ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2007, 05:48 AM   #1
kejago OP
Kev. Haute Savoie, France
 
kejago's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: French / Swiss Alps
Oddometer: 1,175
Garmin 60csx on Super Enduro

Hello folks...

This GPS is on my short list. Does anyone who has a SE and one one of these gadgets lurk around here?

I have seen pics of my other consideration, the 276c on the SE, and it looks good and practicle. Well readable... out of the way. Looks like it does the job well.

Now for the 60csx: I am trying to judge if the unit is too small to use on the SE. Will the screen be legable, or do the vibrations make it useless?

I would really like to see a pic or 2 of one of these Garmins mounted on the SE. Any photos and feedback welcomed.

Thanks much!
__________________
KTM 950 Super Enduro R - Kejago's Travel Machine!

K: Kejago - That's me!
T: Travel - Go on a journey, go on a voyage, go from one place to another
M: Machine - Man-made device made up of interconnected parts that work together to perform a given task or function
kejago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 06:02 AM   #2
Super Enduro R
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Super Enduro R's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: London
Oddometer: 115
here you are

I have the Garmin 60CS mounted on my SE.

I've had the 60cs for about 3 years, and used to have it mounted on my exc520.

They are an excellent gps, and ideal for riding off road as well as on road.

One thing to watch out for is the batteries shaking loos, this was partially cured by packing the battery compartment, but the inly sure way (which is what I have done) is to hard wire it to the battery.


I am using the ram mount.

here's some piccies.




Super Enduro R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 10:08 AM   #3
JediBri
Glory to GOD
 
JediBri's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 501
Kev,

I had my 60csx mounted on my 950S. I used the Garmin bar-mount... it worked great. I'll also be using it on my Super Enduro and EXC.



Brian
__________________
currently rideless...
JediBri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 10:23 AM   #4
Reformed DucFlogger
Inventor Of The Wheel Mk2
 
Reformed DucFlogger's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Peoples Republic Of Canuckistan
Oddometer: 1,445
Have...

...Rino 530s (same body design and screen size as model your looking at) mounted on our 640s. the screen size is fine - if mounted on the bars vs. closer to the speedo. Larger is always better, but is very spendy.

If you can get a model that has the LiO battery pack - get it. The pack lasts for days of riding on 1 charge and doesn't shake loose like AAs will - requiring either packing the battery compartment or hardwiring it.

The stock RAM mount work fine - but watch for stress cracks. If you overtighten the machine screws holding the ball base plate to the GPS mount , the area around the mounting machine screws WILL crack. I usually tighten them modestly using nylocks or loctite then 'plaster' (for lack of a better word) the combined unit with black 300 MPH tape (maybe Gorilla tape?) that way if a crack does develop, the ball mount cannot part company with the gps mount.
__________________
"...who gives a rat fornication?"
Reformed DucFlogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 10:53 AM   #5
Jeepboy
Roost
 
Jeepboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Champaign, IL
Oddometer: 560
I tried mounting my 376c on my SE, but unless you make a custom mount it seems far too vunerable to crash damage. I use my 60c on the SE and mount it so its just above the bars. It has survived many crashes on the SE. If you don't really ride aggressive offroad then it probably would be ok mounted higher. Here is a pic of it mounted at the last DS ride I did.
__________________
"They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time, it works every time." Brian Fantana

My toys:
04 YZ250F
04 950 Adventure S--lost to fire
06 KLX 110
07 950 Super Enduro

http://www.katoom.smugmug.com/
$5 Smugmug coupon: FDURkYt1pFdQw
http://www.youtube.com/Katoom950
Jeepboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:47 PM   #6
TipOver
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TipOver's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Oddometer: 405
If

you are riding that SE as it should be you don't have time to look at the gps anyway. When in doubt, pull over.
TipOver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 01:49 PM   #7
Jeepboy
Roost
 
Jeepboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Champaign, IL
Oddometer: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by TipOver
you are riding that SE as it should be you don't have time to look at the gps anyway. When in doubt, pull over.
TipOver is right. I use mine for track logging and when I get lost...lol. But the SE begs to be ridden fast.
__________________
"They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time, it works every time." Brian Fantana

My toys:
04 YZ250F
04 950 Adventure S--lost to fire
06 KLX 110
07 950 Super Enduro

http://www.katoom.smugmug.com/
$5 Smugmug coupon: FDURkYt1pFdQw
http://www.youtube.com/Katoom950
Jeepboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 02:29 PM   #8
kejago OP
Kev. Haute Savoie, France
 
kejago's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: French / Swiss Alps
Oddometer: 1,175
Thanks chaps. Much appreciated!
__________________
KTM 950 Super Enduro R - Kejago's Travel Machine!

K: Kejago - That's me!
T: Travel - Go on a journey, go on a voyage, go from one place to another
M: Machine - Man-made device made up of interconnected parts that work together to perform a given task or function
kejago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 07:55 AM   #9
MookieBlaylock
Beastly Adventurer
 
MookieBlaylock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: IntheeaglewingpalaceoftheQueenChinee
Oddometer: 2,581
you can see the general idea in this pic-276/crossbar/touratech mount
i got a 60csx for the bicycle and it rocks,mybe even better sat reception BUT i much prefer the larger screen size for motorcycle use-never had a problem with damage and this is after wrecking the brush guards and handlebar clamp from multiple drops
MookieBlaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014