ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 08:35 PM   #56836
alonzo
Misadventurer
 
alonzo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Northwest Ozarks
Oddometer: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by procycle View Post
Even though the PBI sprockets come with a clip I strongly recommend using the stock retainer plate.
And, why is that? Clip failure or other reason?

-- alonzo
alonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:55 PM   #56837
motolab
Beastly Adventurer
 
motolab's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Oddometer: 2,217
Hello All,

I'm thinking about carrying the '90-'95 6H11 & '96-present 6F19 non-USA adjustable jet needles. Would there be any interest here?

Regards,

Derek
motolab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:49 AM   #56838
ADV8
Taumarunui..Darwin..
 
ADV8's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: North of Sydney.
Oddometer: 2,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porrick View Post
Hey, I am trying to figure out this relay thing and am overwhelmed with too much info when I search.

I am going to install (a pair of) headlight relays with a low beam cutoff switch, and I understand that the relays serve to reduces wattage loss by bypassing the small gauge switch wires. I am also gonna do heated grips with a hard wired 'troller, but I am not clear if I should relay this as well. What about a switched cig socket?

If I mount all of these near the bar, can I power all three relay switches and a Vapor using the accessory power source behind the headlight shell, or do I need to spread the load out? Also, I think I am gonna buy the Eastern Beaver PC-8 fuse block to reduce the mess down near the battery, but I am not sure if I should get the 40A relay and fuse option. What is the purpose of this relay? If I power all of my accessories out of the fuse box, do they each need their own relays **only if they have switches**. I feel like I'm close here, but need a little more guidance.....

TIA, Porrick

Eastern Beaver do a direct headlight feed with a relay from the battery with a on/off switch as an option (I brought one then got a HID kit)
Relays simply allow a direct power source to what you want to power with the stock wiring and switches powering up the relay.

The unused power plug under the front fairing was only for a small pilot light on some models (Europe etc)
It would depend on what that plug has as a rating,heated grips might be better with a relay and more direct power feed.
__________________
The person who got you the DR650 billet 3rd gear set, you're welcome.

49 Sunbeam S7 Deluxe-57 TR6 Trophy-68 Huskys x 2-71 Commando Fastback-73 Ducati 750GT-73 Eldorado-74 TR5T x 2-74 Commando Roadster-73 and 74 H2A/B-77 and 81 900SD's-98 TL1000S x 2-08 DR780-07 Ducati HM 1100S
ADV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 01:53 AM   #56839
ADV8
Taumarunui..Darwin..
 
ADV8's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: North of Sydney.
Oddometer: 2,139
H4 Single Headlight Relay Kits

http://easternbeaver.com/Main/Produc...s/h4_kits.html



Which can be ordered with a on/off built in.

__________________
The person who got you the DR650 billet 3rd gear set, you're welcome.

49 Sunbeam S7 Deluxe-57 TR6 Trophy-68 Huskys x 2-71 Commando Fastback-73 Ducati 750GT-73 Eldorado-74 TR5T x 2-74 Commando Roadster-73 and 74 H2A/B-77 and 81 900SD's-98 TL1000S x 2-08 DR780-07 Ducati HM 1100S
ADV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:57 AM   #56840
Velocipede
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Velocipede's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Kingston Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
Screw that guy!
You might be that guy.
Velocipede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:30 AM   #56841
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Trying to leave CT
Oddometer: 8,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by alonzo View Post
And, why is that? Clip failure or other reason?

-- alonzo
I have thousands of miles, mostly offroad on the clip. I have no problems.
The sprocket finds it's happy spot as to alignment and it all works.

I have the sprocket cover removed and in a box in the garage, because it collects grass, mud and sticks if left on.
__________________
In the beginning, there was nothing. Even That exploded
2009 DR650
..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers
Rusty Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:42 AM   #56842
Stringer99
Banned
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Central FL
Oddometer: 183
For several hours I have been trying to install the top NSU screw, with many different teqniques. It is not going in, period. the bolt wont thread through. i dont know what else to do. the threads are correct, bottom one goes in easy. there is just no possible way to install it with the clutch in the way. can i just yank the whole NSU system out of the bike? again, several hours on that bolt. it doesnt go in.
Stringer99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:44 AM   #56843
basketcase
lifelong reject fixer
 
basketcase's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Fading...
Oddometer: 1,399
Ideas for an accessory wiring drop under the headlight cowling

I'm thinking of running a line from the battery to the cowling that will let me power several gadgets. Any thoughts on workable solutions?
__________________
'00 BMW R1100RT, '06 Jeep Wrangler TJ
------------
"The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." - Marcus Aurelius
basketcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:46 AM   #56844
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 5,450
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Rocket View Post
I have the sprocket cover removed because it collects grass.....
__________________
2004 DR650: 61,211 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -
ER70S-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:08 AM   #56845
asrvivor
Rabies Cure ????
 
asrvivor's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Boring! MORE COW BELL
Oddometer: 1,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Rocket View Post
I have thousands of miles, mostly offroad on the clip. I have no problems.
The sprocket finds it's happy spot as to alignment and it all works.

