Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-17-2006, 12:08 PM   #1
Cumbacheech OP
XRated

Oddometer: 823
xr650l modifications

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Adventure Rider. I have a stock 2001 XR650L. I hade been riding my bike for the last couple of years and I am now starting to get the itch to start modifying. I have added a windshield removed the passenger pegs. I have seen that a lot of people have made the following mods
Smog-off kit
Air snorkel removed, replaced air filter with a Uni-air filter
Jetting

Everyone says that these mods will improve performance, but I want to know what the advantages / disadvantages are. I saw that most of the people who have done these mods have also changed their exhaust. I don’t plan on changing the exhaust (not yet atleast!! )

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks!!
Cumbacheech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2006, 10:10 PM   #2
ere109
Ride On!

Oddometer: 2,912
If you're interested, I have a brand new K&N Air Filter that I've got posted in the Flea Market section. I bought it for my '02 XR650L before I sold the bike, then gave the guy the wrong filter when he took it. $40 shipped.
ere109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 10:21 AM   #3
Slick_Rick_xr650L
Adventurer

Oddometer: 12
You should check out yahoo groups... XRLUG....they have a lot of info on this bike there. I learned to modify my xr650l here and it has never run better. You can do the mods you have described without doing the pipe. Dyno jet makes an excellent kit that comes with two jets one for bikes with a pipe and one without. It also comes with a new needle and slide spring. I also learned on yahoo how to modify the carb by drilling out the slide. I was a little nevrous doing this but everything worked out great. I.ve also changed pipes to a supertrapp IDS2. My bike makes more power then I ever imagined posible when I bought it new.
Slick_Rick_xr650L is offline   Reply With Quote