ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2008, 06:29 PM   #61
soundasleeprecording
genuine pleather seating
 
soundasleeprecording's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: dallas, texas, EARTH (mostly)
Oddometer: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr20ve
One question I have is where can I find a center stand for it?

Don't think you can put a ctr stand on it - too low. You'd have to get the 640 Adventure ctr stand and shorten it. Plus, you can't run both the sidestand & the ctr stand on an LC4 frame..
__________________
Ahhh, the internet, where all things go to die.

R1200ST and some expensive bicycles.
soundasleeprecording is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:14 PM   #62
lvdukerider
Las Vegas Nevada
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Oddometer: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundasleeprecording
Don't think you can put a ctr stand on it - too low. You'd have to get the 640 Adventure ctr stand and shorten it. Plus, you can't run both the sidestand & the ctr stand on an LC4 frame..
I have the factory (short) centerstand on my 2000 Duke II, I ordered it from my dealer several years ago along with the two springs, bail, and rubber bumper, I think it was intended for the origional Duke as it came painted gray and is the perfect hight. Instalation required me to remove the stock sidestand which uses the same mounting points, so I purchaced a SWmotech sidestand (which I did have to shorten) which is designed to work with the centerstand through a special mounting bolt and bracket. I hope KTM still offers the centerstand and related parts for you as its the best non performance modification ive done to my Duke II, came in real handy when I put on my Pirelli rossos last friday.
lvdukerider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:31 AM   #63
Z1K
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Z1K's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Oddometer: 213
My '97 Duke

9K on the clock. It came with the FCR41 and FMF.
Do I need to check the stator on a -97?
Z1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:39 AM   #64
Z1K
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Z1K's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Oddometer: 213
Oops, pic too big. Another try:
Attached Images
 
Z1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 06:06 PM   #65
boylit
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Oddometer: 32
my duke









with little sister

boylit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:27 PM   #66
Donkey Hotey
De Jo Momma
 
Donkey Hotey's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: 20 Mule Team Trail (Palmdale, Ca)
Oddometer: 10,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z1K
9K on the clock. It came with the FCR41 and FMF.
Do I need to check the stator on a -97?
I'd check it. Believe me, you don't want it self-destructing.

This is the thread:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=146968

In fact, I need to find the Husqvarna thread I saw last week and warn them. They have that same stupid rotor in the current Huskys.
__________________
Greg
Donkey Hotey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 12:31 PM   #67
YZFBogie
Two Wheels Forever!
 
YZFBogie's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Marion ,IA
Oddometer: 449
Great bikes guys!! Wish I could convince the wife that getting a new R1, her abike and a tard is a GREAT idea!!

Bet those Akra's sound sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!
__________________
2014 Yamaha FJR1300ES

"When life throws you a curve...............................Slide forward, shift your weight to the inside peg, press the inside grip, set your apex and just roll on that throttle!"
YZFBogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 01:09 PM   #68
Tome
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Tome's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: London, UK
Oddometer: 319
I'm looking at getting one, I work for a KTM dealership so I get a nice price on bikes It's an 02 White one with Akras in great condition. I'm not to worried about it's abilities in one area and lack in others, it would be used as an all round bike but mostly commuting and fun. Is there anything major I should look out for? The salesman and mechanic would let me know anyway, but it's nice to know lol.

I was wondering what the best tank bag is to use, I noticed some pics with the KTM one and also wondered what it's attached to and how well it works on a Duke.

As for lime green, we have at least 3 or 4 complete sets of plastics

Tome screwed with this post 09-23-2008 at 02:08 PM
Tome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 05:40 PM   #69
voidjava
n00b warrior
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 3
voidjava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 04:01 AM   #70
ApexMolester
george of the jungle
 
ApexMolester's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: monterey ca
Oddometer: 135
Attached Images
 
ApexMolester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:47 AM   #71
xj9140
Adventurer
 
xj9140's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Northern CA
Oddometer: 40
'96

Heres mine:
xj9140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 02:26 PM   #72
A.J.
Gnarly Adventurer
 
A.J.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Plainville,CT
Oddometer: 445
My 01, Currently in pieces doing a complete motor rebuild at 10k miles due to previous owner's lack of maintenence.The oil pump gears were in the bottom of the case along with 4 of the main tranny bearings and one of the cam lobes was round! But it still ran!
__________________
01 Tl1000R, 01 Duke, 04 450exc plated, 05 xr50, 06 gsxr 600, 08 Ktm 990
A.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 11:32 PM   #73
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,381
Replacement petcock?
Finally going to get my '96 Duke back on the road .
I fixed this a few years ago.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...9&postcount=18
Got it out & running twice since then but didn't use it as it didn't seem to be running quite right the first time & wouldn't stay running the second time. Blew it off for other things both times.
Just got it going again & want to keep it going.

Anyway, I know that the vacuum operated petcock had failed long ago when it filled the engine with gas overnight. I want to replace it with a full manual petcock. Anyone know what to use? Do the KTM dirt bikes run an Acerbis tank & use a manual petcock?
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:44 AM   #74
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,381
OK, no replies. I did find out that you can no longer buy a stock petcock for a '96 KTM Duke. Also found out that the dirt bikes do not have a reserve. Never quite determined if there was a replacement KTM part that would fit. And if there is they want like 70-80 bucks for them.
Them euro-peens are sure proud of their stuff.

Anyway, I solved the positive fuel shut off problem with this. All of $5.69.





On to my next questions....
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:53 AM   #75
Tom S
Can I ride it?
 
Tom S's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Oddometer: 4,381
Any of you guys still here? And do still have a Duke?

If you do, anyone have the Dellorto SD 40 carb? I am having trouble finding more info on this carb as pertains to the 620 Duke. The manual ain't much help either.
Now that I have the long time living room ornament Duke out in the garage & running it just doesn't seem to run quite right.
I thought it ran better than this back when I swapped the Dellorto on to it & got rid of that untunable, stalling Quicksilver. But that was years ago & I did not ride it for long after the carb swap. It's stalling again too.

Anyway, do any of you know what your jet sizes are on the Dellorto?
This is two pix put together. The carb shown is somewhat different than the one now on the bike, but it's the closest I could find. I just wanted to be sure of the jet locations . Below the carb is info from the Duke manual with my notes tacked on showing what I think are the jets numbered in the carb pic.



If the main jet is the one dead center on the bottom, #5, mine says it's a 155, & not a 170. I ordered that carb from the dealer & it should be the right jetting. Now I don't know.

This is confusing as the original I think, 5800 mile plug that I pulled was quite sooty on the body of the plug. Electrode dark brown. If anything I think it would be lean with a 155 jet.
Pulled the carb again & it's spotless inside. Pulled the jets, except for the needle jet. All looks good. Choke is working right.
Put in a new plug, NGK DR8EA as per stock. Did a short run & a clean plug chop. Soot on the threaded body of the plug & the electrode & the insulator look white.

Under hard acceleration it seems to slightly cut out or hesitate a bit off & on.I might be wrong but it seems like if I roll off the throttle a bit it picks up at times.
I forget what that might mean. Lean I think.

Anybody got some clues for me? Your Dellorto jet sizes?
Tom S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014