Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-09-2007, 04:43 PM   #1
zed88 OP
n00bilicious

Oddometer: 1,297
Performed Valve adjustment dl650 w/many pictures (warning 56k)

Sorry mods if this belongs in gears please move it.

I performed a valve adjustment this weekend on my dl650k5 @ 14500 miles. I also flushed the coolant and synced the throttle bodies, and cleaned up some electrical jobs. It took me about 15 hours to do over 2 days including a trip to get shims. I've never done this before and did quite a bit of reading and took my time to double and triple check everything. Its not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be. It required patience, planning and calm. I've heard lots of people talking about doing it but I'm relatively new to bikes and wanted to see some pictures of the actual process to see what everything was as this has helped me lots in the past with other procedures. Frankly being young I don't have the chance to get into engines the way many older folks do as its just not done nowadays. I hope this helps somebody else out there.

Through the whole process I carefully laid out parts, took notes, and labeled everything. The dealers in the area wanted a ton of money to do it, and frankly I wanted to know that it was actually done and not just glanced at. Plus being in college I don't have a few hundred dollars to get the procedure done.

Carefully laid out parts and my beverage of choice

I removed the radiator. If done properly only 1 connector needs to come undone. I did splash some coolant around.

Front valve cover off and being checked

Pictures of rear valve with covers taken off.

Checking the rear clearances

Taking off a "journal"

Rear cover with "journals" (things on top) taken off

Rear cam's and chain with guard removed

Another angle

Marking on cam gears

What it looks like inside the timing cover with stuff showing

*thread continued below*