I have the sprocket cover removed and in a box in the garage, because it collects grass, mud and sticks if left on.
Is there a lot of slop in the sprocket when sitting still?
__________________
Staring straight into the shining sun....

Just cause I'm wrong, don't make you right / Needtobreathe
Our OBDR Trip http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712724
Our UTBDR Trip http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=816500
asrvivor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:18 AM   #56846
Kommando
Grumpy Young Man
 
Kommando's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Spacecoaster FL
Oddometer: 6,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stringer99 View Post
For several hours I have been trying to install the top NSU screw, with many different teqniques. It is not going in, period. the bolt wont thread through. i dont know what else to do. the threads are correct, bottom one goes in easy. there is just no possible way to install it with the clutch in the way. can i just yank the whole NSU system out of the bike? again, several hours on that bolt. it doesnt go in.
Yes. Some people DO remove the whole NSU setup, so they never have to worry about loose screws. You just won't have a neutral light in the dash anymore. I don't recommend letting the clutch out fast on the rare occasions that one uses neutral anyway. I never trust the light 100% either way.
Kommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:22 AM   #56847
EvanADV
Big Bearded Boy
 
EvanADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Joplor, NC
Oddometer: 1,337
Here is my new Madstad 20" CR Shield in Dark Gray. It uses the TurboCity windshield brackets and the MadStad RoboBrackets to have a fully adjustable setup. It is set perfectly for me, almost at maximum height for my 6'4" large frame. I can see directly over the top of it as shown. Comfortable up to indicated 80mph and there is at least a 50% reduction in wind noise compared to no shield. I could feel a slight wobble around 70mph. Going to try a different front fender soon to see if that helps.







And the one thing I'm concerned with is the compatibility with bar risers which I was planning to do soon. Was hoping to go with the Anti-Vibration Rox Risers. If anyone can comment on whether or not you think they would work with this setup, that would be hugely helpful.

Some pics of the top mount:



__________________
Current Steeds: '08 FJR1300 | '02 DR650
Former Steeds: '99 DR650 | '02 DR650 | '09 DL650 | '07 B1250
9 states left to ride: WI, MN, ND, SD, UT, OK, KS, AK, and HI.
First Trip on 2 Wheels. 10,000 miles. 21 years old.
NC to Maine for Lobster Dinner
EvanADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:22 AM   #56848
Kommando
Grumpy Young Man
 
Kommando's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Spacecoaster FL
Oddometer: 6,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketcase View Post
I'm thinking of running a line from the battery to the cowling that will let me power several gadgets. Any thoughts on workable solutions?
Just put a properly-rated inline fuse or breaker as close as practicable to the battery. Run the line (heavy gauge) to a distribution/fuse block under the cowl. If you want it switched, use a relay, or several.

I try to use breakers when I have to do wiring on vehicles, BTW. I hate having to find/replace fuses, especially if I don't have a spare of the correct amperage rating with me.
Kommando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:28 AM   #56849
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Trying to leave CT
Oddometer: 8,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by asrvivor View Post
Is there a lot of slop in the sprocket when sitting still?
Side to side, it can move freely (in and out on the countershaft) but only as far as the clip allows outward and the engine collar inwardly. It doesn't have any more rotational slop than a sprocket attached in stock fashion.
__________________
In the beginning, there was nothing. Even That exploded
2009 DR650
..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers
Rusty Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:32 AM   #56850
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,661
thanks. looks like an 18" would be better for those under 6'.


Quote:
Originally Posted by c2c4c View Post
Here is my new Madstad 20" CR Shield in Dark Gray. It uses the TurboCity windshield brackets and the MadStad RoboBrackets to have a fully adjustable setup. It is set perfectly for me, almost at maximum height for my 6'4" large frame. I can see directly over the top of it as shown. Comfortable up to indicated 80mph and there is at least a 50% reduction in wind noise compared to no shield. I could feel a slight wobble around 70mph. Going to try a different front fender soon to see if that helps.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014