ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2006, 04:48 PM   #1
b17flyguy OP
Adventurer
 
b17flyguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Bay Area
Oddometer: 62
Question LC4 Spark Plug Socket

I am sure this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it.

What size socket does the spark plug need? I tried fitting a couple of standard sockets in there but none would fit .

Not having the KTM Toolset would the Kimpex Tool work on me 2002 LC4-E?

Any other suggested spark plug tool?

By the way, I do not have a lathe, welder, or factory tool .

I am thinking about getting the rear shock spanner with this. Any other essential LC4 tools I should buy!?!?!

Thanks
__________________
2005 BMW R1200 GS
b17flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 07:12 PM   #2
twotyred
Practising Recedivist
 
twotyred's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Bruthen Victoria
Oddometer: 1,872
I went down to my local MC Dealer with a spark plug in my hand and he matched it with one that fits. It is a common size used in dirt bikes. Get a long one with a hole in it so you can use a screwdriver to turn. I had to drill mine to suit.

That Kimpex tool looks too short.
__________________
If you succeed at first...don't look surprised!!

More enthusiasm than ability!!
twotyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 07:24 PM   #3
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,134
heya,

If I remember correctly, the LC4 requires a spark plug socket that is very THIN walled. Thin metal, so that it fits around the spark plug between it and the engine... does that make any sense?

That one you posted might work if it is thin enough. Pehaps one of the measuring types (w/ calipers) can measure the gauge of the metal (if that is the correct terminology) and you can check with that mfg. to see if it's similar.

Other tools; are there not any threads in the index? Gawd that thing is a mess!
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 07:57 PM   #4
zugy
My brother wheeling SXC
 
zugy's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: So. California
Oddometer: 192
I have 2 lc4's they take different size sockets. I forgot which one it is but as meatsicle stated it may have to be a thin wall. Just order the tool kit for your exact bike. I don't think it's over $50 bucks. Handy T-wreches I always use for shrouds, plastics and more . Plus other handy tools. The can bottle opener is an intersting tool. They where thinking on that one
zugy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 05:09 PM   #5
cat
Beastly Adventurer
 
cat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Durban, South Africa.
Oddometer: 1,323
http://www.pitposse.com
http://www.pitposse.com/18spplso.html
$18 + $$ shipping to me but i don't care, it works for me on my 660 engine.

cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 04:08 AM   #6
AndyB
Lonely Traveler
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: WestbyGodVirgina
Oddometer: 173
Stock Wrench

The key element here is a very thin walled wrench. the plug wrench that came in the oem tool kit didn't fit !?! what i found was the one from my 400rxc kit did. looking at the differences was the thickness of the wall AND the outter corners were rounded. so the simple fix was a belt sander and rounding off.
AndyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 05:33 PM   #7
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,318
640A spark plug is listed as a NGK DCPR8E.... which fits the oem plug wrench tool perfectly! (16mm) and allows you to remove / reinstall a plug at home or more importantly out on the trail...
Get your bike 'serviced' at the KTMshop.. and they just happen to change your plug for a NGK DPR8EA (18mm)....



... weeks later in the workshop, checking valve clearances on a saturday afternoon.... fcuk!!

Spent more time grinding down another plug socket to clear the recess in the head than the job at hand!... just glad I was in the workshop....
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 08:42 PM   #8
lvdukerider
Las Vegas Nevada
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Oddometer: 523
Snap-On sockets are made thin walled and will fit. Most motorcycle shops or accessory warehouses will sell you a Motion Pro spark plug tool for a reasonable price.
lvdukerider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 08:50 PM   #9
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,134
braaap!

why did you let a KTM Factory Authorized disService Center touch your ride?

meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 10:13 PM   #10
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by meat popsicle
braaap!

why did you let a KTM Factory Authorized disService Center touch your ride?

Hey Meat! yeah I got suckered.... plus when I changed my oil, discovered the fliter plug had had its ears knocked off, felt like it was torqued up to 3000Nm!
The magnet plug was 'finger' loose..... apparently the case thread gave way before the mechanic could get the torque up.... so he happily glued it back in with some goopspooge!

Ah I love a professional job!
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:05 AM   #11
Laromonster
Vesperado !
 
Laromonster's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Sviland
Oddometer: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
640A spark plug is listed as a NGK DCPR8E.... which fits the oem plug wrench tool perfectly! (16mm) and allows you to remove / reinstall a plug at home or more importantly out on the trail...
Get your bike 'serviced' at the KTMshop.. and they just happen to change your plug for a NGK DPR8EA (18mm)....


Mine was delivered from the factory with the DPR8EA and a wrench that fits it
__________________
Laromo

'91 Vespa PX 200E "Lusso"
'05 KTM 640 ADV "Fatman"
'99 HD FLHRCI "Leviathan"
Laromonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:58 AM   #12
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laromonster
Mine was delivered from the factory with the DPR8EA and a wrench that fits it
Mine the opposite, go figure! being 'inbetween' for whatever reason, is a complete shit!
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 03:37 AM   #13
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by braaap!
Hey Meat! yeah I got suckered.... plus when I changed my oil, discovered the fliter plug had had its ears knocked off, felt like it was torqued up to 3000Nm!
The magnet plug was 'finger' loose..... apparently the case thread gave way before the mechanic could get the torque up.... so he happily glued it back in with some goopspooge!

Ah I love a professional job!
Hey Braaap, who in Melbournia did such a crap job? I just don't understand how KTM can employ every useless wrench in the country.
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 11:29 AM   #14
braaap!
waiting for the big one
 
braaap!'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodSilla
Hey Braaap, who in Melbournia did such a crap job? I just don't understand how KTM can employ every useless wrench in the country.
Ktm Richmond, they can backtrack the computer records as to whom worked on the bike..... and he's now gone.

seems like they turn over staff quicker than the russian sex trade .

they've offered a helicoil job next weekend ... maybe the smarter move will be to get them to supply me the bits (plus oil) and do it myself.
braaap! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:16 PM   #15
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,267
Shops that turn staff over like that are usually bad news eh. I woulda thought there'd be a better shop in the city somewhere for KTM servicing, after all you can get a decent coffe anywhere there (as opposed to the rest of the country) so why not a good workshop?
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014