Off-Road towing

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by BerndM, Aug 12, 2009.

1. BerndM

BerndM Shiftless One

Oddometer:
    Just curious what your experiences have been when your bike took a major dump miles & miles from the nearest paved road, and you had to have it unceremoniously dragged away. I wouldn't think that towing outfits venture off the pavement. (do they have 4WD tow trucks?)
    Regards
    Bernd
  2. ghostrider1964

ghostrider1964 Edumacated Red Neck

Oddometer:
    Most folks in my neck of the woods know I have several 4x4s with winches. It is not that unusual for me to get called to come to the rescue at all hours of the day. I am also a dive salvage operator so the local tow companies call me to recover vehicles out of lakes and rivers. Yes they make off road recovery vehicles. BTW...they are not cheap!!! Sadly most are not equipped to carry your bike out in a dainty fashion. I had to go retrieve a friend that had broke a frame on his XR way out in the stix...in a place he should not have been. I used my scout and regular bike trailer. broke 2 lights on the trailer but was able to retrieve him. Around here, most wreckers charge $250 minumum for off road encounter and that is usually to winch some one out stuck...My fees are more reasonable:evil unless your insurance is paying:lol3
  3. Wallowa

Wallowa Diver Down

Oddometer:
    Yes many tow trucks are 4-wheel drive rigs...think about it..even "on-road" the vehicles often go off the pavement and the tow truck may not have enough cable or be able to get the correct angle without also going off the pavement...independent of that the traction of 4 wheels is also needed in the snow...or even heavy rain and slick pavement..

Anyway...the best way to be towed out...bike or car is on a tilt-bed tow truck where your vehicle is not towed but carried on the bed of the truck...forget slinging a bike...out here most are tilt-beds and if not you can request one..