ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 05:58 PM   #74266
motolab
Beastly Adventurer
 
motolab's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Oddometer: 2,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by YnotJP? View Post
I am speaking with just here-say now, because I am in the Philippines and my DR-650 is in Seattle with my son. I had him redo the carb with the Factory Pro Jet Kit as the air box etc. is still stock, and has seemed to run with little or no problems. Now, here is the "here-say" part, my son says the Factroy Pro Jet Kit is an improvement.

I will say that shortly after I got my 2009 DR 650, I read Stu's Ride Report of his trip to Euope, Central Asia, Russia. Since he and I seem to ride about the same, I followed his thinking regarding the carb, exhaust etc. and it has worked well for me. On a trip from Seattle to San Diego in February 2011, I had a moving average of 52 MPH, and gas mileage of 62 MPG. That is the best mileage I have ever gotten, but, have never gotten less the 50 MPG. I pretty much record every tank.
The shape of the needle contained in the Factory Pro kit should be pretty good. The reason I don't recommend it is because it's made out of stainless steel and will accelerate emulsion tube wear.

Regards,

Derek
motolab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:24 PM   #74267
neo1piv014
ADV in training
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by ER70S-2 View Post
I'ma dummie n00bie?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TUCKERS View Post
Remove the other two bolts and use a circlip to hold the front sprocket on. Pro-Cycle will provide one, I'm surprised it didn't come with the sprocket from them. All the smart kids use circlips, bolts are for noobs. Ask Pro-C they'll tell you.
Time out...this sprocket did come with a black clip looking thing. Where does it go, is there any particular way I need to put it on, and who wants to come out here and smack me for being an idiot?

On the bright side, however, the loaner bike I borrowed from my dad is a BMW K1200S, so the commute to work tomorrow might be cut in half
__________________
_________________________
Ride videos
'01 DR650
"The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks."
neo1piv014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:28 PM   #74268
gjcarving
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Oddometer: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adv Grifter View Post
I'm not sure why ... but seems MOST of the experienced DR guys here are using the stock cover plate and three bolts. The circlip method was popular for a while ... but reading here I see quite a few have gone BACK to the plate and bolts.

The thing with the plate and bolts is ... DO NOT over tighten those bolts, but DO use loc-tite on them. Seems to work OK. Pro Cycle make a special plate that works with 14T sprocket. (see pic below) On the stock plate you have to grind a bit off round the outer edge to use smaller 14T sprocket.

And what does Procycle use on his own bikes?
Is it me, or is that sprocket on backwards? If not, mine is... I was always sure that it was flat side out.

gjcarving screwed with this post 03-03-2013 at 07:34 PM
gjcarving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:32 PM   #74269
ER70S-2
Beastly Adventurer
 
ER70S-2's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SE Denver-ish
Oddometer: 4,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo1piv014 View Post
Time out...
But I'm not tired.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo1piv014 View Post
this sprocket did come with a black clip looking thing.
Does it look like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by neo1piv014 View Post
Where does it go, is there any particular way I need to put it on,
It goes in the groove the stock retainer is in. I use channel lock type pliers, try to pull it straight in, it will try to flop as you apply pressure. Don't freak out, the sprocket is free to slide in and out on the spline, the chain locates it close enough (and is why I don't like them). You'll be good until you can get new bolts, some guys use them 100% of the time, like TUCKER.

OCD alert: To me, there is an inside and an outside. These are stamped out of a steel plate, if you look at the pic, the edges are slightly rounded. On the back, the edges will be much sharper. In this application any force applied to the clip will be from the sprocket side. So..........I put the clip on 'sharp' edge away from the bike, it's marginally less likely to be dislodged toward the sharp edge.

Regular washers are also stamped. So if I'm using them against plastic, like a number plate, I put the rounded edge toward the plastic, usually against aluminum too.

Ok, back to work:

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo1piv014 View Post
and who wants to come out here and smack me for being an idiot?


Nothing wrong with learning. I can't teach my retirement buddy that the sun comes up in the east.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo1piv014 View Post
On the bright side, however, the loaner bike I borrowed from my dad is a BMW K1200S, so the commute to work tomorrow might be cut in half
My commute would include south Texas.

Edit:
Here's another example of round edge toward the plastic. I used the washer for more surface area against the plastic and didn't want the washer cutting a stress crack in the plastic. (the washer under the hex bolt socket head cap screw on the carb cover)
__________________
2004 DR650: 60,466 miles
2013 WR250R

SUZUKI DR650SE INFORMATION INDEX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threewheelbonnie View Post
"BTW, I don't do style. It's a dirt bike, not some girlie dress-up thing." -

ER70S-2 screwed with this post 03-05-2013 at 10:53 AM
ER70S-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:40 PM   #74270
jessepitt
Ride More
 
jessepitt's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Redmond Oregon
Oddometer: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mambo Dave View Post
It is. The kickstand switch became an issue with my Kawasaki Vulcan (when I had it) as well. Instead of cleaning it, I simply bent down while on the bike and pulled at the spring-loaded sensor to wiggled/pulled it out to get it to start.

Is the bypass for the kickstand switch as easy?

Yep, almost as easy as the clutch switch. Once again chase the wires from the switch to where they reach a plug up under the seat. Cut the wires on the SWITCH side of the plug leaving a few inches of wire. Connect the wires together, using your preferred technique, (I soldered and shrink tubed them). Throw away the switch and your done.
jessepitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:23 PM   #74271
neo1piv014
ADV in training
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 619
It looks exactly like the picture you got there. I just figured that was a part for different bikes or something. If it'll hold everything in place until my next PC gets here this week, then I'll go that route. I remember the front sprocket had one side that was raised a bit, and on the stock one, that side was facing towards the bike. Since the new sprocket has that same raised edge, I just put it on facing the same way as the stock one.

I can't wait to get my bike fired up again. I went ahead and put the TM40 on there while she was out of commission. Of course, during that process I noticed that both the carb boot clamps were pretty stripped and a little rusty, so a quick stop by the local auto parts store landed me a few generic hose clamps that use a size 8 socket head instead of a phillips. One of these days, I'm going to replace every single phillips head screw in my life with allen head bolts or socket bolts, but until then, I'll deal with the stripped screws.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ER70S-2 View Post
But I'm not tired.

Does it look like this?



It goes in the groove the stock retainer is in. I use channel lock type pliers, try to pull it straight in, it will try to flop as you apply pressure. Don't freak out, the sprocket is free to slide in and out on the spline, the chain locates it close enough (and is why I don't like them). You'll be good until you can get new bolts, some guys use them 100% of the time, like TUCKER.

OCD alert: To me, there is an inside and an outside. These are stamped out of a steel plate, if you look at the pic, the edges are slightly rounded. On the back, the edges will be much sharper. In this application any force applied to the clip will be from the sprocket side. So..........I put the clip on 'sharp' edge away from the bike, it's marginally less likely to be dislodged toward the sharp edge.

Regular washers are also stamped. So if I'm using them against plastic, like a number plate, I put the rounded edge toward the plastic, usually against aluminum too.

Ok, back to work:



Nothing wrong with learning. I can't teach my retirement buddy that the sun comes up in the east.

My commute would include south Texas.

Edit:
Here's another example of round edge toward the plastic. I used the washer for more surface area against the plastic and didn't want the washer cutting a stress crack in the plastic. (the washer under the hex bolt on the carb cover)
__________________
_________________________
Ride videos
'01 DR650
"The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks."
neo1piv014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:48 PM   #74272
Falcon86
I just work here.
 
Falcon86's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA/Slaty Fork, WV
Oddometer: 1,630
Any DR guru's with electrical advice?

I'm looking to buy a DR and came upon a good deal on Craigslist, bit seller said in the ad that the bike has an electrical problem. I emailed him and asked for details and this was the response.

"I had the bike looked at by a local shop and they diagnosed an original electrical issue as a post stator coil that had went bad. The part was replaced by the shop, and the bike began to run as it did before it went into the shop. However, down the line, the bike seemed to lose power but could restart if the bike cut out. I checked the battery and it seemes to have gone bad. So i'm unsure of the current electrical issue. It could be just the battery, but I have not bought a new one to find out. With a good mechanic and knowledge of electrical issues....coils, stators, wiring, and batteries. This may be a steal. At worst case senario the bike has very good parts. Mostly everything is OEM."

Any advice or ideas? Thank you!
Falcon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:03 PM   #74273
TUCKERS
the famous james
 
TUCKERS's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Villa Maria Sanitarium, Claremont, CA.
Oddometer: 11,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by 805gregg View Post
Jeff at Procycle recommends useing the retainer and bolts, read DRRiders

Good info. Sheet, now I have to switch back to the plate and bolts.

Thanks for setting me straight on this.

Sorry for the mis-information, I was mis-informed myself and passed it on.

I JUST put a 16T and circlip on one of our DR's. I guess I'll put the plate and bolts back on!

Mea culp., Mea culpa. Mea culpa.
__________________
James and Colleen Tucker.
Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
DMV work/insurance/registration/titles/address use/room rental/motorbike&vehicle buying/travelers help/problems solved
TUCKERS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:15 PM   #74274
SoPaRider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: South Central PA/Michaux State Forest/Lincoln Hwy.
Oddometer: 270
YnotJP? or anyone else provide a link to Stu's Ride Report?

Thanks

Jeff

'09 DR650SE
__________________
P.M. me for copies of my 15 Michaux State Forest Dual Sport Routes; check the Trip Planning/Tent Space Sign-Up Thread/Page 33/Post #492/8-2011 for info on our "Motorcyclist Manor"; IT'S FREE!.
48 states, D.C., 5 provinces and Bermuda down; the rest of the world to go!
SoPaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 01:05 AM   #74275
NordieBoy
Armature speller
 
NordieBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kiwiland
Oddometer: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjcarving View Post
Is it me, or is that sprocket on backwards? If not, mine is... I was always sure that it was flat side out.
Flat side out unless running a 520 chain setup and the sprocket retainer.

The difference in chain alignment is about the same as the shoulder thickness.
NordieBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 02:58 AM   #74276
Born-to-ride
GSXR!!!
 
Born-to-ride's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 64
Does anyone have Ricor intiminators fitted to teir DR shocks?? Thinking of buying some from Procycle but not sure if it will make any differance. Thinking of running it with stainless steel braid house. Any advice??
Born-to-ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 03:17 AM   #74277
rogor
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Born-to-ride View Post
Does anyone have Ricor intiminators fitted to teir DR shocks?? Thinking of buying some from Procycle but not sure if it will make any differance. Thinking of running it with stainless steel braid house. Any advice??

I have had them fitted for about 5,000km. Huge improvement over stock and simple to put in. Haven't ridden any other options so sure if it is worth spending more for Race-Tech emulators or to have suspension set up professionally though.???

I'm happy with the Intiminators :)
rogor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:38 AM   #74278
Carl Childers
Ghost in the Machine
 
Carl Childers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: Northern New Mexico
Oddometer: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Born-to-ride View Post
Does anyone have Ricor intiminators fitted to teir DR shocks?? Thinking of buying some from Procycle but not sure if it will make any differance. Thinking of running it with stainless steel braid house. Any advice??
I put a set of intiminators in my forks,stock springs and recommended 5 wt. oil and it made a huge difference......night and day! I run my bike hard off road and now it is supple in the rough stuff but not harsh my average speed in the gnarly stuff has picked up considerably since I did the change over.

To me braided brake lines make more sense on a sport bike or a super moto, I don't feel the need for them on my dirt mostly DR where a big hand full of front brake is not the best soloution.
__________________
New Mexico, not really new, not really Mexico.
Carl Childers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:53 AM   #74279
neo1piv014
ADV in training
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Oddometer: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordieBoy View Post
Flat side out unless running a 520 chain setup and the sprocket retainer.

The difference in chain alignment is about the same as the shoulder thickness.
Good to know. So it's still flat side out if you're running the clip on it?
__________________
_________________________
Ride videos
'01 DR650
"The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks."
neo1piv014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:14 AM   #74280
barko1
barko1
 
barko1's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Las Cruces, NM or thereabouts
Oddometer: 3,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Born-to-ride View Post
Thinking of running it with stainless steel braid house. Any advice??
I have put stainless hoses on a few different bikes and for me adding it to the DR was most noticeable. Perhaps (probably) my old hose was dead (98). Ge good modulation dirt or street and street is really where it makes a difference.
__________________
DR650, 98 Bimota SB6R, Kawasaki 14, 67 X-6 Scrambler (apart), SL350K1 (apart), 77 Goldwing 1000, Triumph Thunderbird Sport, Triumph Daytona Super III, DR650, MZ Skorpian Sport Cup, 71 Triumph Daytona 500, KDX220
barko1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014