ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2005, 08:50 PM   #16
Donkey Hotey
De Jo Momma
 
Donkey Hotey's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: 20 Mule Team Trail (Palmdale, Ca)
Oddometer: 10,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drif10
I don't run the high beam light cause it sucks camel turds
Yeah and once those things get in around the bulb, the light turns to 'crap'

I understand and agree. The high beam has that crappy spotlight pattern that's focused about two miles away in a single point of light--no dispersion. Has anybody tried to mount a second low-beam in the other position, then aim it higher for 'high beam' function?
__________________
Greg
Donkey Hotey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 05:51 PM   #17
acupuncture4u
Freedom by knobbies
 
acupuncture4u's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,372
Is there another thread in the index that has options for fog lights or others like this?

__________________
(((((((((RIDE)))))))))
www.betterthanyoufoundit.org At Least 1 piece!


How is your Heart Health
acupuncture4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 09:40 PM   #18
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by acupuncture4u
Is there another thread in the index that has options for fog lights or others like this?
...
There are some lighting threads but I was always looking for solutions that were better protected. That type of solution should be easy to rig eh?
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 10:28 PM   #19
acupuncture4u
Freedom by knobbies
 
acupuncture4u's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by meat popsicle
There are some lighting threads but I was always looking for solutions that were better protected. That type of solution should be easy to rig eh?
So you have a solution. I didn't actually realize how vunerable those in the pic were. Where else can you mount them?
__________________
(((((((((RIDE)))))))))
www.betterthanyoufoundit.org At Least 1 piece!


How is your Heart Health
acupuncture4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 02:44 PM   #20
twotyred
Practising Recedivist
 
twotyred's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Bruthen Victoria
Oddometer: 2,001
Quote:
Has anybody tried to mount a second low-beam in the other position
I know of at least one Aussie rider - don't remember his name - just saw his post in a HID discussion thread. Easily done just a bit $$$$.

I am currently running two 35watt HID units in my 640 Adventure. Have wired the relay for the low beam to my parking light -this stops the light cutting out upon starting the bike and both beams stay on when I flick the switch to high. I will soon be installing a 50watt HID into my high beam. Will let you all know how this performs.
__________________
If you succeed at first...don't look surprised!!

More enthusiasm than ability!!
twotyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 02:53 PM   #21
acupuncture4u
Freedom by knobbies
 
acupuncture4u's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by twotyred
I know of at least one Aussie rider - don't remember his name - just saw his post in a HID discussion thread. Easily done just a bit $$$$.

I am currently running two 35watt HID units in my 640 Adventure. Have wired the relay for the low beam to my parking light -this stops the light cutting out upon starting the bike and both beams stay on when I flick the switch to high. I will soon be installing a 50watt HID into my high beam. Will let you all know how this performs.

Pics please. Does anyone use Fog lamps instead of HID's?
__________________
(((((((((RIDE)))))))))
www.betterthanyoufoundit.org At Least 1 piece!


How is your Heart Health
acupuncture4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 07:59 PM   #22
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by acupuncture4u
So you have a solution. I didn't actually realize how vunerable those in the pic were. Where else can you mount them?
Best thing I know of is to replace the halogen(s) with HID(s). There are some threads in Thumpers on this for the LC4a and a few are indexed.
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:40 AM   #23
Seikkailu_R
Studly Adventurer
 
Seikkailu_R's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Piikkiö, Finland
Oddometer: 836
I change my highbeam (H1 55w) to 50w HID (using original KTM/ZKW housing) last week.
With H1 it was useless spotlight... not anymore
Seikkailu_R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 12:54 PM   #24
Mleaky
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Mleaky's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunny Arizona
Oddometer: 202
I wonder if you could mount on of these to a 640?


http://www.trailtech.net/trail_light.html
Mleaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014