ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
Old 03-09-2006, 01:10 PM   #1
BurnieM OP
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
OZtopo mapping for Garmin GPS

New mapping product for Garmin GPS expected available late May at $179

http://www.gpsoz.com.au/oztopo/

BurnieM screwed with this post 05-02-2006 at 10:32 PM
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 05:31 AM   #2
Gwilli
"Life Behind Bars"
 
Gwilli's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Canberra: -"The Ivory Tower"- Australia
Oddometer: 274
Thumb About Time..

Thanks for the tip...

I have been waiting for topo maps of Aus.
It would be nice to have some 50000:1 maps as well......

I have topo map envy, I have been ringing GME Australia for 2 years to hassle them about this. their usual reply has been" no word from Garmin yet"
I think they say that to get rid of me...

Greg
__________________
"I'm not schizophrenic!!.....and neither am I......"

"Destined for a life behind bars..."
Gwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:36 AM   #3
BurnieM OP
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
We (GPSOZ) are putting this mapset together (not Garmin)

We should be able to demonstrate (and sell) it alongside the new Garmin GPSmap 60Cx/60CSx at the Rosehill Caravan and Camping Show

EDIT; delay with artwork. Now expecting available late May

BurnieM screwed with this post 05-02-2006 at 10:33 PM
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:21 AM   #4
Gwilli
"Life Behind Bars"
 
Gwilli's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Canberra: -"The Ivory Tower"- Australia
Oddometer: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
We (GPSOZ) are putting this mapset together (not Garmin)

We should be able to demonstrate (and sell) it alongside the new Garmin GPSmap 60Cx/60CSx at the Rosehill Caravan and Camping Show

OK Burnie, now I get it.......

Well I will definitely be interested.
I have been using Aussie explorer and the Aus Geo science maps on my laptop.
I download tracks (GPS -> Computer) from my GPSmap 60cs and I print maps to carry.
I would like to be able to load topo maps of the areas that I visit.
I have metroguide loaded now but the coverage is pretty sketchy in the areas I like to ride. My buddy has a Magellan and his mapping is always seems to have better details...

I will keep my peeled for the release of your maps.

Greg
__________________
"I'm not schizophrenic!!.....and neither am I......"

"Destined for a life behind bars..."
Gwilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:07 PM   #5
BurnieM OP
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
It comes as 2 mapsets; a transparent 20 metre contour map (which can be used with other maps) and a road map, Tracks4Australia PRO.

The freeware version has the same roads but no city search and less waterway and park information.
Freeware version here;
http://www.gpsoz.com.au/tracks4australia/

BurnieM screwed with this post 05-02-2006 at 10:31 PM
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 11:14 PM   #6
Gonz
BMW Bike Bum
 
Gonz's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Oddometer: 756
Got it on my 2610 Burnie. Fills in alot of missing space that City Navigator 6 leaves.
Plan to use it on the Arkaroola run.

Cheers,

Gonz.
__________________
If in doubt, give it a clout..
The bigger the doubt, the bigger the clout!!
Gonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 01:48 AM   #7
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
I understand the new version of Oztopo will be out soon, any idea of when?

rossco
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 03:46 AM   #8
BurnieM OP
Nipple boy
 
BurnieM's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 4,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoact
I understand the new version of Oztopo will be out soon, any idea of when?

rossco
November-ish....
BurnieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 07:35 PM   #9
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnieM
November-ish....
Sweet,

I'm selling the Quest and buying a 60Cx with CN and Oztopo. I'm sure that will stop me form getting lost
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 02:53 AM   #10
kapitaal
Lost
 
kapitaal's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 80
shonky maps

Hey rossco - check out shonky maps. Free topos for all of oz.

http://www.gpsaustralia.net/forums/s...ead.php?t=2525

Cheers,

Heath.
kapitaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 03:40 AM   #11
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapitaal
Hey rossco - check out shonky maps. Free topos for all of oz.

http://www.gpsaustralia.net/forums/s...ead.php?t=2525

Cheers,

Heath.
Thanks Heath, that looks really good, I've downloaded the shonky maps but when I choose Shonky Full Topo in Mapsource it shows no contours, any ideas?

rossco
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 02:41 PM   #12
kapitaal
Lost
 
kapitaal's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 80
zoom

The contours only showup on mine when I'm zoomed to 1.5kms or less and the detail is set to Highest.

kapitaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 07:16 PM   #13
Frank Warner
Traveller
 
Frank Warner's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 6,593
If teh contours showed up at lower zoom levels .. you'd see a mass of spaghetti .. and it would be rather confusing.

If they had 'major contours' (say at 500 metres) and 'minor contours' (for every thing else) then you could shouw the major ones at lower zoom levels ..
Frank Warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 02:51 AM   #14
kapitaal
Lost
 
kapitaal's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 80
Contours at 500m would miss Megalong valley in the Blue Mountains!

Basically, this is something someone has put a hell of a lot of man hours into and then offered it for free, good on him I say.
kapitaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 03:50 AM   #15
rosscoact
need constant supervision
 
rosscoact's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra ACT
Oddometer: 5,503
Quote:
The contours only showup on mine when I'm zoomed to 1.5kms or less and the detail is set to Highest.
Detail set at highest, that is the go. Thanks heaps Das

rossco
__________________
Stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out? Will Rogers

www.transaustraliatrail.com.au
rosscoact is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014