ADV Photographers - Which camera type? Premium P&S or Mirrorless?

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Herbivore63, May 1, 2013.

1. Herbivore63

Herbivore63 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I am a reasonably experienced photographer but a relatively new rider and ADV’er. I’m getting geared up for a couple trips this year which will include portions of the Backcountry Discovery Routes in Washington and Utah. My good DSLR will not be going on those trips. I want something smaller, lighter and more convenient. So, I’m looking for something that will be easy to carry and always close at hand but still capable of taking some great pictures.

Before looking at specific cameras, I’m trying to figure out which type of camera is best with the two obvious choices being a premium point & shoot (e.g. Canon G15, Canon S110, Nikon D7700, etc.) or a small Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera (e.g. Canon EOS M, Samsung NX1000, etc.) with a pancake lens and/or a small zoom. I really want the larger sensor with the picture quality that a MILC would provide but it’s not as convenient to pack and handle. A P&S can stay in my coat pocket close at hand. A MILC would reside in my tank bag.

Can any of you tell me about your experience and how you typically use your camera when traveling? Where do you keep it? How important is having a completely pocketable camera? Am I likely to take fewer pictures if it’s in my tank bag? Are there other issues that would be created by the more clunky form of the MILC’s? Is having an integrated lens cap important? What conclusions have you come to regarding the trade-off of convenience vs. image quality? :ear
    iBoxtuin and VietHorse like this.
  2. Jim K.

Jim K. Long timer

Oddometer: