ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 04:05 AM   #1
Primo OP
Lonely Rider
 
Primo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Oddometer: 31
Fitting the 2003 LC4 engine into 2000 Adventure frame

Hi mates,

So my old engine decided to break down and i had an offer for 3 years younger engine for a price, that was way cheaper than would go on the repair of old one. Since I am one lazy dumbass, I bought the engine without any research on compatibility with my 2000 LC4 Adventure R frame. So I fitted the engine in the frame, looks perfectly good but as more I progress the more I realize, that electrical wiring and sockets won't match with the new engine and probably I need the wiring and CDI of the 2003 LC4 model to make it run.
So my question is: Is it possible to make that 2003 LC4 engine work properly in the 2000 LC4 Adv and what else i have to mod or replace from the electrical part?

Best Regards,
Alan
__________________
Lonely Rider

DR800S Big
640 Adventure R
Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
wrk2surf
on the gas or brakes
 
wrk2surf's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: THE exact center of California/Bass lake/Yosemite
Oddometer: 6,103
Have you got the motor in yet? Either you need to have the 03 wiring harness AND CDI or you need to find color codes and splice wires.. get a friend that is REALLY good at electical.. it cant be that hard
__________________
Thanks for the 2014 support:BELL HELMETS, SCOTT USA, Kriega USA, Carbon-pro.com, GPR stabilzers, Renazco Racing, Sidi/Motonation, Masters paint and body, Magura , motolab , Tripy GPS, Loctite and Dunlop tires .
wrk2surf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
fastdadio
Still gettin faster
 
fastdadio's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Pinckney Mi.
Oddometer: 1,651
I'm assuming the plug that dosen't match on the new engine is from the stator since that is about all it would come with. So, I'm thinking, either splice that harness or swap stators from the old engine into the new.
fastdadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014