ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2005, 07:57 AM   #1
DockingPilot OP
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
can u reverse a route ?

Does anyone know how u can reverse a route that is already loaded into the Garmin 26010 ? To b clear, I have a route already in the unit, now I want to invert it, can I and how ? If anyone knows.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 08:40 AM   #2
waypointX
GPS Addict
 
waypointX's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Oddometer: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot
Does anyone know how u can reverse a route that is already loaded into the Garmin 26010 ? To b clear, I have a route already in the unit, now I want to invert it, can I and how ? If anyone knows.
I'm not currently aware of a tool to do this, but I'll be happy add it to my tool. If you want to PM me the GPX file I can use it to test the feature and send you the reversed route.
waypointX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 08:45 AM   #3
DockingPilot OP
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
Well. what I was looking for was to be able to do it on the road from the unit. I can reverse it on my Mapsource but I want to do it from my Nav II.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 10:17 AM   #4
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,804
For whatever reason, reversing routes has been a controversial subject at Garmin. A few of the more recent units do it. The 60C, for example, has a reverse route function. Most of the units, including the 276 and the 2610, do not include a reverse route function. With the 2610 you can resequence the via points. This in effect allows a route to be reversed, but it takes work if there are a bunch of via points.
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 11:52 AM   #5
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,543
I thought the 276C would do it. Now I have to go check.
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:55 PM   #6
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,144
Nope, only in Mapsource. I have wanted to make use of that [missing] feature on my 276c several times in the last couple of years. It would definately lessen the consuption of Route storage on the GPS.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:57 PM   #7
CA Stu
Thanks
 
CA Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Oddometer: 46,679
I suggest you download the latest version of software for your GPS.

My eMap can do it on the fly.


Thanks
CA Stu
__________________
http://youtu.be/C6cxNR9ML8k
CA Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 01:03 PM   #8
DockingPilot OP
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,239
Thumb

Thanx fellas.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 01:33 PM   #9
Kingsqueak
Wannabe
 
Kingsqueak's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Oddometer: 820
An interesting reason this isn't an included option on a lot of the nav systems is simply one-way streets and a liability concern if people weren't sharp enough to realize that reversing their route would send them the wrong way.

I found mention of this on some other forums and frankly it makes sense if you consider the IQ of the average citizen these days.
__________________
2008 TE610 - "Jumpy"
2001 KLR650 - retired "Lumpy"
1987 Honda Saber - destroyed "Crashy"
Kingsqueak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 01:52 PM   #10
dizave
Team Blitzed
 
dizave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: lost
Oddometer: 5,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsqueak
An interesting reason this isn't an included option on a lot of the nav systems is simply one-way streets and a liability concern if people weren't sharp enough to realize that reversing their route would send them the wrong way.

I found mention of this on some other forums and frankly it makes sense if you consider the IQ of the average citizen these days.
In a GPX file, a route is just an ordered set of waypoints, which would lead me to believe the GPS calculates the route between points, so the above shouldn't be an issue. Does garmin transmit extra info in a route?
dizave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 01:57 PM   #11
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA Stu
I suggest you download the latest version of software for your GPS.

My eMap can do it on the fly.
Be carefull of what you say. eMap does not calculate routes at all, therefore reversing a route is simple. The units we're talking about are autorouting and just don't do it.

I read a Garmin response once that said something to the effect that they will never do that because of issues relating to freeway ramps and one-way streets leading to bad routes. I guess if a via point is stuck in a bad spot that could be an issue. So why then do the 60c and a few others have that function?
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 02:06 PM   #12
cbmwgs
Retired Adventurer
 
cbmwgs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Location: Texas
Oddometer: 742
76c

I have a 76C autorouting color unit that will reverse route.

Just highlight the route on the 76C screen and then hit menu and the 2nd item down is reverse route.

Used it more than once.
__________________
2002 BMW R1150R Black
cbmwgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 02:34 PM   #13
BirdmanH54
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BirdmanH54's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Oddometer: 217
The 376c does it.
BirdmanH54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 02:40 PM   #14
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,804
How about the Quest or Quest II? Anyone know?

So far we got:

GPS V - no
276 - ??
2610 -no
60c - yes
76c - yes
376 - yes

R-dubb screwed with this post 12-16-2005 at 12:39 PM Reason: still losing it
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 03:40 PM   #15
spagthorpe
Beastly Adventurer
 
spagthorpe's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 14,543
Specs off the Garmin site for both the 276C and 376C says:

Quote:
Stores up to 3,000 user waypoints, 50 reversible routes (300 waypoints per route)
spagthorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014