ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 08:52 AM   #15841
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by thump! View Post
If you haven't already done so, you should check the petcock screen inside the tank. Also, if you're running the OE "S" model vacuum operated petcock it might be suspect.
Not applicable, it's an Acerbis tank that I just installed.
jackanory is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:23 PM   #15842
TinyTim
Noob
 
TinyTim's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Singapore
Oddometer: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis789 View Post
Your engine was stone cold when the valves were adjusted, I hope?
Yes, it was cold. Why?
The bike has been running fine since. No oil leak and the engine sounds like before. Should I be concerned about something?
__________________
Go ride while you can.
TinyTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:33 PM   #15843
travis789
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinyTim View Post
Yes, it was cold. Why?
The bike has been running fine since. No oil leak and the engine sounds like before. Should I be concerned about something?
just that it needs to be cold when adjusted. If its warm, the metal expands and your clearances will be wrong. It sounds like you're good!
__________________
“Immorality is the word we use to describe people that are not sinning the same way we are.”
― Shannon L. Alder
travis789 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:28 PM   #15844
slartidbartfast
Love those blue pipes
 
slartidbartfast's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
Oddometer: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis789 View Post
just that it needs to be cold when adjusted. If its warm, the metal expands and your clearances will be wrong. It sounds like you're good!
but it doesn't need to be stone cold. If it hasn't just been running and you're not burning your fingers it's cold enough.
__________________
MSF Ridercoach IBA: 35353 95 R1100GSA, 93 GTS1000, 85 R80RT, 93 DR350/435, 99 RX125, 78 DT100
January 2010 New Zealand South Island ride
Summer 2009 UK to Alps ride
Summer 2008 UK End-to-End ride
slartidbartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:45 PM   #15845
Schneiderman
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Oddometer: 13
So I did find the correct replacement switch at baja design's website... They want almost $20 after shipping. Can anyone tell me what type of switch this is so maybe I could pick one up cheaper at an electrical supply store?

http://bajadesigns.com/ProductDetail?ItemNumber=129007
http://bajadesigns.com/docs/tech-inf...d.pdf?sfvrsn=2

The only thing that has me wondering is that apparently the light in the switch is supposed to be hooked up as a high beam indicator. I don't know whether I can simply eliminate the functionality by going to an unlit switch.
Schneiderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:57 PM   #15846
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 476
Carb is giving me fits! I had a definite lean running condition so I ordered up the jet kit from Kientech. Installed that with the opened airbox and eliminated the inline fuel filters. Too many changes at once.

The float level is all over the place and not real responsive to adjustments. I have replaced the appropriate o-rings... but I am dealing with a 25 year old carb. It looks spotless inside but as a last ditch effort it's soaking in pine sol overnight. Tomorrow I will flush it really well and then hit it with some carb cleaner. If that doesn't do the trick then I will have to assume the floats are bad and need to be replaced. If that is the case then I am just going to order a pumper carb and be done with it.
jackanory is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:04 PM   #15847
slartidbartfast
Love those blue pipes
 
slartidbartfast's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
Oddometer: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schneiderman View Post
So I did find the correct replacement switch at baja design's website... They want almost $20 after shipping. Can anyone tell me what type of switch this is so maybe I could pick one up cheaper at an electrical supply store?

http://bajadesigns.com/ProductDetail?ItemNumber=129007
http://bajadesigns.com/docs/tech-inf...d.pdf?sfvrsn=2

The only thing that has me wondering is that apparently the light in the switch is supposed to be hooked up as a high beam indicator. I don't know whether I can simply eliminate the functionality by going to an unlit switch.
Did you check to see that it was wired correctly? The link you provided is not entirely clear as the norm would be to show the pinout as seen from the bottom of the switch but the diagram mentions "as seen from above" which might mean that's how you should consider the pinout too.
__________________
MSF Ridercoach IBA: 35353 95 R1100GSA, 93 GTS1000, 85 R80RT, 93 DR350/435, 99 RX125, 78 DT100
January 2010 New Zealand South Island ride
Summer 2009 UK to Alps ride
Summer 2008 UK End-to-End ride
slartidbartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:19 PM   #15848
Schneiderman
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by slartidbartfast View Post
Did you check to see that it was wired correctly? The link you provided is not entirely clear as the norm would be to show the pinout as seen from the bottom of the switch but the diagram mentions "as seen from above" which might mean that's how you should consider the pinout too.
I hadn't found the diagram yet when I was last working on the bike. I can't work on it again until next week, and I'd like to have a replacement available in case the switch I have is bad. But... I don't want to spend $20 on what should be a $5 switch just to have it as a backup.
Schneiderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:51 PM   #15849
slartidbartfast
Love those blue pipes
 
