boots and go for a cheaper suit. I would anyway.
  3. mario94901

mario94901 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hey pingvin,

Thanks for the info. I ended up getting a Rallye 3 jacket... Had the best fit, and wanted something that was going to last. Haven't plunked down yet for the pants...but I'll look into those as I start planning a trip.

I'm most likely going to be riding on tarmac mainly...with the occasional backroads trip for a a week or so. Figured I could just get some dual sport tires when Im ready.