F800GSA Seat Swap, I need a Tall Seat! HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by DustyDoug, Aug 22, 2014.

1. DustyDoug

DustyDoug DustyDoug

Oddometer:
    Just broke the bank and bought an F800GSA. The ride home was only about 40 min when I realized the seat on this bike is totally wrong for me, I think it's a low seat? I need a tall seat!!! Does anybody want to swap seats, I'm looking for something like the rally seat BMW offers, something without the deep pocket, something basically flat. My seat is brand new 60mi on the bike.
    There is no way I can spend an entire day in this seat as my man junk is smashed bad in the saddle!

Dusty
    <!-- / message --><!-- sig -->
  2. Stephenmarklay

Stephenmarklay Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    If your bike is a GSA not a GS then your seat is not a low seat. You will likely need to go custom.
  3. DustyDoug

DustyDoug DustyDoug

Oddometer:
    Sorry I'm new with the 800GS, I'm seeing older GS8's with a flat seat will this fit my 800GSA? I think this would be an improvement? I have long arms & legs at least I would be able to move around and slide back.
    What's the word guys?

Attached Files:

4. sarathmenon

sarathmenon Armchair Adventurer

Oddometer:
    From what I have heard, the GSA seat fits the standard trim GS, but not the other way around - the seat pan has the same part#, but the GSA seat has more lateral padding. Not too many people complaint about the stock GSA seat, have you played around the rear preload to get the seat as tall as you want? And did you test ride one before buying, with a seat that you had liked better?
  5. GPHusky250

GPHusky250 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    It's easy to tell the stock 2014 GSA seat...it will have a color insert. The low GSA seat is all black. Which one do you have?
  6. DustyDoug

DustyDoug DustyDoug

Oddometer:
    Mine is all black and it even says low with a price on the underside.

I'm sure they changed it out as someone did test ride my bike.