Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-22-2007, 06:11 AM   #1
rideaholic OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 229
Difference between LC4 620 and 640 motors?

Hi,
I have been reading this site a lot. Especially in the last week or so since I bought a 1997 KTM RXC 620. I see a lot of talk and info about the LC4 640 motor, but not as much on the 620. Is there a great difference other than the 20cc of displacement? Can all those how to articles at the beginning of this section by Creeper apply to my bike also? Are there any weak points that I should keep an eye on? I know about the crank bearing that may need replced. Does that apply to the 620 also?
This is a great site and I have gain a great deal of knowedge here already.
Thanks in advance for any help.
rideaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 07:39 AM   #2
beerjonny
Planning mode...

Oddometer: 231
I'm not a KTM expert, but they are both the LC4 motor (625cc).

Read through the creeper sticky, you'll find the answer.

I asked this question on another forum:

"Can anyone point me to an article comparing the LC4, 620 SXC, and the 640 Adventure?"

And recieved this answer:

"
sxc- least fuel cap. 9L (75-90 mile range about)no cooling fan, less oil capacity, longer wheel base better hispeed stability that lc4e, power band hits pretty hard, more of offroad bike
lc4 e 18l fuel cap.(200+mile range) cooling fan more oil not as stable at speed , but better in the tight stuff smooth power delivery, an excellent big bore enduro bike/dual sport

adventure more fuel 28L and lots of other stuff

I am quite partial to my 640E

they are all 625cc "

hope this helps, Jon
Old 03-22-2007, 08:57 AM   #3
Beez
Given to fly

Oddometer: 5,760