ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Australia
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2013, 05:24 AM   #13051
Drozit
Adventurer
 
Drozit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Yarra valley
Oddometer: 71
I have done it on two dr's with a long nose multi grips with a rug and obviously tank off.
You will be ok .
I do comfortable 550 km even on sand , never heard of any one doing 720 ..good on you
It must be the different carburettor .
Drozit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:59 AM   #13052
Sleepy John
Grumpy Adventurer
 
Sleepy John's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Bris Vegas, Australia
Oddometer: 3,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drozit View Post
I have done it on two dr's with a long nose multi grips with a rug and obviously tank off.
You will be ok .
I do comfortable 550 km even on sand , never heard of any one doing 720 ..good on you
It must be the different carburettor .
Just did the sums. Broken Hill to Cobar with a side trip out to White Cliffs and back, 651 k's. This was the leg where we learnt the trick of blowing into the breather tube. My boy thought $1.73 a litre was too pricy in Wilcanna.

110 kph posted speed. We may have been a few kph above this. The screen fitted to the DR makes quite a difference with fuel economy if you are travelling at speed.




SJ
__________________
Sleepy John
'10 R1200GSA Big Pig, '10 DR650SE Piglet
Don't shoot... It's only me!
Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.
Sleepy John is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 06:15 AM   #13053
gavo
Slacker
 
gavo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Gympie QLD
Oddometer: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy John View Post
Just did the sums. Broken Hill to Cobar with a side trip out to White Cliffs and back, 651 k's. This was the leg where we learnt the trick of blowing into the breather tube. My boy thought $1.73 a litre was too pricy in Wilcanna.

110 kph posted speed. We may have been a few kph above this. The screen fitted to the DR makes quite a difference with fuel economy if you are travelling at speed.




SJ
Thats good milage if your speedo said 110kph it was closer to 100
gavo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:17 PM   #13054
Benz-in-Oz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Benz-in-Oz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Murrumbateman NSW
Oddometer: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCCC View Post
Still up, gotta say I'm slight scared to try and turn it. I'm likely to break it......
Just did mine last week, I sprayed on "Chemsearch Yield" where the inlet comes out of the carby every time I though of it for about a week before, in the end it went quite easily, if that hadn't worked I was going to try holding a soldering iron against it and hopefully swell the alloy a bit. As others have said the tank is a mongrel to get back on, mine took 35.1 litres to fill from dead empty.
Benz-in-Oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:47 PM   #13055
felixblack1
Gnarly Adventurer
 
felixblack1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Australia, Sunshine Coast
Oddometer: 159
DR650 Fuel inlet turning
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CyCTiB83-I

felixblack1 screwed with this post 04-13-2013 at 02:58 PM
felixblack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 03:38 PM   #13056
BergDonk
Beastly Adventurer
 
BergDonk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Snowy Mountains Oz
Oddometer: 2,883
Fuel consumption is a can of worms depending on setup. With my previous jetting and FCR, and up to 37 l in the Safari, up to 700 kms and over 600 kms no worries all the time except heavy sand. With the NCVT needle and jets to suit, indications are perhaps another 100 kms, or more, but to be confirmed.
__________________
shed time IS quality time
BergDonk's DR650 BergDonk's XT1200Z
BergDonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 05:10 PM   #13057
Tasmag
?
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Launceston, Tas
Oddometer: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCCC View Post
Still up, gotta say I'm slight scared to try and turn it. I'm likely to break it......
Not sure where I read it but I used vice grips on the rim of the inlet (sits hard up against the carb body) and had no trouble. Means that you cant crimp the inlet if it wont spin.

Mike
Tasmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:29 PM   #13058
Sleepy John
Grumpy Adventurer
 
Sleepy John's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Bris Vegas, Australia
Oddometer: 3,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavo View Post
Thats good milage if your speedo said 110kph it was closer to 100
The road sign said 110. In outback NSW the speedo on the German mothership was reading 130-140 matching the GPS. The bloody DR was close behind whenever I stopped. The Deathwings were well past their use-by date when we got back home.

i know what you mean Gavo. It's for our own safety that Japanese speedos ( cars and bikes ) are 10% optimistic. The Europeans can build then so they're dead accurate. I guess that's where all those out of work Swiss watchmakers found new careers.
__________________
Sleepy John
'10 R1200GSA Big Pig, '10 DR650SE Piglet
Don't shoot... It's only me!
Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.
Sleepy John is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 05:14 AM   #13059
kezzajohnson
kezza
 
kezzajohnson's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Cairns - Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy John View Post
The road sign said 110. In outback NSW the speedo on the German mothership was reading 130-140 matching the GPS. The bloody DR was close behind whenever I stopped. The Deathwings were well past their use-by date when we got back home.

i know what you mean Gavo. It's for our own safety that Japanese speedos ( cars and bikes ) are 10% optimistic. The Europeans can build then so they're dead accurate. I guess that's where all those out of work Swiss watchmakers found new careers.
__________________
KezzaJohnson Blue 06 DR650se,Yellow 06 DRZ250

Website: http://www.territoryon2wheels.com

"May the Road Never Rise to Defeat you..."
kezzajohnson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 03:15 AM   #13060
Starky14
Yowie Bait
 
Starky14's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
Oddometer: 242
DR650 2012 gear box

Just an question. I heard a strange noise in first gear, on the last ride, but it could have been low static on the radio. That got me thinking, has anyone had issues with the 2012 model and the 3rd gear problem?

Am I also right in thinking the netual thingy has also been fixed in the the 2012 model?
__________________
I would be unstoppable if not for Law Enforcement and Physics!
Starky14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 03:24 AM   #13061
Andy_P
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starky14 View Post
Just an question. I heard a strange noise in first gear, on the last ride, but it could have been low static on the radio. That got me thinking, has anyone had issues with the 2012 model and the 3rd gear problem?

Am I also right in thinking the netual thingy has also been fixed in the the 2012 model?
When I replaced the clutch in my 2012 model, the NSU screws were gone and in their place was some hex head bolts

Not sure about the 3rd gear issue. I have only done 6000km on my dr, and I have had no issues other than burning out the clutch doing stupid hill climbs.
__________________
“The purpose of education is not to validate ignorance but to overcome it”
― Lawrence M. Krauss
Andy_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 03:35 AM   #13062
robmoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
robmoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 3,711
If it was a doof doof sound just change stations and she will run smooth again .
__________________
I ride alone and not a KTM in sight .
Menace Racing supported by Robmoto Industries
robmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 04:46 AM   #13063
Andy_P
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 400
I decided to get stuck into the DR today after my crash. I put some protaper bars on it to replace the bent factory bars. Do you guys drill the aftermarket bars for the switch block locating pins, or just cut of the locating pins on the switch block?
__________________
“The purpose of education is not to validate ignorance but to overcome it”
― Lawrence M. Krauss
Andy_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:20 AM   #13064
usi
Complete kook
 
usi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sydney, South Coast
Oddometer: 49
I used an angle grinder on the locating pins, A dremel would have been more suitable
usi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:36 AM   #13065
Andy_P
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by usi View Post
I used an angle grinder on the locating pins, A dremel would have been more suitable
Lucky I have a dremel!! The problem I have now is I cant ride (thanks to the stack), so not sure on the best bar position. I am loathed to drill the bars, just in case I dont like where they sit.

Do the switch blocks stay where they should be when you hacked the locating pins off?
__________________
“The purpose of education is not to validate ignorance but to overcome it”
― Lawrence M. Krauss
Andy_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014