User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-08-2006, 11:36 AM   #1
GregX999 OP
Nomad

Oddometer: 139
DR650 vs. DRZ400S

Okay, so I'm 95% sure that I'll be getting one of these two bikes. I currently have a 1200GS, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to be selling it. I want a bike that's more nimble on the dirt roads and trails here in Colorado. (I'm 5'8", 30" inseam, 155lbs and find the GS is just TOO big and heavy for me to feel like I'm having any fun while off-road - also, I'm an off-road newbie). I'm also pretty sure I'd end up getting a pure street bike of some kind to do the longer on-road-only tours.

The typical ride I can envision wanting to do with one of these bikes would entail anywhere from 20 minutes to 2 hours on pavement getting to and coming back from spending anywhere from 1 to 6 hours riding dirt. However, I can also see myself occasionally doing 2-3 day camping trips with mixed road and dirt and even, a couple times a year, a week or two long mixed road and dirt tour off in some other state or even into Mexico.

It seems like the DR650 would be better for the longer trips, but I'm a bit worried about giving up too much of the nimbleness I'm seeking vs. the DRZ. I think I'm leaning towards the DRZ, but wonder if anyone has any experience that they could share that's similar to what I want to do.

(BTW: I want the DRZ-S as opposed the the E because of the rear-subframe and the ability to run regular gas)

Thanks,
Greg

"Cheer up!" they said. "It could be worse."
So I did. And it was.
GregX999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 11:48 AM   #2
cam_roger
Adventurer

Oddometer: 91
cosmic question