ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2007, 09:50 PM   #1
MymoJoe OP
Ride Ride Ride
 
MymoJoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Fernvale QLD not close enough to the desert
Oddometer: 2,739
KTM Trip Master Switch

I have a KTM 950 and am looking for a cheap solution for turning my KTM speedo (Trip 2), into an ICO. The KTM Trip Master switch is $150 for a handle bar mounted switch, I just figured some one may have come up with a low cost solution.

Any help?
__________________
Simpson Trip 2008

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showt...33#post7397233




Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO HOO - what a ride!"
MymoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 09:59 PM   #2
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
the price for the switch here in the states is $48.99 - not sure what that converts to in ozzi dollars, but that seems pretty reasonable to me
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:12 PM   #3
Mudguts
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 1,991
there about $130 if you get them from a dealer over here . So order one from the states and it will still work out cheaper .
Mudguts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 07:54 AM   #4
crwmac
Gnarly Adventurer
 
crwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Oddometer: 197
Ico?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mortaygo
I have a KTM 950 and am looking for a cheap solution for turning my KTM speedo (Trip 2), into an ICO. The KTM Trip Master switch is $150 for a handle bar mounted switch, I just figured some one may have come up with a low cost solution.

Any help?
Please excused the ignorance but what is an ICO?

Mac
__________________
05.5 KTM 950 S

"Plans are deliberately indefinite, more to travel than to arrive anywhere." Robert M. Pirsig
crwmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 01:17 PM   #5
robdogg
turnip truck driver
 
robdogg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: wren-tonne, WA
Oddometer: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by crwmac
Please excused the ignorance but what is an ICO?

Mac
it's the name of the company that makes the digital speedo on KTM's (and other bikes)

Here's a link to a distributor here in the USA for the tripmaster switch

http://www.ktm-parts.com/Merchant2/m...y_Code=KTMHESP

not exactly sure that is the correct part, but it should be.. they have a very similar one for the smaller dirt bikes; and not sure the difference (I read it once, but forgot)
__________________
"ride hard, live righteously"
John 5:24

CMA Fast Lane Forums
robdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 07:28 PM   #6
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by crwmac
Please excused the ignorance but what is an ICO?

Mac
With the tripmaster switch, you can increment and decrement trip2 in the odometer. Useful when following roadbooks, especially after you get lost and then back on track again. You can adjust the odo to the mileage you want and get back on track again.

Dave
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 05:07 AM   #7
jaydee1445
Footpeg Crash Tester
 
jaydee1445's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: high sided into the orange grove
Oddometer: 3,846
I played around with this a few months ago.
My first attempt was to get a momentary pushbutton switch from radio shack, drill a hole in switch housing, and hook up to brown and brown yellow wires in switchmaster connnector AN/4.

The conector is tie wraped under inst. cluster. I belive it is rectancluar with four wires,brown, br/yellow, yellow, gr/red.
Brown wire is ground.
Brown/yellow cycles functions.
yellow and gr/red increments trip 2 up and down.
I found a small switch @ radio shack PN 275-1571 that looks like you could get all three to fit.
So far I only have the one switch installed to cycle functions. I haven't tried to fill the hole I made for big switch and install the small ones.
I'll probally just mount 2 more switches in dash next to spedo.

jaydee1445 screwed with this post 01-18-2007 at 05:22 AM
jaydee1445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 01:40 PM   #8
crwmac
Gnarly Adventurer
 
crwmac's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Oddometer: 197
I did the exact same thing following the lead of a good 950 friend. I was trying to remember to take a picture and post it but you beat me to it. Like you, I only wanted the ability to cycle through functions without having to reach up to the cluster while riding.

Mac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydee1445
I played around with this a few months ago.
My first attempt was to get a momentary pushbutton switch from radio shack, drill a hole in switch housing, and hook up to brown and brown yellow wires in switchmaster connnector AN/4.

