Powder coated wheels

Discussion in 'The Perfect Line and Other Riding Myths' started by ChopSuey, Feb 15, 2012.

1. ChopSuey

ChopSuey Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I see many bikes for sale with powder coated wheels done by the bike owner.
    The bikes look great, but somewhere awhile back I read that you should never powder your aluminum wheels.
    It was a tech type article in one of the moto rags I get (can't remember which one). Their take was that the heat required to melt/bake the coating was borderline annealing temp for aluminum.
    As a 20 year tool & die maker I have seen the affect of ill-tempered materials fail many times so this scares me and I always keep looking when I see that mod on the wheels or hub.
    So my question for the collective is: is there any truth to this? There has to be a metallurgist lurking on here somewhere.

:ear
  2. DanAllen

DanAllen ha-HAA

Oddometer:
    Im not an expert by any means but IIRC most aluminum is annealed at around 700-750 degrees. This is well above the 300-400 degrees that is seen in your average powder coating job. The only thing I can think of that might be a problem is that in the final stages of the hardening process the aluminum is raised to around 350 degrees and allowed to air cool. Im not knowelgable enough on the topic to say 100% for sure, but I dont think that a low temp pc job is going to weaken your wheels.

I would sugest contacting the wheel manufacturer to find out what specific alloy they use and what type of forging, annealing and hardening proccess' they use then doing your research from there,

-Dan
  3. ULY-RPG

ULY-RPG cool hands adv

Oddometer:
    find out how BMW did their forks on the 650 and DON'T do it like that. :lol3
  4. O.C.F.RIDER

O.C.F.RIDER Loose nut behind h/bars

Oddometer: