Colorado GPS questions (Garmin 60csx)

Discussion in 'The Rockies – It's all downhill from here...' started by Osprey!, Oct 10, 2012.

1. Osprey!

Osprey! a.k.a. Opie Supporter

Oddometer:
    [​IMG]

A Garmin 60csx popped up on Craigslist the other day at a reasonable price and I jumped on the GPS bandwagon. I've been eyeing these units for a few years but they were a little steep.

I'm now thinking about buying the Garmin Topo maps for Colorado. Since this is so popular, does anyone in the Boulder area have a microSD with Garmin Topo on it? Would you be willing to loan it to me so I can try it before I buy it?

Primary use would be hiking, backpacking, hunting, and off road motorcycle riding. It looks like GPSFileDepot has a few alternatives which may also work. Has anyone tried using the various free Colorado maps? I'd like to hear about your experiences.

Muchas

p.s. image stolen from some russian website. :lol3
  2. James Adams

James Adams wut

Oddometer:
    I have the Garmin Topo US 24K maps for the Mountain Central (includes CO) and Mountain North regions on an 8GB microSD card for my Garmin 62s (the 62-series replaced the 60-series units) and I've been really happy with them. I think that the maps might be locked to the specific device, but I'd be happy to pop the whole 62s unit in the mail to you when I get back in town next week for you to give it a try.
  3. Osprey!

Oddometer:
    Wow, that's really nice of you James. Let me see if anyone local has a unit I can try, but otherwise I'll take you up on it. Or maybe find an excuse to ride down that way. :deal
  4. SnowMule

SnowMule still learning what is and isn't edible Super Supporter

Oddometer:
    Honestly, the only time I use the topo maps is on the snowmobile (off-road/off-trail).

For dualsport riding, CityNav's the mapset to get. A bunch of the trails at Rampart are on there and routable. Not just the road, I'm talking the actual OHV trails.