User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-14-2006, 05:25 PM   #1
sherpa OP
...Robert

Oddometer: 3,175
Installing XM Radio and DUal Star Mirrors on a 640

What is a luxury to some is a necessity to others.

I have a pretty severe case of tinnitus, and it's worse in my right ear than my left...which makes it even more disorienting. Riding with foam earplugs for a full day gets pretty uncomfortable....on mutiple day or week trips it can be a show stopper.

Aside from a variety of holistic like band aids...there really is no cure for tinnitus. The only thing you can do is "mask" the ringing with some other noise...xmradio works great.

Soap Box moment.
All you young bucks who still feel like your body is invincible...it's not....protect your hearing at all times...cause living with a constant ringing in your ears is no fun. I've been a carpenter/woodworker for 25 years and I was always the geek on the jobsite/shop wearing hearing protection. I also spent alot of time operating tractors and track loaders while wearing hearing protection. I guess it wasn't enough though...cause my ears still suffered damage. Somebody told me that wearing hearing protection on tracked machines, wasn't enough to protect your ears, because the vibration those machines put out just gets transmitted through your bones and into your ear drum. All the people now adays with Ipods glued to their ears are in for a little surprise down the road someday.
Soap Box moment over.

The Install.

I've had the Roady2 on my GS for the past few years and I've been long overdue in getting it setup on my 640. The Roady only takes 6 volts...so you need a tranformer to step down the voltage. I choose to use the one that cycle-gadgets sells because it's really small and space on the 640 is limited.