ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 4.67 average. Display Modes
Old 03-16-2007, 06:55 PM   #16
bitterjoe
killing the fatted calf
 
bitterjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 2,053
I am doing something wrong. Total n00b to autorouting, please bear with me. I am using a Legend CX with CN8. A couple of things going on that I cannot understand.

I create a route in CN8, very basic, a start and finish point. It autoroutes on the PC perfectly. I upload it to the gps and it appears as a straight line when I view it. Why? Shouldn't it look the same as what is displayed on the PC?

I create a route on the gps using two already established uploaded waypoints for the start and finish of the same route; it displays as a straight line.

I create a route on the gps by placing two points from the start and finish and click navigate and it creates the route perfectly... all the way from my current location.

Shouldn't I be able to see just that route, not it being routed from my current position? Kind of like how a track is displayed (which is what I have used up until now).

Any pointers will be much appreciated.
__________________
2005 DR650, 2010 Triumph Scrambler
bitterjoe is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:45 PM   #17
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,698
When you select your route in your first two examples, are you actually hitting "navigate"?
Not sure about the eTrex Legend Cx, but the 60 and 76 will calculate the route every time you hit "navigate". Only the points transfer.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 08:07 PM   #18
bitterjoe
killing the fatted calf
 
bitterjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp
When you select your route in your first two examples, are you actually hitting "navigate"?
Not sure about the eTrex Legend Cx, but the 60 and 76 will calculate the route every time you hit "navigate". Only the points transfer.
Well, it looks like I can get it to route by hitting navigate in all three scenarios, but the problem remains is that it always navigates from my current location. Can't I get it to just show me the single route that was autorouted without having it start from my current position?

I guess what I really want is an autoroute to display just like a track. Can that be done?
__________________
2005 DR650, 2010 Triumph Scrambler
bitterjoe is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:00 AM   #19
Vstromdek
Vstromdek
 
Vstromdek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Oddometer: 141
Yep, you can view it only by just hitting the map option; but you can't route the route at that point, you must navigate to use it.
Vstromdek is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 06:47 AM   #20
bitterjoe
killing the fatted calf
 
bitterjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by dekruyter
Yep, you can view it only by just hitting the map option; but you can't route the route at that point, you must navigate to use it.
I have found a workaround by converting the autoroutes to tracks using wingdb which will give me what I need.

I am still getting the same straight line and am curious if I have a setting wrong. I am including all the route calculation information when uploading the maps.
__________________
2005 DR650, 2010 Triumph Scrambler

bitterjoe screwed with this post 03-17-2007 at 06:54 AM
bitterjoe is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 03:12 PM   #21
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitterjoe
Can't I get it to just show me the single route that was autorouted without having it start from my current position?
On a 60Cx - no- and sounds like your Legend is the same way. If you really want to view a route that doesn't start at your current location, you have to put it in "GPS off" mode and manually designate your route start waypoint as your new position.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 10:58 AM   #22
Misery Goat
Positating the negative
 
Misery Goat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Paradise Valley, AZ
Oddometer: 74,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomiles
*Bump*

because I'm a n00b to using my GPS and need to figure this stuff out.

Thanks cmwoodys and others.
+1

thanks for the info.
__________________
"So what you gonna do when the novelty is gone.."-- Joy Division

Same as it ever was


My Wanderlust
Misery Goat is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:47 AM   #23
duckrider
Studly Adventurer
 
duckrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Orygun
Oddometer: 993
Thanks for posting this. I'm still near the bottom of the learning curve.
duckrider is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:29 AM   #24
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,918
This is a great thread. Thanks, cmwoodys!

I had no idea about the Google Earth thing. I just tried it, and it opens up Google Earth just fine, but my Mapsource route is not there. Browsed the MapSource help, but no joy there. Any idea what I am doing wrong?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 06:45 AM   #25
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmwoodys
Are you getting anything in ge? straight line?
I seem to be getting a very thin turqoise straight line.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 07:23 AM   #26
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmwoodys
Yeah, the thing about GE is that it doesn't perform any routing. You have to set via points in Mapsource first and then transfer them over to GE. Once waypoints and vias are in GE, it'll draw that turquoise line from one to the other. Not an ideal application but its all there is currently.

Download the gpx file I attached to the first post and try it out. Its a loop of Deal's gap and the Cherohala parkway so theres LOTS of via points.
Thanks!!

If I grab and "rubber band" one of my routes, will that cause MapSource to add the via points necessary for GE to do its thing?

How do I transfer waypoints and via points to GE? Is that done automagically when I go VIEW>VIEW IN GE in MapSource, or is there more to it?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 03:21 PM   #27
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmwoodys
On Mapsource the route is shown pink. click on it and it turns yellow, click on it again and it will rubber band to wherever you click place it. Vias and waypoints will be auto transferred to GE.
Fantastic. Thank you very much! Can't wait to try it.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 01:47 PM   #28
munchmeister
Grow'd Up Mini Trail
 
munchmeister's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado and Cheyenne, Wyoming
Oddometer: 1,362
Thumb

Ditto, man. And I like your original example. That may be my ride plan to get to the Beehive Beemers Red Rock Rally in June.
__________________
Munchmeister
2002 R1150GS - It's not about the knockdown, it's about the recovery.
munchmeister is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:25 AM   #29
Dessert Storm
Dances With Drunks
 
Dessert Storm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Off route, recalculating
Oddometer: 761
Excellent tutorial - many blood pressure points saved! Your time taken to post this is much appreciated.
__________________
'You like motorcycles, beer, and ladies. I'm afraid I have the same illness' - Thierry.

(Manti are dumplings not all too different from gyoza or pelmini) - Tourist.
Dessert Storm is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:18 AM   #30
duckrider
Studly Adventurer
 
duckrider's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Orygun
Oddometer: 993
Thanks for the tips guys, this will go a long ways in shortening the learning curve.
duckrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014