slartidbartfast's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana or Southern England or ...
Oddometer: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schneiderman View Post
I hadn't found the diagram yet when I was last working on the bike. I can't work on it again until next week, and I'd like to have a replacement available in case the switch I have is bad. But... I don't want to spend $20 on what should be a $5 switch just to have it as a backup.
Looking at the number of contacts, I'd guess it's a double pole, three-position switch. Add the LED status indicator and $16 isn't too bad. If the switch is waterproof/dustproof too then $16 is a bargain. The only way to do it cheaper would be to use a separate switch and status light - but then you'd have to find a place to mount the light. A full schematic indicating what connects to which wire and what the switch poles do, rather than just the wire color would help to troubleshoot the switch and connections.
__________________
MSF Ridercoach IBA: 35353 95 R1100GSA, 93 GTS1000, 85 R80RT, 93 DR350/435, 99 RX125, 78 DT100
January 2010 New Zealand South Island ride
Summer 2009 UK to Alps ride
Summer 2008 UK End-to-End ride
slartidbartfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 09:54 AM   #15850
Wadester
Rides a dirty bike
 
Wadester's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: 'Cruces
Oddometer: 1,925
Here's a new question:

My stock speedometer has started speeding up. Actually was indicating 95mph yesterday. I am pretty sure that this is not a problem with the drive puck (cleaned and relubed a year ago) or the cable (cleaned and relubed same time as puck).

How can a mechanical speedo speed up? Drag from whatever would slow it down, eh?

Anybody had this before?

Thanks.
__________________
Two roads diverged in a wood, and / I took the one less traveled by, and / now where the hell am I?

This isn't a "you're doing it wrong" topic. (Originally Posted by Human Ills, 7/1/14)
Wadester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:36 AM   #15851
Nortonbrian
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Barber Museum AL
Oddometer: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackanory View Post
Carb is giving me fits! I had a definite lean running condition so I ordered up the jet kit from Kientech. Installed that with the opened airbox and eliminated the inline fuel filters. Too many changes at once.

The float level is all over the place and not real responsive to adjustments. I have replaced the appropriate o-rings... but I am dealing with a 25 year old carb. It looks spotless inside but as a last ditch effort it's soaking in pine sol overnight. Tomorrow I will flush it really well and then hit it with some carb cleaner. If that doesn't do the trick then I will have to assume the floats are bad and need to be replaced. If that is the case then I am just going to order a pumper carb and be done with it.
Step one, set float level accurately! Get the level to spec before you change anything.
Nortonbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 01:38 PM   #15852
culliganman
92 dr 350s
 
culliganman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Oddometer: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadester View Post
Here's a new question:

My stock speedometer has started speeding up. Actually was indicating 95mph yesterday. I am pretty sure that this is not a problem with the drive puck (cleaned and relubed a year ago) or the cable (cleaned and relubed same time as puck).

How can a mechanical speedo speed up? Drag from whatever would slow it down, eh?

Anybody had this before?

Thanks.
I have the same problem with my tach. Its fine at idle but then consistently shows 2-3k higher than it should.
culliganman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 01:50 PM   #15853
jackanory
I am Jack's wasted life
 
jackanory's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Oddometer: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nortonbrian View Post
Step one, set float level accurately! Get the level to spec before you change anything.
I hear ya. I think I finally have it. I had to bend the tab quite a bit to get the level down below the seam. I mean it is really bent. Probably about a 30 degree angle. I'm wondering if it is the right float needle in there as it appears you have to buy the needle as well as the seat together to the tune of $50!

I would imagine that if the rubber tip on that needle valve wore out it would have been replaced with whatever needle the mechanic had at his disposal to use in there.

Anyway, looks like I have the float level dialed in... (fingers crossed)
jackanory is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:11 PM   #15854
travis789
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 84
I received my Seat Concepts seat today, to Cali and back in 2 weeks. Very happy with the fit and finish and its much more comfortable than stock. Thanks for the good advice.
__________________
“Immorality is the word we use to describe people that are not sinning the same way we are.”
― Shannon L. Alder
travis789 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:22 PM   #15855
boardforever
Gnarly Adventurer
 
boardforever's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Hood River Valley
Oddometer: 169
I know this has been discussed here before, but I just regeared my bike this week, I have a 99 SE which since I have owned it has never had stock gearing. I was running 14/43 but was really screaming at highway speed, I went back to stock 15/41 which seems crazy high now. I wonder what other people use for a good mix of on and off road, I commute on my bike but also like to ride trails on the weekends. I haven't tried the 15/41 off road yet, but it seems really high geared.
__________________
1999 DR350SE
2006 Kawasaki ZZR600 [sold]
boardforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014