ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 03:45 PM   #68686
Rumlover
Ed
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Utah
Oddometer: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.G View Post
Can you use a 525 rear sprocket with a 520 chain?? I would put a fresh sprocket on anyway if your rear sprocket is worn.

Rob
No, but I am pretty sure you can use a 525 chain with 520 sprockets.

I have a 520 13t sprocket for limited use with my 525 chain when the going gets tough. Just haven't had a need to use it yet, so I can't report on it.
Rumlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:51 PM   #68687
procycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
procycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Center of the DR650 universe
Oddometer: 2,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by meterpig View Post
doh! Should have looked there first...
__________________
Clarke's second law of Egodynamics: "For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert." - Jasper Fforde
www.procycle.us - Everything for your DR650 and lots of other great stuff!
DR900 Big Bore Stroker buildup
TurboDiesel Corvette - go to the end to start at the beginning
procycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:54 PM   #68688
MeterPig
Meh
 
MeterPig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Parker, Colorado...
Oddometer: 17,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.G View Post
Can you use a 525 rear sprocket with a 520 chain?? I would put a fresh sprocket on anyway if your rear sprocket is worn.

Rob
It's not worn at all-relatively new
__________________
You looked down here...didn't you.
MeterPig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:59 PM   #68689
Trbig67
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Oddometer: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trbig67 View Post
Just looking... Are the plug wires even removable from the coils? Do they screw in like the plug caps?

The bike doesn't do this in the rain.. just when I hit a puddle pretty fast. It's forcing water into something it seems and takes a long time to dry out afterwards.

Bump.
Trbig67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 05:56 PM   #68690
Rob.G
Mostly Harmless
 
Rob.G's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Fulltiming in an RV!
Oddometer: 2,129
If it's like my FZ1, no. It means you get to buy a new coil to get the wires. Check eBay first. I had to do that with my FZ1... a pair of new coils and plug wires was $35 shipped. Couldn't beat that. New ones woulda cost $200.

Rob
__________________
'12 Suzuki V-Strom DL650
'96 Suzuki DR650
'10 Kawasaki KLX351S #320
Rob.G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:07 PM   #68691
Chill
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Chill's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 302
Hello, I'm new. Long time lurker and browser of all the awesome pictures, first time poster.
Could anyone please confirm if the Australian spec DR650 is the same as the US and Euro spec. In Australia there is what they call a LAMS scheme (Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme) and so some bikes are LAMS approved and some aren't. Some bikes they do two versions of so these bikes must have some sort of restricter in place, usually in the throttle. The DR650 is a LAMS approved bike in Australia but my question is, is this because it's power figures are such that it falls into that bracket, or does it have some sort of restriction in place?

I have a full licence so would prefer to unrestrict it if there is some sort of restriction in place.

Thanks,

Chill
Chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:16 PM   #68692
ADV8
Taumarunui..Darwin..
 
ADV8's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: North of Sydney.
Oddometer: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chill View Post
The DR650 is a LAMS approved bike in Australia but my question is, is this because it's power figures are such that it falls into that bracket, or does it have some sort of restriction in place?

I have a full licence so would prefer to unrestrict it if there is some sort of restriction in place.

Thanks,

Chill
The DR650 is LAMS approved simply because it is rated at 34 HP stock (worldwide)
You could then open the air box,fit a pipe and pumper carburetor along with a 780 kit for over 50 HP and no one would be the wiser.
The restrictions stock are worldwide and simply things like the air box having a small inlet not things like restricted intake manifolds etc or ECU's like some Japanese market import bikes.
__________________
The person who got you the billet DR650 third gear set, you're welcome.
49 Sunbeam S7 Deluxe-57 TR6 Trophy-68 Huskys x 2-71 Commando Fastback-73 Ducati 750GT-73 Eldorado-74 TR5T x 2-74 Commando Roadster-73 and 74 H2A/B-77 and 81 900SD's-86 400WR-98 TL1000S x 2-08 DR780-07 Ducati HM 1100S
ADV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 06:50 PM   #68693
Chill
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Chill's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: QLD Australia
Oddometer: 302
OK, I understand. Thank you. That's cool then.
Chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 08:04 PM   #68694
TinkerinWstuff
Take it apart
 
TinkerinWstuff's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Colorado Northern Front Range
Oddometer: 1,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeterPig View Post
Doh! Should have looked there first-thanks.
Um, yea. Is there any where else? :
__________________
1999 Suzuki DR650
1998 Honda VFR800 Interceptor
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...KJutW9osVpn3hd
TinkerinWstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:37 AM   #68695
kezzajohnson
kezza
 
kezzajohnson's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Cairns - Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 1,318
Lams

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chill View Post
Hello, I'm new. Long time lurker and browser of all the awesome pictures, first time poster.
Could anyone please confirm if the Australian spec DR650 is the same as the US and Euro spec. In Australia there is what they call a LAMS scheme (Learner Approved Motorcycle Scheme) and so some bikes are LAMS approved and some aren't. Some bikes they do two versions of so these bikes must have some sort of restricter in place, usually in the throttle. The DR650 is a LAMS approved bike in Australia but my question is, is this because it's power figures are such that it falls into that bracket, or does it have some sort of restriction in place?

I have a full licence so would prefer to unrestrict it if there is some sort of restriction in place.


Thanks,

Chill
The LAMS scheme allows bikes that don't exceed 150kw/tonne. At 32 KW on the DR650se, you do the maths.
The only restriction it has in reality is a weld in the header pipe,which many owners grind down, as I have, but which will hardly turn it into a mind blowing wheely machine. And from stock, the carby is on the lean side of life. There is no end of mods one can do to give the bike that involve buying new bits, not removing them from the stock bike, to give more power. Regardless (here in QLD), you get the letters LAM on your rego label to show the coppers you are riding a LAMS approved bike. Unless they carry a dyno with them, I doubt one would get sprung if on a learners.

If on an Open, go your hardest, they can't do anything about it.
__________________
KezzaJohnson Blue 06 DR650se,Yellow 06 DRZ250

Website: http://www.territoryon2wheels.com

"May the Road Never Rise to Defeat you..."
kezzajohnson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 02:10 AM   #68696
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinkerinWstuff View Post
Um, yea. Is there any where else? :
let's not forget all the DR groundwork Jesse has done http://www.kientech.com/
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:33 AM   #68697
drsmiley
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drsmiley's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Oddometer: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
let's not forget all the DR groundwork Jesse has done http://www.kientech.com/
I with you on that , Jesse has done alot for the DR community!!!
drsmiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:56 AM   #68698
Rusty Rocket
Life behind "Bars"
 
Rusty Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Trying to leave CT
Oddometer: 8,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeterPig View Post
Um, yea. Is there any where else? :

I tried finding a 13T front sprocket for a 520 conversion but it appears that none exists...is this true
I think ProCycle has one. I bought a Sunstar 31713. It fits fine, but you have to use the circlip that Jesse sells or one like it.

The sprocket, if I recall is one that fits a 1979-80 Kaw KLX 250 so maybe a long time Kaw dealer could have one still a OEM on the shelf that you could bargain the price down an save shipping.

you can even find 12 & 11 tooth sprockets for these bikes, Like the old KX500's on ebay

From an ebay seller:



SUNSTAR 31713 FRONT SPROCKET KDX400 79-80 / KX-KDX420 80-81 / KX500 83-86
__________________
In the beginning, there was nothing. Even That exploded
2009 DR650
..1972 Penton Six-Days ..1971 Suzuki TS185.. 2005 KTM 400exc
Member of: AMA, NETRA, Blue Ribbon Coalition, CCCofVT, Berkshire TR, CT Ramblers

Rusty Rocket screwed with this post 08-31-2012 at 07:33 AM
Rusty Rocket is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:20 AM   #68699
RichBeBe
All Hail Seitan!!!
 
RichBeBe's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NYC
Oddometer: 6,124
DR's are heavy
I was out playing last night and found some rocky, gnarly singletrack and decided to ride my DR down it. It was steep and knowing momentum is key I carried some speed. Well it got a bit out of shape and I couldn't bring it back and plop we went. Me over the bars and it slamming to earth. Broke the mount off of my hand guard and bent the shifter into the cover. Gouged the cover but it didnt leak. Picked the big pig up and had to decide if I wanted to ride up, or ride down not knowing where I was going. I chose the up route and decided that exploring unknown rocky trails riding solo on a DR is not for me. I will use my two-smoke for that.
__________________
"Remember that an enduro tests the endurance of three things: your machine, your body, and your wits. Only one has to fail to keep you from reaching the finish line." Cycle World March 1966
RichBeBe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:26 AM   #68700
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichBeBe View Post
DR's are heavy
I was out playing last night and found some rocky, gnarly singletrack and decided to ride my DR down it. It was steep and knowing momentum is key I carried some speed. Well it got a bit out of shape and I couldn't bring it back and plop we went. Me over the bars and it slamming to earth. Broke the mount off of my hand guard and bent the shifter into the cover. Gouged the cover but it didnt leak. Picked the big pig up and had to decide if I wanted to ride up, or ride down not knowing where I was going. I chose the up route and decided that exploring unknown rocky trails riding solo on a DR is not for me. I will use my two-smoke for that.
I went down a hydro line trail yesterday and managed not to fall though there were some steep up and down sections.






I didn't use momentum on my downhills, though. I used the rear brake and pussyfooted down since I was also on my own.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014