ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2006, 08:15 AM   #1
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
HIDs on a 640 thread??

Where is the thread where the guy (sorry.....can't remember who posted) bought the HIDs on e bay and installed them in his 640. I'm thinking that I need these and can't seem to find it.

While we are at it.........is this the best set-up we have seen so far??

Thanks,
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 01:24 PM   #2
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,134
Hey Gordy,

I guess that lazy bugger needs to update the index with this new stuff... here is the thread I believe you are looking for: dirty sanchez is the bloke with the info:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=176847

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=182739
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 01:59 PM   #3
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
Thanks Meat! That's the one I was looking for!
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 08:32 PM   #4
BDR1
YAMAHA
 
BDR1's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: GA
Oddometer: 397
I just did (today) dual HID projectors on my XR650..........I'll get pics tomorrow.........
BDR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 07:59 AM   #5
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,689
Gordy or anyone else intrested, drop me a PM and I'll fax over the wiring diagram I worked up for the electrical upgrades (Centech, HID's, Grips, Headlight Toggle, Relays, Gerbing, and blender for frozen roadside adult beverages) to you.

To offer a little update on the power usage after running my bike through the farkle bin, yesterday's 170 mile ride went without a hitch, dead battery, or blown fuse or speeding tickets.

For the majority of the day yesterday, I had the grips on low, the HID Low burning, as well as the Gerbing Jacket. I never had an issue.

Guess pulling a 11.1A load turning the engine from idle to 5500 revs injects enough juice into the battery.

Am feeling more comfortable with my electrical calculations now after yesterday's chilly walkabout.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.

dirty_sanchez screwed with this post 12-11-2006 at 08:09 AM
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 08:30 AM   #6
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
Thanks a lot, Dirty! PM sent.

I love the help on this site!
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 08:40 AM   #7
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez
Gordy or anyone else intrested, drop me a PM and I'll fax over the wiring diagram I worked up for the electrical upgrades (Centech, HID's, Grips, Headlight Toggle, Relays, Gerbing, and blender for frozen roadside adult beverages) to you.

...
I will drop you a PM but I will also ask if you are going to write up a How-To thread on these mods, er, are ya?

Also, did you ever get a reply on the impact of reducing load on the regulator/rectifier (from the other thread) from your mentor?
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 11:05 AM   #8
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,689
Gordy-

Check your fax.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 11:36 AM   #9
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
Got it. Thanks!!!

After looking it over....................
I may have to take a hit of acid to get it all figured out.


Another cool mod a guy here (empedrado) has done is to put a button switch on the left switchgear to scroll through the modes on the trip computer. No more taking your hand off of the bars to get into the various modes.

More stuff to do.
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 11:46 AM   #10
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
I'm ordering the HID kits from work. Which bulbs do we have?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/HID-X...56464482QQrdZ1
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 12:31 PM   #11
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,689
H-1 bulbs are on our bikes.

Glad you got the fax.

I'd go with the 4,000 to 5,000k color temperature bulbs. I think they have a 4,300k bulb-would be a good choice.

You'll have to drill out the removable plastic cover that mounts with a little 1/4 turn on the rear of each lamp housing- I think I used a 3/4" wood bit, then nest the rubber grommet that surrounds the HID wires into this hole. The grommet keeps the water out. You'll know what I'm talking about once you open the box.

I think I have the 6,000k bulbs, which are a skosh more blue-er than the lower color temperature bulbs which might not draw as much attention from the Man.

I've ridden past the Man numerous times at this point and have not gotten a second look.

The 4 to 5k bulbs also give off more lumens than a 6k bulb, and this is exactly what we want. I'd do a little more digging on the lumen output for various color temperatures before you pull the trigger on your rig.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 12:45 PM   #12
meat popsicle
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,134
dirty,

once you have the HID setup can't you change out the 6000K bulb for the 4300K? I don't know how much variety there is in HID bulbs - are they standardized like the halogens (H1, H3, etc.)? Here is an eBay auction for some 4300K bulbs:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2-PHI...QQcmdZViewItem
Philips should be ok blubs eh?

Came across this info from Sylvania on HID installs:
http://www.sylvania.com/ConsumerProd...structions.htm
might help someone out; I will review later.
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 01:02 PM   #13
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,689
A bulb is a bulb so long as they're both H1's.

The only potential issue I see is that the leads might be different from a no-name HID rig to a Hella, Phillips, or Osram. Or in the case of the Fleabay link you posted..the bulbs have no leads at all. I guess they rely on some sort of socket like the old school H4's. Now this may pose a problem.

Can't see there would be a problem replacing a burned out 6000k bulb with a 4300k bulb..as long as the leads are the same.

But even if they're not, most of us are handy with a soldering iron and some shrink tubing.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 08:38 PM   #14
Gordy OP
Team Listo
 
Gordy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: NM
Oddometer: 21,483
Geeze, what a day. I just got around to ordering the 4300K bulbs. Will let you guys know how it goes. Thanks Dirty!!!
Gordy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 05:54 AM   #15
Speaker
What's an estart?
 
Speaker's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: N. AZ
Oddometer: 888
question: can i get the H1 kit and pop it in my BD twin headlight setup and turn their $450 unit into their $1000 unit?
Speaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014