ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies – It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2006, 01:49 PM   #16
Hakatan
quality > quantity
 
Hakatan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Perusing my Colorado Benchmark...
Oddometer: 1,020
In case any of you GoogleEarth-deficient folks wanted to see what all the talk is about....here are a couple of screenshots of Mac_'s work.

Colors denote paved vs. unpaved passes:




And zoomed in a bit:




Nice job, Mac_
__________________
"Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men's blood." -- Daniel Burnham
Hakatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 01:51 PM   #17
Bronco638
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,740
Really nice Matt, thanks!!
__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 03:32 PM   #18
Hair
Outside the boxer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Northern New Mexico
Oddometer: 13,716
FYI

www.traildamage.com has a lot of these trails already marked.

Here is the link to tincup.
http://www.traildamage.com/trails/index.php?id=120
__________________
If you ask me, I'd say that two wheels is all you need.
Hair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 03:53 PM   #19
iridefar
Gnarly Adventurer
 
iridefar's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Oddometer: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac_
RC,

Just because you are unable to do it, doesn't mean it's not there. It's working for lots of other people.

The kml file is there. If you have Google Earth installed, save the kml file to your local computer, then open the kml file with Google Earth.

The kml file contains a network link to the kmz file. The kmz is a database file which I will continue to update with additional locations.

It works.
Matt,
You do not understand what Bill is saying. The data is not in the .klm file. It is just an XML “pointer” to the actual data. Because the .gpx is also an XML file, he was thinking that it would be able to use the same pointer and go get the data from the file location.

Sounds to me like he was trying to help out by making the data available to a Garmin file.
__________________
Steve A

IBA #16681
2005 R1200GS
2005 F650GS
2005 GL1800 Gold Wing
1998 ST1100
2002 KLX300R
www.iridefar.com
iridefar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 04:44 PM   #20
Mac OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridefar
Matt,
You do not understand what Bill is saying. The data is not in the .klm file. It is just an XML “pointer” to the actual data. Because the .gpx is also an XML file, he was thinking that it would be able to use the same pointer and go get the data from the file location.

Sounds to me like he was trying to help out by making the data available to a Garmin file.
There are two ways to save pointer lists. As kml and as kmz. A kmz file is a binary kml file. Using the binary kmz format saves bandwidth. For example, my 36kb kmz file would be 546kb if saved in kml format.

I wrote one kml file which just contains one network link, pointing to a kmz file. Sharing just the kml file allows me to continue to update the linked kmz file.

Once I have completed a 99% solution here, I will convert the same list to a GPX file, then add it to this thread.
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 04:48 PM   #21
Mac OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,121
Updated

I've just added 50 additional passes, under a new category (4WD).

Reopen the kml file you already have, or restart Google Earth, and you'll see all the updated passes. (This is why I used a linked kml).
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:11 AM   #22
Mac OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lomax
Very COOL! I have loaded it into my Google Earth and now have no excuse to Really get lost. Thanks for all the hard work. I wish I knew a way to download it to my GPS.

Cheers.
Marc
Here you go. I've created the Garmin version. Download Garmin GDB file.

I've got 196 total passes mapped now, on both the Google Earth version and the Garmin version.
Note the new, lighter color are the 4WD / Dual Sport type passes.

I still have one more set of passes to add - the rough trail types.

Long-term updates to these files will be tracked on my CO Passes page.

And here is a screen-capture (good idea Hakatan):
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC

Mac screwed with this post 12-28-2006 at 01:24 AM Reason: added screen capture
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 08:31 AM   #23
Red_Chili
Fresh Ground
 
Red_Chili's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Evergreen, CO
Oddometer: 2,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac_
There are two ways to save pointer lists. As kml and as kmz. A kmz file is a binary kml file. Using the binary kmz format saves bandwidth. For example, my 36kb kmz file would be 546kb if saved in kml format.

I wrote one kml file which just contains one network link, pointing to a kmz file. Sharing just the kml file allows me to continue to update the linked kmz file.

Once I have completed a 99% solution here, I will convert the same list to a GPX file, then add it to this thread.
Right. Not at issue. From a performance standpoint it makes perfect sense. Not criticizing in the least.

I was trying to hack it so it might possibly be reformatted to make Garmin happy.

As a control systems integrator I used to hack PLC logic, merge with PC board design exports (wire lists), and generate thousands of lines of logic. Saved us some major carpal tunnel.

XML is a fancy structured version of that- but I got stopped on the binary.

But you did the conversion! thanks.
__________________
-Bill
'06 Buell Ulysses 'Odysseus' a.k.a. 'Ody', '00 XR650R plated & farkled- 'Nuclear Thunderpig'
'06 PS1000LE Paul Smart. One cannot do without a Duc or two.
'97 KDX 220 for woods work
SMUGMUG COUPON RSKbiM6oytjtw, save some money and have a great online picture gallery!

Red_Chili screwed with this post 12-28-2006 at 08:36 AM
Red_Chili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 09:02 AM   #24
Mac OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili
Right. Not at issue. From a performance standpoint it makes perfect sense. Not criticizing in the least.

I was trying to hack it so it might possibly be reformatted to make Garmin happy.

As a control systems integrator I used to hack PLC logic, merge with PC board design exports (wire lists), and generate thousands of lines of logic. Saved us some major carpal tunnel.

XML is a fancy structured version of that- but I got stopped on the binary.

But you did the conversion! thanks.
The conversion was a pure hack. I wish there was something to convert straight from one format (kmz/kml) to or from the other (gdb/gpx). There may be, but I didn't find one. The conversion was done via manual scripting and a little fine tuning.
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:48 AM   #25
ChrisC
Amal sex?
 
ChrisC's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Prescott, Arizona USA Earth
Oddometer: 6,312
You guys are making my brain hurt (nice work though)...

__________________
Chris
1974 Bultaco Sherpa T 350
1943 BSA M20WD
ChrisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 06:17 AM   #26
Hondo
What if its a Samsquamch?
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Oddometer: 9,390
This should be stickied-
__________________
KLRWorld.com Forums - Nighthawk Forums

"Life's an adventure, and I refuse to live a boring one."

Hondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 11:20 AM   #27
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,548
Hi Mac, just wanted to say great job

One question, well maybe 2. My old computer, GE loaded/showed gpx. tracks, new computer with new GE download, NADA? GE says Beta? will this get fixed? I like showing my friends and family where Ive been.

Thanks, I didn't see what I was looking for in GPS, so gimmee your best shot.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 04:42 PM   #28
Bob
Formerly H20Pumper
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Corral de Tierra CA, Ketchum ID
Oddometer: 2,548
Let me try this again. On my old computer with an old version of Free Google Earth, I was able to open my GPX. files and see the track on GE.
I got a new computer and loaded the NEW version 4.?? Free Beta Google Earth. Now when I try to open a GPX file, something flashes quickly on the screen, but the file never opens.
I have opened the Google Earth files kml. kmz. using the new Beta Version, using the same process that I used with the old program and also the same process that Philspace uses in the post "Opening GPX files" in the Layin down tracks. section.
Also another reply in that section said I might need the next up Pay Google Earth.

Has anybody else had this problem? Can I find (do i need) an old version of Google Earth? Can I do anything to see my tracks?
Thanks
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:51 PM   #29
ridenfly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: SW CO
Oddometer: 103
Great job, thanks for the effort.
ridenfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:28 PM   #30
Mac OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Mac's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Oddometer: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by h20pumper
Let me try this again. On my old computer with an old version of Free Google Earth, I was able to open my GPX. files and see the track on GE.
I got a new computer and loaded the NEW version 4.?? Free Beta Google Earth. Now when I try to open a GPX file, something flashes quickly on the screen, but the file never opens.
I have opened the Google Earth files kml. kmz. using the new Beta Version, using the same process that I used with the old program and also the same process that Philspace uses in the post "Opening GPX files" in the Layin down tracks. section.
Also another reply in that section said I might need the next up Pay Google Earth.

Has anybody else had this problem? Can I find (do i need) an old version of Google Earth? Can I do anything to see my tracks?
Thanks
I exported an old track from MapSource 6.10.2 as a GPX file.


I opened Google Earth 4.0 (beta) - the free version.


Then, I opened the GPX file with Google Earth and the track showed up fine.


I'm not sure what your particular issue is, sorry I couldn't be more help...
__________________
Mac
R1200GSA | 690E | 300XCW
RMAR President - Website FaceBook
Member: NRA, AMA, TPA, MSF RC
Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014