ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 09:07 AM   #20911
Starchamp
Rebel Scum
 
Starchamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Out there
Oddometer: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaster11 View Post
I have been following along with the discussion about thermostats and have a few questions. So, if I understand this right E and S models don't have thermostats but SM's do? If that is true then that would explain the wide swings in temperature shown on my temp gauge. Again, if I understood the discussion correctly I could retrofit the parts off a SM to have a thermostat on the S...correct? Thanks!
I think the E is the only one without a t-stat.
Starchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 09:25 AM   #20912
blaster11
Ramping up fast!
 
blaster11's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Oddometer: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starchamp View Post
I think the E is the only one without a t-stat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 955616846 View Post
S should have a thermostat.
Interesting....since when I get moving the temp will drop down to a displayed 140 to 145 degree range many times. Maybe it has more to do with the placement of the sensor in the left radiator or maybe someone messed with it....I guess this will take a bit more investigation. Just as a bit more information when I pull the cap and run the engine it acts as if it does have a thermostat, meaning water doesn't flow immediately. But if you just watch the temp gauge there can be huge fluctuations.
blaster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:17 AM   #20913
blaster11
Ramping up fast!
 
blaster11's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Oddometer: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by 955616846 View Post
The best place for the sensor is in the head.
Agreed, I just used the default location in the Vapor directions.....I may have to reconsider that. Is their a location in the head for a sensor already....sorry I am kind of out of commission or I would go look/investigate for myself.
blaster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:24 AM   #20914
mark1150
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mark1150's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Wisbechistan UK
Oddometer: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by imnothng View Post
I hooked my USB port right into the ignition harness. I use my clymers to figure out which wire was only active with the key on. I think it was the wire to the tail light or something. I'm NOT saying that's the right way, but its seemed to work so far. I'll try to get more details later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 955616846 View Post
I'll usually go for a switched accessory power supply. Splice to any (they are all common) orange wire for positive and any black/white for the common earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starchamp View Post
It depends on if you want the satnav to be powered all the time (unswitched), or to only work with the key turned on (switched). Hardwiring to the battery (with an inline fuse) has its advantages, but you have to remember to turn the device off when you park the bike, maybe even unplug it all together if there's any significant drain on the battery (to charge an internal battery, etc.). I have a 2 amp fuse on mine.

If you splice into the harness, I think any solid red line should be hot unswitched, and I think the solid orange are hot switched. Same with the solid brown taillight wire, as mentioned above.
Wow you guys are amazing; thanks for the very swift responses.
I think I'll probably go the switched route with a 2 amp fuse.
Once again thank you.
I'm off out for a while tonight so I'll post a picture up sometime tomorrow with my eventual solution.
Cheers,
Mark.
mark1150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:12 PM   #20915
DR650SEDDY
ride2discover
 
DR650SEDDY's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Phoenix,Az
Oddometer: 3,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark1150 View Post
Hi guys,
I'm fitting a cigar lighter / accessory socket to my 03, and was wondering if I should wire directly to the battery via a fuse, or try and splice into the loom?
If it's the latter which wire is favoured and what colour is it, and also what size fuse should I use as all I'm taking off is a sat nav?
Thanks in advance.
Mark.
There is 2 options for u here:
1- You can connect a hook up straight from the battery (with a fuse protection) and that can be use for an outlet like air pump or the like.
2- Connect one that can be run with ur ignition key for use of a gps, or other dash board necessities. I tapped the power (hot) of that one from the headlight wire, the negative can be connected to anywhere on ur frame. I have both. The one connected straight to the battery is locate it in the back of the bike under my rear rack.
__________________
DR-Z440E 00 - DR650SE 02.
Je ne suis Jamais a l'aise que lorsque je termine mon parcours, parlant d'Enduro bien sure. "DR650sEDDY".
DR650SEDDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:29 PM   #20916
PhiSig1071
What's ******width?
 
PhiSig1071's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 2,432
I'm trying to figure out what to do with my tax return if and when I get one. I know I'm going for a Rekluse, but other then that I am trying to decide between a 434cc kit, or an FCR-MX. If I have the money I may do both, but I need to pay off some bills first.

Opinions?
__________________
Which one of you FF's was it?...FOUNDER!

Entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem
PhiSig1071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:43 PM   #20917
mattadv93
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mattadv93's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Oddometer: 205
Any tips for water proofing the eletrics? My bike runs lik crap in the rain so assume I've got something getting wet somewhere?

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
__________________
The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.

-Husaberg FE570
mattadv93 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:57 PM   #20918
DR650SEDDY
ride2discover
 
DR650SEDDY's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Phoenix,Az
Oddometer: 3,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhiSig1071 View Post
I'm trying to figure out what to do with my tax return if and when I get one. I know I'm going for a Rekluse, but other then that I am trying to decide between a 434cc kit, or an FCR-MX. If I have the money I may do both, but I need to pay off some bills first.

Opinions?
If u go with the 434cc kit make sure to upgrade your crankshaft to a hot rod one. Might as well replace the clutch because that's the next thing to start fading with increase of power.
__________________
DR-Z440E 00 - DR650SE 02.
Je ne suis Jamais a l'aise que lorsque je termine mon parcours, parlant d'Enduro bien sure. "DR650sEDDY".
DR650SEDDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:59 PM   #20919
Starchamp
Rebel Scum
 
Starchamp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Out there
Oddometer: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhiSig1071 View Post
I'm trying to figure out what to do with my tax return if and when I get one. Opinions?
Save it for your new healthcare plan!
Starchamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:01 PM   #20920
tdrrally
Beastly Adventurer
 
tdrrally's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: doing hard time in charleston,wv
Oddometer: 3,332
why the crank ?
__________________
1980 TS125 project in the corner
tdrrally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:28 PM   #20921
BlueByU06
Ribbon Rider
 
BlueByU06's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Central Coast of Cal
Oddometer: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtmech View Post
what jet kit did you use?
Dirtmech,
No kit. Stock Mukuni carb. parts. From dealer.
__________________
The Mountains Are Calling ME and I must Go.
Vietnam Vet. 68-69
2013 Triumph 800xc
2005 Klr 650
BlueByU06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:44 PM   #20922
DR650SEDDY
ride2discover
 
DR650SEDDY's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Phoenix,Az
Oddometer: 3,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdrrally View Post
why the crank ?
If the crankshaft (stock one) is made for 400cc and you increase the hp by putting bigger bore this crankshaft most likely to fail or ceased due to so much pounding from up top (piston/rod) which was now increased in size and performance. Most likely to cause a chain reaction in failure of other parts as well. In the 3 days ride (last ride that I did with big bore) I pushed the engine to its limits. The sand section that I crossed was over 40 miles some was really deep sand areas . In sand (don't know bout ur experiences) u must be on the gas all the time the deeper it is the more open throttle u got to be. In the Mohave Desert there's no shortage of sand trails to cross. It's my fault I should have consider it when I purchased that kit. I learned the hard way
__________________
DR-Z440E 00 - DR650SE 02.
Je ne suis Jamais a l'aise que lorsque je termine mon parcours, parlant d'Enduro bien sure. "DR650sEDDY".
DR650SEDDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:45 PM   #20923
DR650SEDDY
ride2discover
 
DR650SEDDY's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Phoenix,Az
Oddometer: 3,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starchamp View Post
Save it for your new healthcare plan!
+1
__________________
DR-Z440E 00 - DR650SE 02.
Je ne suis Jamais a l'aise que lorsque je termine mon parcours, parlant d'Enduro bien sure. "DR650sEDDY".
DR650SEDDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:33 PM   #20924
One Less Harley
OH.THAT'S GONNA HURT
 
One Less Harley's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Oddometer: 4,695
I have a 434 BB on the stock crank and had no problems with the crank. Don't see the need to change it too. 7,000 miles and no problems or issues. This is the1st I've ever heard of someone recommending replacing the crank when doing a 434.
__________________
2004 BMW R1150RS
1984 BMW R80G/S
(wrenching index)
2003 Suzuki DRZ 400S (TAT Prep)
One More DRZ does the TAT (Ride Report)

One Less Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:36 PM   #20925
One Less Harley
OH.THAT'S GONNA HURT
 
One Less Harley's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Oddometer: 4,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by bj4x4 View Post
Any tips for water proofing the eletrics? My bike runs lik crap in the rain so assume I've got something getting wet somewhere?

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk
I use dielectric grease on all terminals...not sure if this will help you though.
__________________
2004 BMW R1150RS
1984 BMW R80G/S
(wrenching index)
2003 Suzuki DRZ 400S (TAT Prep)
One More DRZ does the TAT (Ride Report)

One Less Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015