ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2005, 08:59 PM   #16
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,657
My V doesn't do it.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 09:13 PM   #17
RoughRider
elderly windbreaker
 
RoughRider's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa
Oddometer: 122
How about Quest, will Quest do it?
__________________


RoughRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 08:37 AM   #18
CrackerJim
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: SW Florida
Oddometer: 87
Birdman,

What menu do you find the reverse on (in auto mode). I couldn't find it on my 376 and emailed garmin. Their reply was that it couldn't reverse (in auto mode) due to the fact it was an autorouting unit, simply pick the waypoint on the other end and have it autoroute.

Jim
CrackerJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:22 AM   #19
BirdmanH54
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BirdmanH54's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Oddometer: 217
It is in the Track menu. If you save the the track you can select trackback....or you can select Nav, then select navigate track.
BirdmanH54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:39 AM   #20
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdmanH54
It is in the Track menu. If you save the the track you can select trackback....or you can select Nav, then select navigate track.
That's not really reversing the route, it's just following your tracklog back from where it started - no route recalculation.

Also the streetpilot series doesn't have that function damnit
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 01:15 PM   #21
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackerJim
Birdman,

What menu do you find the reverse on (in auto mode). I couldn't find it on my 376 and emailed garmin. Their reply was that it couldn't reverse (in auto mode) due to the fact it was an autorouting unit, simply pick the waypoint on the other end and have it autoroute.

Jim
That is exactly what I thought in the first place.

276 & 376 = no autoroute reverse

How about the Quest or Quest II? Anyone know?

Now we got:

GPS V - no
276 - no
376 - no
2610 -no
60c - yes
76c - yes


For some reason the 60c & the 76c both do it. I smell a rat. My guess is that they feel there is some liability issue on units that are intended for driving cars.

R-dubb screwed with this post 12-16-2005 at 12:38 PM Reason: I'm losing my mind
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:47 PM   #22
BirdmanH54
Gnarly Adventurer
 
BirdmanH54's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Oddometer: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSpace
That's not really reversing the route, it's just following your tracklog back from where it started - no route recalculation.

Also the streetpilot series doesn't have that function damnit
Ah, sorry 'bout that!
BirdmanH54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 03:01 PM   #23
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackerJim
Birdman,
Their reply was that it couldn't reverse (in auto mode) due to the fact it was an autorouting unit, simply pick the waypoint on the other end and have it autoroute. Jim
Well, this isn't really Route reversing either. I guess if you have a bunch of "via" points along the route you might have a reasonable chance of getting the same Route reversed. I have used this method on a few occasions and had mixed results.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 08:41 PM   #24
cohassetsteve
Sikkle Rider
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Cohasset (Near Chico), CA
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R-dubb
That is exactly what I thought in the first place.

276 & 376 = no autoroute reverse

How about the Quest or Quest II? Anyone know?

Now we got:

GPS V - no
276 - no
376 - no
2610 -no
60c - yes
76c - yes


.
I'm brand new to the GPS V, I also have an emap and it will reverse a route (granted it doesn't autoroute). Having just messed with the GPS V for a couple of days, I was disappointed that it wouldn't reverse a route...It will not reverse an autoroute but it will reverse a manual route - the reversed rout is not autorouted, tho', it is as the crow flies like the emap, but you can tell it to "follow the roads" and it will turn into an autoroute - I think I got that right
__________________
Steve Viertell, Chico, CA
'06 V-Strom 1k '03 DR-Z400S
IBA 6049 WA6ZGK
www.viertell.com
cohassetsteve.smugmug.com
cohassetsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 11:54 AM   #25
Hammer
Hawlin' aZZ
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: Pacific Northwet
Oddometer: 2,299
Hm - one more way the Magellan is superior....

Tho I will admit it would be unwise to reverse a route that was an Auto-route over one-way streets, or on freeways, reversing a route is a handy feature, and available on Magellan GPSr's. It's been on all mine. This is separate from the obvious reverse track or track-back feature. I have used it, and other than knowing you are following the route from last waypoint to first, you wouldn't know any difference from the original route.
All that said, I don't use mine much for pavement. I use it after I leave the pavement, so freeway or one-way streets are not an issue. I'd like to think I'm aware enough NOT to go the wrong way on those places, tho....
__________________
Hammer
“If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.”
George Orwell


'06 525 XC "Sledge"
'04 KTM 950 Adventure Thunder
Enough yappin'! Let's ride!
Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:05 AM   #26
spidennis
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by spagthorpe
Specs off the Garmin site for both the 276C and 376C says:

Quote:
Stores up to 3,000 user waypoints, 50 reversible routes (300 waypoints per route)


yeah, I know, I'm bringing back an old, old thread .......

I sure didn't see this anywhere! 50 routes, but not reversible. I just got the 478 and all I could find is "track back" (pg37 of manual), nothing on reversing a route with the 478 , dang ...... I'm coming from a 2610 so I'm gonna be happy with the tracks and track back feature, sure wish those routes were reversible though.
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 08:21 AM   #27
PhilSpace
The Gov
 
PhilSpace's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Springfield, VA
Oddometer: 35,087
Yup, been hashed on many times. Reversing routes is a Mapsource/Roadtrip thing and worse, one way streets, interstates and intersections can really screw it up if you placed a viapoint one of those locations.
__________________

PhilSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 10:44 AM   #28
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsqueak
An interesting reason this isn't an included option on a lot of the nav systems is simply one-way streets and a liability concern if people weren't sharp enough to realize that reversing their route would send them the wrong way.

I found mention of this on some other forums and frankly it makes sense if you consider the IQ of the average citizen these days.
That makes total sence, all the hand helds do it e-map, 60, 76! Obviously you can walk backwards (and even the wrong way) on a one way street.

Glad I found this out. I just bought a Nuvi to use on a cross country trip and am not sure which way I will use two routes.
__________________
Jerry Counts

Countdown screwed with this post 04-09-2009 at 12:41 PM
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 10:52 AM   #29
spidennis
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,274
It would be nice to have the feature "route reverse" buried deep in the menus somewhere so that the avg joe couldn't find it easily. those that dig for such things would be smart enough to avoid the pitfalls of one ways and such? but with the trend of dumbing everything down, I gather this isn't going to happen .
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:20 AM   #30
widebmw
Studly Adventurer
 
widebmw's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Oddometer: 642
I have a 76CSX and it has "Reverse Route".
I have a route in it that has 2 way points that are gas stations on one way streets.
When I reverse the route it does not take me the wrong way on those streets.
It will make a new route with the same way points in the reverse order and it will take me around the block so that I will be going the correct direction on the one way streets.
If you don't want to go around the block then delete those way points or ignore them.
widebmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014