ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
sh1bby69 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
sh1bby69's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 527
Tail light not working

So I picked up a Boxer Metal rear fender eliminator. I sent out and powder coated and now it won't work. I'm thinking it has to do with grounding it but I'm not sure what to do. Do I have to expose some metal to get the tail light to work?
__________________
'79 BMW R65
'03 KLR650 Sputnik Sidecar
sh1bby69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
Boxer Metal
Mad Scientist
 
Boxer Metal's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Chico, California
Oddometer: 3,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh1bby69 View Post
So I picked up a Boxer Metal rear fender eliminator. I sent out and powder coated and now it won't work. I'm thinking it has to do with grounding it but I'm not sure what to do. Do I have to expose some metal to get the tail light to work?
The brown wire from the tail light harness need to be hooked up to one of the threaded studs on the back of the tail light and all will be well.
__________________
BOXER Metal
BMW Biker Scum
BMW Mad Scientist!
VBMWMO #7770, BMW MOA #48694 & Airhead BMW Club #600
Boxer Metal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:58 AM   #3
sh1bby69 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
sh1bby69's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Oddometer: 527
Thanks!!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
'79 BMW R65
'03 KLR650 Sputnik Sidecar
sh1bby69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 01:52 PM   #4
canehdian_guy
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Oddometer: 41
Does anyone know why my tail light wouldnt be working although my brake lights still work?

My day time running lights and high beam are still functional and my fuses all seem fine.

Thanks
canehdian_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 01:59 PM   #5
CafeDude
Beastly Adventurer
 
CafeDude's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Location: Westchester County, NY
Oddometer: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by canehdian_guy View Post
Does anyone know why my tail light wouldnt be working although my brake lights still work?

My day time running lights and high beam are still functional and my fuses all seem fine.

Thanks
Bad bulb?
CafeDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 02:29 PM   #6
east high
Studly Adventurer
 
east high's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Oddometer: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by CafeDude View Post
Bad bulb?
It's usually this. It's a dual filament bulb.
__________________
'71 r75/5
east high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 12:17 PM   #7
pietas
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2014
Location: Cape Town
Oddometer: 10
If it is not the bulb, check the wiring and switches. Buy a new bulb to make double sure of this
If neither the front nor back brakes activate the brake light, check the brake light loom as well as the connector block between the looms. Use switch cleaner to clean the connectors and switches

Get a colour coded wiring diagram to understand which wire goes where
Use a multi-meter to check for connectivity on wires and switches

I had the same issue last year. Mine was a dirty connector but the loom can just be old

pietas screwed with this post 03-06-2015 at 11:19 AM
pietas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 01:28 PM   #8
deafanddiabetic
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by canehdian_guy View Post
Does anyone know why my tail light wouldnt be working although my brake lights still work?

My day time running lights and high beam are still functional and my fuses all seem fine.

Thanks

There's already great advice here, but we don't know which model is your bike.

If it's a /5 or /6, the tail running light is run off of the grey/violet wire in the headlight bucket.

It's likely the bulb though, it gets me every time!
deafanddiabetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 06:58 PM   #9
ewilly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Chandler, Az
Oddometer: 105
Jumping in

I need to jump in on this one!

My issue is the brake light is working but no running light at rear or gauge lights. I put knew rear light on rear when I changed fenders and have not had power past the rear connector since.

Popped Relay?
Looks like the fuses in bucket are good!

Ideas.


Hope I am not hijacking to bad.
ewilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 08:02 AM   #10
deafanddiabetic
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewilly View Post
I need to jump in on this one!

My issue is the brake light is working but no running light at rear or gauge lights. I put knew rear light on rear when I changed fenders and have not had power past the rear connector since.

Popped Relay?
Looks like the fuses in bucket are good!

Ideas.


Hope I am not hijacking to bad.
Have you physically tested the rear sub harness with a voltmeter to see if power is actually going to the bulb socket?

Again, depending on what model you have the tail light and gauge lights are on in "park" mode as well as run. My rear lights are run from my light relay by a grey/violet wire. But if I had it plugged into the wrong post I'd lose my running light/gauge lights but my brake lights did work. If yours started only after you changed your tail light to something else, start with the bulb and if not there, check the wiring again.
deafanddiabetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 08:08 AM   #11
Prmurat
Studly Adventurer
 
Prmurat's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Oddometer: 983
No ground with the powder coat paint?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Prmurat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 07:49 PM   #12
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewilly View Post
My issue is the brake light is working but no running light at rear or gauge lights. I put knew rear light on rear when I changed fenders and have not had power past the rear connector since.
The gauge lights and rear running light (tail light) usually run off the same circuit... Got head lights?

Not likely to all those bulbs blown at once, nor ist it likely to be the ground.. So look at where the power gets switched to those lights .. handle bar switch?

Which model and year of bike?
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 04:11 PM   #13
ewilly
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Chandler, Az
Oddometer: 105
Lights

Yes got head lights and no power for tail at harness connector under seat.

It is an 84 r100
ewilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 10:15 PM   #14
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 2,142
Pull out your wiring diagram.

There is a switch that turns on your lights (headlight/tail light) .. on the left handle bar ..

You want the wire from that that runs off to the tail light (and gauge lights) .. it goes to your headlight bucket .. that is where you want to test ..

Is there power coming out of the switch ? No .. And the headlight works .. that means there is power to the switch .. so then probably the switch ...

If power comes out of the switch then there is a connector from there to the gauge lights and the rear tail light .. check there.
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015