Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-22-2014, 03:53 PM   #1
1911MotoChick OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 88
New here and want advice (and venting hehe)

Hello!

I've been lurking here for awhile but this will be my first post :)

I started riding dirt 9 years ago but a year and a half ago I got my first street bike, a Moto Guzzi V7 Classic. She's an awesome first bike but I like long all day, weekend or week long rides and wanting something more appropriate for that (and something with some more umph!)

So, I have my eye on a F700GS. Thinking it's more street than dirt and lighter than the 800 but can still go on some dirt if needed/wanted. I didnt care for the triumph or any other bike similar to the BMW's aesthetically. I will be test riding one tomorrow, but so far that's the one I have my eye on.

So, question is, does anyone have anything negative to say about that bike or BMW's in general? Are they generally reliable? Are there any known issues I should be looking out for?

I have had issues with my Guzzi, including:
The evap canister was building pressure in my tank and had to be replaced (during a week long moto trip, every time I stopped I had to remove my cap in order to let it vent thoroughly or else it would make a sound and build a ton of pressure)
The header bolts rattled out when I was 250 miles away from home (dealership "fixed" and they rattled loose again, finally a personal mechanic fixed it)
The kickstand comes down while I ride (replaced it w/ a new one and it STILL comes down, finally bent the peg where the spring is hooked to give it more tension as apparently it's a design flaw)
Shit just rattles loose all the time (I know this is to be expected but its worse than my dirtbikes ever were and I dont see any issues like this w/ my GF's Bonneville)