ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-19-2006, 08:56 AM   #16
LaOutbackTrail
Certified Smartass
 
LaOutbackTrail's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Oddometer: 5,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
What GPS are you using?
E-trex Legend.

I wanted the GPS V, but my parents couldnt find it. Legend works....
LaOutbackTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:04 AM   #17
PhilSpace OP
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlowinGreenKLR650
E-trex Legend.

I wanted the GPS V, but my parents couldnt find it. Legend works....
Yup, USB to serial adapter should work. You will know when you go to hit the upload from device button, it should come up and display GPS, or at least pick it up when you hit the Find Device button.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:09 AM   #18
LaOutbackTrail
Certified Smartass
 
LaOutbackTrail's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Oddometer: 5,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
Yup, USB to serial adapter should work. You will know when you go to hit the upload from device button, it should come up and display GPS, or at least pick it up when you hit the Find Device button.
Well, yah see... I bought this really nice... really expensive laptop that has been great. I got all excited right before a trip, because i figured how to use the GPS attached to the computer (desktop at home) so that you have the routing and everything on the computer and the GPS is merely the reciever. I went to hook it up to my shiny new laptop and WTF? no serial port! damn it!

Getting the adapter....
LaOutbackTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:26 AM   #19
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,731
It (serial-USB adapter) will work, I use one on my home PC with my GPS V
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:38 AM   #20
beemer67
Really Old airhead
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Fish Limb, B.C. Canada
Oddometer: 215
I am using a Lowrance iFinder. It doesn't seem to handle .gpx files only .txt

Is there a program out there that can convert .gpx to .txt ?

And the reverse too I guess so I could upload some of my routes or trails.
beemer67 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:41 AM   #21
PhilSpace OP
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by beemer67
I am using a Lowrance iFinder. It doesn't seem to handle .gpx files only .txt

Is there a program out there that can convert .gpx to .txt ?

And the reverse too I guess so I could upload some of my routes or trails.
They are actually CSV files (comma separated) and GPSBABLE will handle the Mapcreate/Lowrance stuff as well. GPSBable is mentioned in some other posts.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 10:40 PM   #22
boatworker
Slow Old Guy
 
boatworker's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 500
.gpx and Google Earth

A little help please.

I assigned Google Earth as the default viewer for .gpx files, but it looks like this only works with the Plus version, not the freebie. I will be getting my 276 next week and with it a copy of Mapsource. So, in XP, how do I "unassign" Google from being the default viewer? I know there is a list somewhere in here that tells which file types are opened by which program, but I can't find it.
__________________
Jim
'04 Ural Tourist
'08 Tiger
boatworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:22 AM   #23
PhilSpace OP
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,323
Open up the file manager (click on my documents, my computer or the windows key and E together or whatever to get the window open) and click on tools/folder options/file types. Go down the list of extensions until you find .GPX and then change the association to Mapsource.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:50 AM   #24
boatworker
Slow Old Guy
 
boatworker's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Oddometer: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
Open up the file manager (click on my documents, my computer or the windows key and E together or whatever to get the window open) and click on tools/folder options/file types. Go down the list of extensions until you find .GPX and then change the association to Mapsource.
I was hoping that wasn't gonna be the answer. I tried that and .gpx isn't listed. The only ones associated with Google Earth are .eta, .kml and .kmz. Yet if click on one of the . gpx files in these threads, Google Opens. Wierd.

Jim
__________________
Jim
'04 Ural Tourist
'08 Tiger
boatworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 11:19 PM   #25
kengray
Adventurer
 
kengray's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Oddometer: 70
I am planning on purchasing a Garmin 276 this week. After reading throught he forum, that choice seems to be an easy choice. The software choices are throwing me for a loop. Which software created those cool 3-D looking maps. Did that software let you map out your own route or was that a pre-existing route (a forestry service road for example)? Thanks, Ken
Attached Images
 
kengray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 05:47 PM   #26
chicago6061
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Oddometer: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kengray
Which software created those cool 3-D looking maps. Did that software let you map out your own route or was that a pre-existing route (a forestry service road for example)? Thanks, Ken
I've put together a website where you can upload your GPX files to. While it doesn't generate cool 3D maps, it does allow you to share the 2D maps online (in forums or on your website). The maps are fully interactive so you can zoom, pan and switch between satellite and map view. The website's URL is: http://maps.innersource.com

As an example, here is a map that I generated from a ride I took near Denver (the map is interactive):
chicago6061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:45 AM   #27
horsew/noname
I've been thru the desert
 
horsew/noname's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: NW Washington
Oddometer: 77
I'm having problems viewing gpx files. The popup says .gpx is not a valid Win32 appliction. I have Mapsource with the newst version downloaded. Any help here?
horsew/noname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 01:37 PM   #28
horsew/noname
I've been thru the desert
 
horsew/noname's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: NW Washington
Oddometer: 77
I finally figured it out. Yeah baby!
horsew/noname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:33 PM   #29
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace

If you are on your own PC you can download the free version of Google Earth, which will now also work with Mapsource. From there, you can do a File>Open and it will display the info in the .gpx file on the map.

These utilities will display track logs and waypoints with no problem. Complex Garmin routes will be more like a "connect the dots" display.
Sorry to keep asking questions, I had the old version of GE and the above worked fine, now with the new version of GE it doesn't? I just got a reply to get the pay version? Is this the only way to get my tracks to show on the new GE?
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:42 PM   #30
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,552
I have tried to do some SEARCHing and came up with what I think my problem is. I posted this over on Rockies where I found a thread by Mac on Google Earth for a list of passes in CO. I asked him or anyone else for some help with my problem.

Hi Mac, hope you can open these links. I found a bbs for GE and some stuff on gpx files and the newer versions of GE beta won't read them. In the thread it says there is a problem with newer GE beta versions. Also a link to a site to download older versions which still allow you to view the gpx files. One guy says to go back to 4.0.2091. Since I'm computer illiterate I haven't tried it yet, so my disclaimer is...

http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/showflat....rue#Post715736

http://www.filehippo.com/download_google_earth/

Hopefully you or another computer genius will be able to shed some more light on the subject.

So hopefully this is helpful to someone else, if it works.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014