noob looking for first DS

Discussion in 'The Rockies – It's all downhill from here...' started by sonic reducer, Aug 19, 2007.

1. sonic reducer

sonic reducer Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hi all,
    I'm new to dual sports and dirt riding in general though have been riding motorcycles on the street for a couple years and racing mountain bikes for about 15. It's high time I got onto the dirt with a throttle. I've done a bit of searching as far as what are the good dual sports are, but it seems to be mostly about the newer stuff(yeah, the DRZ's sound awesome).
    a few criteria of mine:
    -$1500-2000ish, the cheaper the better, but could be talked into spending a max. of say 2500 on a screaming deal
    -more offroad oriented
    -capable of sustained interstate speeds
    -electric start would be nice, or a known reliable kicker
    -the newer the better, this bike will be for riding not wrenching on
    -will be used for commuting around ftc, with some road trips to the local trails and hopefully the mountains before the snow flies

a couple CL items that have caught my eye:

perhaps the price is a little steep?
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400920393.html

see also:
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400860939.html

can it run with I-25?
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400791949.html

hmmm, how are these things?
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400647036.html

strokers are cool, but as a first DS?
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400585780.html

a little expensive...
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400317475.html

I'd buy this thing just for the aluminum tank...
    http://denver.craigslist.org/mcy/400171715.html

anyone care to give me some pointers on the DS market?
    TIA
    jeremy
  2. Wings

Wings long gone

Oddometer: