Annoyed, Worried, a little pissed. Talk me out of ditching my GS

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by Mikepotter86, Jul 8, 2014.

1. Mikepotter86

Mikepotter86 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I bought an 08 R1200 GS with 52k on it in February, the bike had great service records, was in great condition, and I freaking love riding it. I've been a BMW enthusiast since I was a kid, and have two airheads that have brought about jealousy in past relationships because of how much attention I pay to them.

I bought this bike, even though it was at the very top end of my price range, to have it for a month long, 6-10k trip this August that I have been saving leave and money for since 2012.

Over the weekend the front driveshaft U-joint failed, leaving me stranded on the PA turnpike. The part for the repair is almost $1000, and after reading up on this, and other issues like final drive failure, I am starting to think and adjusting the chain and replacing it every 12-18k like I did on my V-strom might not be such a bad idea.

I love riding my GS, but I can't stand the idea that this kind of repair could leave me stranded for weeks when a simple chain replacement might cost me a half a day. I never had any mechanical problems with my Strom, and I am sure there are more $1000+ repairs lurking on my GS.

I have had 5 bikes in my lifetime, 3 of which were older than me, and none of them ever left me stranded. I have half a mind to walk into my Suzuki dealer and buy a WeeStrom with 0% financing and a warranty.

Please talk me back from the ledge!

Mike
  2. SQ Beemer

SQ Beemer Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Which bike do you prefer riding?

Choose that bike, and deal with the consequences. It's easy to be discouraged by a big, unexpected breakdown. I have a blown tranny in my 28k mile f800gs, a rare failure at this mileage. I love the bike, it's not going anywhere.
  3. Mikepotter86

Oddometer: