Arai and Shoei? Why so much $$$$$

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by AGrant, Jun 16, 2014.

1. AGrant

AGrant Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Just curious as I'm fairly new to riding and got average helmets when I purchased my bike used. Why are Arai and Shoei helmets so expensive? Are they really that much better? What makes them worth that much money? I'm just curious...not wanting to start any brand wars, just curious.

Thanks
  2. Yossarian™

Yossarian™ Deputy Cultural Attaché

Oddometer:
    They are very well engineered, constructed, painted, etc.

That being said, I wore a series of Shoei helmets for many years. Now I tend toward Scorpions for the street. They are 90% of what a Shoei is for 50% (or less) the cost.

When a person retires a helmet after a few years of use, it makes sense to make it priced so that the retirement isn't put off longer than necessary.
    TonyKZ1 and Muttly like this.
  3. the_real_wild1

the_real_wild1 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Name.
    IslandMonkey likes this.
  4. Maggot12

Maggot12 U'mmmm yeaah!!

Oddometer:
    Few things I've noticed when comparing my 150 buck lid to an an Arai or Shoei....

Overall quality....
    Lighter..
    My helmet has one shell size across the board from xs to xxxl, so to make it fit all sizes, they add foam. Shoei uses several shell sizes. The fit will be better, for longer.
    Materials for the trim edging and around the shield.
    The internal visor in my helmet requires some strenght to open/close it and when it does close, it's like slamming the door on a 20 year old minivan will 700,k miles on it. The shield on a Neotec opens and closes extremely smooth and quite. like closing the door on a Lexus.

Noise levels
    venting
    paint
    Alexander B and MacNoob like this.
  5. scootertrog

scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

Oddometer: