User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-09-2006, 12:49 PM   #1
llbaker OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 10
How do I lower DRZ400S seat height

I'm new to the DRZ and need some help. I like the bike but have a problem with the seat height. With a 30 inch (76 cm) inseam and a seat height of 37 inches (94 cm) I find that I am on my tip-toes all the time. I would like to get the seat height down to 32 inches or so (81cm). I am use to riding larger touring bikes like the Honda Gold Wing and like having good footing. I would like some advice on how to drastically lower the DRZ’s seat height. I have heard it might help to replace the tank and seat. Any ideas if this is a viable option and what brand of tank and seat would work. Is there anything else that can be done without spending a fortune to lower seat height (modifying suspension, etc.)? Your thoughts would be appreciated.
llbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 12:51 PM   #2
Mr.Grumpy
Banned

Oddometer: 2,439
did you buy the bike yet?
No, consider the SM version. It's a good deal lower than the dirt version, has better suspension components and comes in the black color that every one seems o want to change thier DRZs to any way. The only down side is that you'd need another front wheel, or set of wheels if you wanted to swap out dirt/street without changing a tire.
Mr.Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 12:56 PM   #3
llbaker OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 10
Yep, bought the bike about a year ago but have only put about 1000 miles on it. Dont feel comfortable on it. If I cant lower the seat height to 32-34 inches I will most likely sell it.
llbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 01:01 PM   #4
ekaphoto
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 765