The conector is tie wraped under inst. cluster. I belive it is rectancluar with four wires,brown, br/yellow, yellow, gr/red.
Brown wire is ground.
Brown/yellow cycles functions.
yellow and gr/red increments trip 2 up and down.
I found a small switch @ radio shack PN 275-1571 that looks like you could get all three to fit.
So far I only have the one switch installed to cycle functions. I haven't tried to fill the hole I made for big switch and install the small ones.
I'll probally just mount 2 more switches in dash next to spedo.
__________________
05.5 KTM 950 S

"Plans are deliberately indefinite, more to travel than to arrive anywhere." Robert M. Pirsig
crwmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 02:47 PM   #9
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
I also use the ICO switch to cycle my KTM instrument, butt I use one of these for "serious" rally work. Has 4 resettable tripometers and calibrates with a CF to within a "gnat's ass" of true rally miles/km.

__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 03:30 AM   #10
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpmodem
I also use the ICO switch to cycle my KTM instrument,
I guess if you already have the ICO instrument, then it makes sense to use it on the KTM - but that sucker is $112 from TT!

I want to add one as well, and I think KTM's is still overpriced at $48, but it will be a clean install and plug and play. I thought about the DIY approach with RS switches, but didn't want to screw up the switch housing.

Dave
__________________


dunno.....

9Dave screwed with this post 01-19-2007 at 03:59 PM
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 07:30 AM   #11
uk_mouse
Aquatic adventurer
 
uk_mouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,423
If someone could post wiring details of the tripmaster switch, people could add their own switches to perform the same functions, like Jaydee has.

EDIT - MUST LEARN TO READ BEFORE POSTING

Sorry
uk_mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 10:18 PM   #12
Major
Major Catastrophe
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Newcastle
Oddometer: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydee1445
I played around with this a few months ago.
My first attempt was to get a momentary pushbutton switch from radio shack, drill a hole in switch housing, and hook up to brown and brown yellow wires in switchmaster connnector AN/4.

The conector is tie wraped under inst. cluster. I belive it is rectancluar with four wires,brown, br/yellow, yellow, gr/red.
Brown wire is ground.
Brown/yellow cycles functions.
yellow and gr/red increments trip 2 up and down.
I found a small switch @ radio shack PN 275-1571 that looks like you could get all three to fit.
So far I only have the one switch installed to cycle functions. I haven't tried to fill the hole I made for big switch and install the small ones.
I'll probally just mount 2 more switches in dash next to spedo.
Can you elaborate for me please. I have hooked up the switch that cycles the functions but what are the next 2 switches you talk about???

Cheers,

Grant
__________________
__________________________________________

"I like enjoying my anality" - R1150Gfun -Yerranderrie 2007.

Live for today, because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come......

On my way to wherever a 2litre cask will take me.......
Major is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 05:06 AM   #13
jaydee1445
Footpeg Crash Tester
 
jaydee1445's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: high sided into the orange grove
Oddometer: 3,846
It takes 3 switches to use all the ODO functions.
With ODO in trip 2 a monentary ground to yellow increments the ODO one direction, I forget which way. Gr/red goes the other way.
So if you miss a turn you can back off the mileage to match route chart.
jaydee1445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 08:21 AM   #14
jaydee1445
Footpeg Crash Tester
 
jaydee1445's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: high sided into the orange grove
Oddometer: 3,846
WTF looks like rally car shite.
jaydee1445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 09:24 AM   #15
cpmodem
Orange Caveman
 
cpmodem's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: masa yee yah tee 59 14' 9" N / 135 26' 42" W
Oddometer: 7,103
__________________

-cp

DISCLAIMER: All observations made in this post are mine and based solely on my own anecdotal experiences, and may contain large doses of facetiousness. YMMV, of course. You are "on your own", and I take no responsibility if someone tries anything in this post and gets into trouble with the law, damages their person or property, or goes blind. Take everything you read or hear "anywhere" butt especially on the Web with a large dose of salt.

cpmodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014