MX Boots for big calves?

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by blake716, May 7, 2012.

1. blake716

blake716 nine toes

Oddometer:
    Okay, I could stand to lose a few more pounds, but even then, I have unusually large calves.
    I'm about 260lbs (yeah I gained a few since I got married 7 years ago):D But even when I was 190-195lbs and was racing enduro's, I had to adjust the buckles almost all the way out to fit over these cows.
    I've been doing cardio and eating right for a few months now and dropped from 290lbs, all because I knew I'd be buying a bike and wanted to be in better shape.
    The problem I have now is, I can't buckle my friggin new boots! I can make, er umm force, the buckles close without my riding pants on, but they won't buckle over my pants. It just ain't happening. :cry

What are my options? ...besides keeping on losing weight.
    Do they make boots for fat calf people?

I'm dropping the weight pretty good, but even at this pace it'll be a while before I can buckle my boots.

If anyone has any advice, I would appreciate it.

Let the fat jokes begin. :1drink
  2. blake716

blake716 nine toes

Oddometer:
    I did that, but the few bike shops we have locally don't have much of a selection.
    The best thing I can think of is double up the cardio and get some over the boot pants.
  3. hardpackrider

hardpackrider Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I have large calves and my Gaerne sg12's have room to spare.. I think they'll still have room even w my knee guards tucked in..

via Tapatalk
  4. blake716

blake716 nine toes

Oddometer:
    After researching last night, it looks like my 2 best options are Sidi Crossfire and Gaerne SG10's or SG12's.
    It looks like I'll be returning my boots today for some Gaerne SG10's as Rocky Mountain MC has a really good price on them right now.

Thanks!
  5. mrt10x

mrt10x Dumba$s Jarhead

Oddometer: