ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 04:56 PM   #15736
Spat
Studly Adventurer
 
Spat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Lakewood, Co
Oddometer: 844
I find it hard to believe you all ride 2 up on a DR
I donated my set to an inmate who was looking couple of weeks ago.
__________________
Spat
FLHGSSXDR.Patrol

Red Green: You ever see one of these? It's called a GPS, this thing uses satellites to tell you where you are, which means that every man can have a five-hundred-dollar reason not to ask for directions.
Spat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 05:43 PM   #15737
Airvent
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Airvent's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Oxford, Connecticut
Oddometer: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spat View Post
I find it hard to believe you all ride 2 up on a DR
I do some crazy things on my DR
Airvent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:43 PM   #15738
mustangwagz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mustangwagz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Western PA
Oddometer: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airvent View Post
I do some crazy things on my DR
Yah, Ditto man. 2 up here as well!
__________________
-WagZ-
'93 DR350S

My attempt to roundup Local Riders..
https://www.facebook.com/dualsportridingwesternpa
mustangwagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:44 PM   #15739
DR350seKING
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: pittsburgh pa
Oddometer: 68
what sprocket to use?

i have a 99 Dr350SE that i use for going to work and back, i do like to use it offroad. right now i have a 14/47 set up on it but when i bought the bike i was given new sprockets so i have a 13-14-15 front and i have 47-41rear to choose from. i would like more highway speeds (65) it does OK for now but i just seems like its 6Th gear wide open to get that if i were to change the sprockets around would this help any?
DR350seKING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:14 PM   #15740
2bold2getold
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: DFW TX
Oddometer: 1,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR350seKING View Post
i have a 99 Dr350SE that i use for going to work and back, i do like to use it offroad. right now i have a 14/47 set up on it but when i bought the bike i was given new sprockets so i have a 13-14-15 front and i have 47-41rear to choose from. i would like more highway speeds (65) it does OK for now but i just seems like its 6Th gear wide open to get that if i were to change the sprockets around would this help any?
On my "98SE the 14/41 is a little low for highway, but is good off road. 15/41 feels better on the highway and still works pretty good in all but the hardest dirt. I tried 16/41 on the highway, but it didn't feel like it pulled any better than 15/41. Maybe a little too tall.
2bold2getold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:14 PM   #15741
plugeye
mc caregiver
 
plugeye's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Garland, Texas
Oddometer: 3,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR350seKING View Post
i have a 99 Dr350SE that i use for going to work and back, i do like to use it offroad. right now i have a 14/47 set up on it but when i bought the bike i was given new sprockets so i have a 13-14-15 front and i have 47-41rear to choose from. i would like more highway speeds (65) it does OK for now but i just seems like its 6Th gear wide open to get that if i were to change the sprockets around would this help any?
stock is 15/41
i'm runnin 16/41 & it works great for commuting
plugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:57 AM   #15742
kobukan
almost gnarly
 
kobukan's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Saco ME
Oddometer: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR350seKING View Post
i have a 99 Dr350SE that i use for going to work and back, i do like to use it offroad. right now i have a 14/47 set up on it but when i bought the bike i was given new sprockets so i have a 13-14-15 front and i have 47-41rear to choose from. i would like more highway speeds (65) it does OK for now but i just seems like its 6Th gear wide open to get that if i were to change the sprockets around would this help any?
You can plug different gearing combinations in here to see what rpm's you'd be running.
__________________
'04 R1150GS, '97 R1100GS, '99 DR350, '02 DR650, '03 DR650
A Few Days Solo to Copper Canyon
A Maine Rider’s Arizona Day Trips
A Few Days Solo in Baja
kobukan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:12 AM   #15743
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 464


no, that is not motor oil or my morning cup of coffee. That there is brake fluid, possibly 1990's vintage.





Is this the reason my neutral light is always on?
jackanory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:34 AM   #15744
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackanory View Post






Is this the reason my neutral light is always on?
Would think that it had something to do with it. Can you locate the other end of the wire and extend the two together?
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale
MrPulldown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:21 AM   #15745
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post
Would think that it had something to do with it. Can you locate the other end of the wire and extend the two together?
Will check for any dangling wires to nowhere behind the instrument cluster when I pull the forks for an oil change. After seeing the sludge that was in the brake lines I suspect the fork oil isn't any better.
jackanory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:41 AM   #15746
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 464
This is perhaps the fiddliest airbox I have ever encountered. You need hands the size of a 5 year old and the echo location of a bat to get that filter bolt lined up and screwed in. Intolerable. So I did this...



Not for more air, there already were 2 large holes drilled in from the PO, but so that I could reach in and start that filter bolt a whole lot easier. Success!
jackanory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:58 AM   #15747
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 2,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackanory View Post
This is perhaps the fiddliest airbox I have ever encountered. You need hands the size of a 5 year old and the echo location of a bat to get that filter bolt lined up and screwed in. Intolerable. So I did this...



Not for more air, there already were 2 large holes drilled in from the PO, but so that I could reach in and start that filter bolt a whole lot easier. Success!
Dude that is going to get you more air. Will most likey result in a lean running condition and you having to rejett the carb. The easiest way to line up the filter bolt is to push it into the filter so that it flexes the plastic filter frame. With the bolt sticking out futher than the foam it is easy to line up.

The wire from the nuetral switch goes to the CDI not the insturment cluster. It is a single line that plugs into the harness on the side right about where youre left leg is when riding.

In this picture, it is the plug in the white circle that is pluged in. IIRC
__________________
94 DR 350 SE
No Load LED Flash Relay and Diode Kits for Sale

MrPulldown screwed with this post 05-07-2013 at 12:33 PM
MrPulldown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:37 PM   #15748
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post
Dude that is going to get you more air. Will most likey result in a lean running condition and you having to rejett the carb. The easiest way to line up the filter bolt is to push it into the filter so that it flexes the plastic filter frame. With the bolt sticking out futher than the foam it is easy to line up.
It's already pretty rich, has fatter jets from PO. Also, it had large holes there already. I should have taken a before pic. Basically what I did was square it off so I could get my hand in there. And I did do the flex and squint deal previous to my dremel mod and was successful. I wouldn't say it was easy to do though. Now it's damn simple. Simple is good for a bear of very little brain like myself.
jackanory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:40 PM   #15749
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPulldown View Post

The wire from the nuetral switch goes to the CDI not the insturment cluster. It is a single line that plugs into the harness on the side right about where youre left leg is when riding.

In this picture, it is the plug in the white circle that is pluged in. IIRC
Good to know! That will save some fruitless searching around on my part. I can use that time to find my keys. Or phone. or wallet...
jackanory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #15750
rubberband
Will ride for tacos
 
rubberband's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Oddometer: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airvent View Post
I do some crazy things on my DR
That sir is an understatement!!! If you have any questions, read his ride reports....
__________________
2011 UPAT
rubberband is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014